VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.  (Read 3210 times)

alex2007

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« on: October 21, 2010, 06:34:10 pm »

I'm new to Vector Linux but have several years experience with other distros. I have two printers successfuly installed in CUPS, but need to make changes. When I click on "Set printer options" I get a "403 Forbidden" message from the browser. From past experience I'm accustomed to logging in as administrator to CUPS before performing such functions, but this request wasn't made and I can't find a button to trigger the request.

THis happens both when I use the Vector Control Centre to open CUPS in Firefox, and when I simply open Firefox (both as a normal User and as Root) and use http://localhost:631 to invoke it.

Has anyone else experienced this, or can anyone please advise the reason?

Thanks
Alex.
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1472
Re: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2010, 10:40:17 pm »

Did you try

applications>system>vector control center?  That should bring up a window requiring root password.  In the cups url you often have to add /admin or something like that to the end to avoid the forbidden error.

Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 05:07:16 am »

Does the same thing happen if you try: http://localhost:631/admin ?
Logged

alex2007

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2010, 04:54:34 pm »

> Does the same thing happen if you try: http://localhost:631/admin ?

Yes, and this is what puzzles me. I need the root password to open the Vector Control Centre (so I'm root) and this in turn opens CUPS in the browser. At this stage I assume that I'm STILL root, but when I click on 'Printers' and then 'Set Printer Options' I get the 403. Somewhere along the line I've lost root permissions.

Even if I use a console to su to root, and then launch Firefox from this root console, the same problem recurs!

Thanks to those who've replied - further suggestions most welcome.

Alex2007.
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1472
Re: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2010, 12:12:00 am »

I just tried Nightflier's suggestion and it worked for me.

I was just browsing (not in root) and saw your post.  I then opened a new browser page in Seamonkey and typed:

http://localhost:631/admin

in the url and Cups came up.

I then clicked on "set printer options" and the proper screen appeared.

I likely would have been required to log in as root if I really wanted to change the printer options (I did not try that), but from your post, may I assume that you are doing the exact same thing (see above) and still getting the 403 error when you click on "set printer options?
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Cannot use administrative functions in CUPS.
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2010, 08:09:57 am »

I likely would have been required to log in as root if I really wanted to change the printer options (I did not try that), but from your post, may I assume that you are doing the exact same thing (see above) and still getting the 403 error when you click on "set printer options?

If at the time you installed your printer in CUPS you gave your user account and password when CUPS pops up that screen, you can change settings as user.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller