VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Boot loader.  (Read 1326 times)

Weaver

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Boot loader.
« on: November 01, 2010, 05:53:58 pm »

Hello,

Been looking through the FAQ and documentation but can find no mention of bootloaders, other than the fact that Lilo is offered as an option.
This would infer Grub.
Legacy or 2?

Has anybody else had problems getting BSDs to run multiboot with Linux distros?
I've tried to install PC-BSD, which wouldn't recognise an external drive, so I installed it on the primary.
I then couldn't get Debian, that did recognise the external drive, where I installed it, to load the bootloader, grub2 onto the first partition of the BSD primary.
It's a bit difficult to configure Grub if it won't even install.

Are there any recognition problems of this sort with Vector?
TIA for any time and trouble.

Weaver.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 06:45:34 am »

I dont use BSD, but the vector GUI installer offer both grub and lilo. (grub2 that is)

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 613
  • move the needle
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 05:43:56 pm »

If it's grub2, then isn't it supposed to install only to the MBR and not a partition's bootsector? Right now I have only VL and DOS, but kept an old FreeBSD boot chooser for the MBR because I like its simplicity. Since it's only a chooser, not a loader, the loader for linux had to go in a bootsector; that was my reason for going with lilo.

Also, I have to wonder over the possibility of confusion between "partition" and "slice" as defined by your BSD.
Logged
Robert
VL 7.1 Light

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2010, 07:02:37 pm »

The grub2 developers recommend against installing grub2 on the boot sector (/ partition). This is why our installer does not do it.

grumpy.biatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2010, 07:52:03 pm »

Hello,

Been looking through the FAQ and documentation but can find no mention of bootloaders, other than the fact that Lilo is offered as an option.
This would infer Grub.
Legacy or 2?

Has anybody else had problems getting BSDs to run multiboot with Linux distros?
I've tried to install PC-BSD, which wouldn't recognise an external drive, so I installed it on the primary.
I then couldn't get Debian, that did recognise the external drive, where I installed it, to load the bootloader, grub2 onto the first partition of the BSD primary.
It's a bit difficult to configure Grub if it won't even install.

Are there any recognition problems of this sort with Vector?
TIA for any time and trouble.

Weaver.


I multiboot 25 OS including FreeBSD, PCBSD & Solaris. Vector offers Legacy or GRUB and you can opt for not installing its bootloader. I use SUSE GRUB for chainload or otherwise.

Find my menu.lst here and do necessary changes to your list -

Quote
http://pastebin.ca/1980254

During BSD install you need to opt out of installing bootloader. Secondly, BSD or Solaris need primary partitions for install.

If you wish to boot BSD with GRUB2 then you need to configure /etc/grub.d/40_custom file and add entries, run update-grub (you wont see your entries during grub update but they will appear in grub menu when you start the box). I boot BSD with GRUB 2 on other machine. Let me know if this helps, if not I will get you the entries.

Best,

David
« Last Edit: November 03, 2010, 06:02:06 am by grumpy.biatch »
Logged

grumpy.biatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2010, 07:54:25 pm »

If it's grub2, then isn't it supposed to install only to the MBR and not a partition's bootsector? Right now I have only VL and DOS, but kept an old FreeBSD boot chooser for the MBR because I like its simplicity. Since it's only a chooser, not a loader, the loader for linux had to go in a bootsector; that was my reason for going with lilo.

Also, I have to wonder over the possibility of confusion between "partition" and "slice" as defined by your BSD.

You can install GRUB2 to its '/'. If you use Linux (other than mandrake or its derivatives, you will need to modify boot entry for these) and windows you will find GRUB 2 useful. It is butt ugly in my opinion.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2010, 08:47:06 pm by grumpy.biatch »
Logged

grumpy.biatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2010, 07:57:02 pm »

The grub2 developers recommend against installing grub2 on the boot sector (/ partition). This is why our installer does not do it.

You dont need to install GRUB or Lilo during Vector install if you have GRUB Legacy or GRUB PC installed from other Linux. I have 4 GRUB 2 distros installed on my machine. I installed it to MBR for two and '/' install for two. It didnt return any error. In current buntu* versions, you may get a warning, its bad to install GRUB on '/', just ignore it and go ahead.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2010, 05:51:45 am by grumpy.biatch »
Logged

Weaver

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Boot loader.
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2010, 03:12:23 pm »


I multiboot 25 OS including FreeBSD, PCBSD & Solaris. Vector offers Legacy or GRUB and you can opt for not installing its bootloader. I use SUSE GRUB for chainload or otherwise.

Find my menu.lst here and do necessary changes to your list -

Quote
http://pastebin.ca/1980254

During BSD install you need to opt out of installing bootloader. Secondly, BSD or Solaris need primary partitions for install.

If you wish to boot BSD with GRUB2 then you need to configure /etc/grub.d/40_custom file and add entries, run update-grub (you wont see your entries during grub update but they will appear in grub menu when you start the box). I boot BSD with GRUB 2 on other machine. Let me know if this helps, if not I will get you the entries.

Best,

David

Great!
Thanks for that.

Weaver.
Logged