VectorLinux
November 27, 2014, 11:16:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Repo problems  (Read 4013 times)
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« on: October 28, 2010, 01:16:40 pm »

I've just spent the last 4 hours attempting to update packages in the repo for 6.0 and 7.0. And ended up with a string of timeouts and failures. I am now giving up. I do NOT have the time to waste this way. I have no idea what the problem is - so far as I can see, there is no problem with my connection.

Until someone can confirm that the problem is fixed, I'm not even going to attempt any further updates. I have no idea what state the repo is in now - several areas have not updated even after multiple attempts.

There are a number of security updates in place - firefox 3.6.12, thunderbird 3.1.5 and seamonkey 2.0.10 (only for VL7.0). I suspect that they will not be available, but people may be able to download them manually.

I've sent yet another email to support, but I'm not hopeful of a speed resolution - this has been happening intermittently for a couple of months now.

Sorry, but I give up.

Paul.
Logged
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 11:43:02 am »

Sad Further to this. I've now heard back from support, who thought they might have an answer. Unfortunately, it hasn't helped at all. Update scripts are still failing on any of the bigger areas. I don't want to run the scripts which propagate the updates to the mirrors, since that will probably render the whole repository chain unusable. So, even though there are important security updates, it is unlikely that anyone will be able to download them...

I have at least been able to confirm that the problem is not with my connection - JohnB316 hit the same problem attempting to update the veclinux-6.0/old area that I did. Given the geographic separation between us, that would indicate that it is not connection or routing based. Since the failures are at different points and in different areas, I don't think its file problems on the server either. Which only leaves some sort of problem in the SSH layer.

Hopefully, support will be able to sort it out sometime soon. Until they do, there seems to be nothing that can be done.

Paul.
Logged
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 01:41:56 am »

I wish I could say the problem was being sorted, but there is no change. The scripts are still failing reliably (!) on any of the larger areas, and I've not heard anything back from support in well over 48 hours.

There are a number of important security updates which should be available (Firefox 3.6.12, Seamonkey 2.0.10 and Thunderbird 3.1.6), but are unreachable.

If there is any change, I will report back here.

Paul.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2010, 07:57:09 pm »

Thanks for your work on this. I know it must be extremely frustrating and time-consuming, as well. I'm sure we all hope it gets fixed soon.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
caitlyn
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2010, 02:28:25 pm »

How on earth can VL7 development go forward with the repos in their current state?
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1428



« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2010, 10:49:34 pm »

I'm rooting for you, toothandnail.  I would like to update firefox to 3.6.12 and the mozilla download didn't work.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
w2ibc
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 114

GAHHHHHH!!!!!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2010, 11:41:55 am »

this is bad.
Logged

Linux Registered User #481509.
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2010, 11:44:21 am »

How on earth can VL7 development go forward with the repos in their current state?

Good question. I think that the VL7.0 repo could be propagated, but I know of no way of doing that without propagating the other areas, which will alsmot certainly break the VL6.0 repo, since there are several areas that I've not been able to update.

Which means that no updated files are available to anyone who does not have direct access to the base repo areas. And there aren't too many people who do have that sort of access.

Paul.
 
Logged
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2010, 11:47:19 am »

I'm rooting for you, toothandnail.  I would like to update firefox to 3.6.12 and the mozilla download didn't work.

Smiley Thanks. Wish I could say that I thought I was getting anywhere.

It is a fairly serious concern - the new Seamonkey, Firefox and Thunderbird are all fairly important security updates, and it would be very useful for people to be able to get them.

If I had somewhere to host them, I would be inclined to put them up for direct download, since none of them require any special deps. Trouble is, I have nowhere I can host them, so we're stuck until the repo problem gets fixed.

Paul.
Logged
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2010, 11:53:17 am »

this is bad.

Sad Yes, it is. The problem has been narrowed down a bit - I got one of the support people to try and run the update scripts on one of the areas that I was unable to update. It locked up even when run locally, which suggests either a file system problem on the remote machine, or a problem with the script itself. A file system problem is most unlikely (it would show up on other things, and it would also probably always occur on the same files), but the update scriopts have been in use for a long time.

At the moment, I suspect that the problem is being caused by one of the new executables installed to allow the scripts to handle the new .txz packages used by both VL6.0 SOHO and the VL7.0 alpha. Trouble is, I have no real way of debugging the problem any further. johnB316 is checking that - he has the access necessary to do that, but I don't know if he has sufficient access to fix thing. I'm hoping to hear from him soon....

Paul.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2010, 01:19:55 pm »

What exactly is the error you're getting?
Do you mind posting the actual output?
Logged

toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2010, 12:44:32 am »

What exactly is the error you're getting?
Do you mind posting the actual output?

Sad Would if I could. There is no output - progress stops (usually on the makeinfo-slapt part of the cycle), and eventually, I get a 'write failed - broken pipe error when the connection is dropped. I've tried running through screen (which will often survive a broken SSH session), but when I log back in, the screen session is always dead.

Initially I thought it might be something to do with my connection, but subsequent testing has shown that it happens to others in different areas, as well as when the scripts are run locally, so that's not the problem.

From what support said, when the script was run locally, it locked the session it was running from and prevented SSH logins until it was terminated.

I've pretty well rulled out file system problems - one lockup was happening in the VL6.0 old area on a KDE localisation package, so I moved all of them to a holding area, only to have the system lock up on something else. Currently, I suspect that it is one of the new executables required to handle .txz packages doesn't like something in the older packages, though it may be time related - the scripts complete in the 6.0 SOHO area and the 7.0 alpha area, but both of those are tiny compared to some of the 6.0 areas (extra and old, for instance).

Unfortunately, I've ot been able to get the update scripts to complete in either of those areas, and a good number of files have been moved between them, so the repo will be very unreliable if I let the changes propogate.

Paul.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2010, 12:11:01 pm »

I've added a mini-repo on SOHO to my local hard-drive and found I had trouble in two areas.
1. The default slapt-get that was included with vl6.0soho could not read the PACKAGES.TXT file created by the new makeinfo.slack.   I had to upgrade to slapt-get-0.10.2f-i586. 
2.  I had to take all the packages I had compiled as a tlz extract it and re tar it as a txz.  For some reason the mixed selection of .tlz packages and .txz packages just was not working.

Just my 2bits, hope it helps. 

If problems have already been discovered and excluded, maybe you could use the mini-repo idea as a test bed and try to recreate the problem you are experiencing with the main repo.


Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2010, 06:56:42 am »

@ stretchedthin,
That still doesn't explain why toothandnail is having problems populating the repos.
At this point, the only thing I can think of is to clone a copy of the repos to a local drive, and run the scripts there, because it just sounds too much like a filesystem problem rather than anything else.
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2010, 07:26:29 am »

@ stretchedthin,
That still doesn't explain why toothandnail is having problems populating the repos.
At this point, the only thing I can think of is to clone a copy of the repos to a local drive, and run the scripts there, because it just sounds too much like a filesystem problem rather than anything else.

That definitely worth a try, at any rate it's a real problem and cloning it to a local drive would at least make testing easier.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!