VectorLinux
September 01, 2014, 03:28:34 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help.  (Read 829 times)
gerber
Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: December 12, 2010, 07:25:40 am »

So I installed vector a while ago and now I'm trying to mount the Cd-Rom. I'm not really sure how to do it VASM. Ummm actully what do I have to do? I have the partition created.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 07:34:30 am by gerber » Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2010, 08:09:57 am »

What is the vector version you are using?

General in the newer versions 5.8 and above the
cdrom mounts automagically.

Bigpaws
Logged
gerber
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2010, 11:36:46 am »

I'm using Vector Linux 5.8. It now says that the cdrom is mounted but when i insert a cd into it, nothing happens.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2010, 12:39:13 pm »

You mean it does not automatically open a file manager?

Open a file manager and you should see a reference to
the cdrom. If not in the file manager look in /mnt/cdrom,
/mnt/dvd or /media/cdrom or ,/media/dvd

Bigpaws
Logged
gerber
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2010, 01:46:57 pm »

So I should open up Thunar and there should be a file called CDrom?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2010, 02:34:57 pm »

Probably the easiist way to fix this is to download and
install VL 6.0.

Then when you out a cd in the tray something should
happen.

You need to mount a cd that is in a cd tray to access the
information. Then you need to unmount it to remove the
cd.

So if your cdrom is the third device. /dev/hdc
then you could open a terminal as root and then
mount it: mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom

Then you access the information on the cdrom:

ls -la /mnt/cdrom

Then you can unmount the cd:

umount /dev/hdc

Bigpaws

Logged
gerber
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2010, 04:11:31 pm »

Well the computer doesn't have the internet set up. Which brings up my other question: The USB ports don't detect anything. So how can I get those to work?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2010, 04:21:14 pm »

What is your hardware spec...VL5.8 is quite out-dated...would suggest VL6
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!