VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec [Solved]  (Read 4715 times)

davidlondonuk

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec [Solved]
« on: November 11, 2010, 01:52:43 pm »

Hi,

If I attempt to use ffmpeg with libmp3lame the command line exits with 'unknown codec', is ffmpeg not compiled with libmp3lame in vector linux-do I have to recompile this package?

Thanks for any help,

David

Solution Quite rightly the license for ffmpeg requires distributors to NOT use the --non-free compile option for proprietary codecs like xvid & mp3. If you want those codecs for then you will need to recompile
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 02:23:04 am by davidlondonuk »
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 03:46:53 pm »

Which FFMPEG version does it show you are using in GSlapt?
I believe r20056 is the most current version.
It was built with a statically included LAME version 398-2


Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

davidlondonuk

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2010, 11:23:45 pm »

Thanks stretched, ffmpeg installed shown in gslapt is 'svn_13024' from the gsb repo, there is a 0.6 version I could install instead shown in glsapt?

 
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 12:16:07 am »

I have not used that one yet, but that should be the newest. Give it a go.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

davidlondonuk

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 12:39:03 am »

Gslapt sees the ffmpeg 0.6 version as a downgrade, if you attempt to remove the svn_13024 version it will remove most multimedia apps. I could downgrade but have no idea if 0.6 will have libmp3lame built in.

Strange, mencoder via mplayer has no problem but ffmpeg does?
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2010, 05:33:04 pm »

Gslapt sees the ffmpeg 0.6 version as a downgrade, if you attempt to remove the svn_13024 version it will remove most multimedia apps. I could downgrade but have no idea if 0.6 will have libmp3lame built in.

Appearing as a downgrade is a rather dubious "feature" of the way Gslapt works. What you need to do is start Gslapt and go to Edit, Preferences, Sources. For each source that has a dark box click on each one and hit Edit. Priority should be Default. If something else shows in Priority, change it to Default. OK your way out and click on the Update icon. Now you won't get a "downgrade" when it's actually a newer version.

As for uninstalling, I'll say categorically that you should *never* do it with Gslapt. Always uninstall just the packages you want to remove by opening a terminal, doing su to root and then type
removepkg nameofpackage
(putting the actual package name instead of nameofpackage).

Gslapt is often much too aggressive in removing packages and will take out other packages that might use the package you are removing but don't actually need it. removepkg is less aggressive.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

davidlondonuk

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: ffmpeg no libmp3lame codec?
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2010, 08:05:11 pm »

Thanks Granny-I get the impression that ffmpeg on vector is not compiled with mp3lame support, although mplayer is which is weird.
Logged