VectorLinux
September 22, 2014, 11:54:46 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: wired not conecting  (Read 6937 times)
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« on: December 19, 2010, 08:51:40 am »

got this now laptop and there is alot that is not working but im starting with wired internet.  i was going to wait for my soho delux cds but its bin over a month and still no show. 

its A TOSHIBA satellite a665

here are my out putts

Vector://home/mike
root:# cat /etc/modprobe.conf
alias eth0 r8169
Vector://home/mike
root:# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Vector://home/mike
root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            31872  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6912  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48368  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7436  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            37408  0
snd_mixer_oss          15104  1 snd_pcm_oss
speedstep_lib           4740  0
acpi_cpufreq            7948  3
freq_table              4352  1 acpi_cpufreq
snd_hda_codec_realtek   190340  1
snd_hda_intel          25544  2
snd_hda_codec          60928  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               7812  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                67972  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
uvcvideo               54408  0
snd_timer              19976  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    51492  16 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
compat_ioctl32          2048  1 uvcvideo
videodev               33792  1 uvcvideo
jmb38x_ms               9988  0
video                  17040  0
output                  3456  1 video
r8169                  27780  0
bay                     4864  0
soundcore               7008  1 snd
rtc_cmos               10144  0
sdhci_pci               7936  0
snd_page_alloc          8840  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
v4l1_compat            14852  2 uvcvideo,videodev
memstick                9500  1 jmb38x_ms
joydev                 10048  0
mii                     5376  1 r8169
rtc_core               15132  1 rtc_cmos
evdev                  10144  9
rtc_lib                 3328  1 rtc_core
Vector://home/mike
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 0044 (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 0046 (rev 02)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b64 (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b3c (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b56 (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b42 (rev 05)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b44 (rev 05)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b46 (rev 05)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b48 (rev 05)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b4a (rev 05)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b34 (rev 05)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a5)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b09 (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b29 (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b30 (rev 05)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 3b32 (rev 05)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 05)
06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 422c (rev 35)
15:00.0 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Unknown device 2382 (rev 20)
15:00.2 SD Host controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Unknown device 2381 (rev 20)
15:00.3 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Unknown device 2383 (rev 20)
15:00.4 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Unknown device 2384 (rev 20)
ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2c62 (rev 02)
ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2d01 (rev 02)
ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2d10 (rev 02)
ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2d11 (rev 02)
ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2d12 (rev 02)
ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2d13 (rev 02)
Vector://home/mike
root:# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 88:ae:1d:4c:8d:da 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:281056406 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:443 (443.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:16 Base address:0xc000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Vector://home/mike
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 03:12:00 pm »

Looks like your ethernet card is recognized and module is loaded. Describe your network layout; how do you connect to the Internet? Do you have a network switch? DHCP?
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 05:20:15 pm »

Wired into a Netgear wireless router that is connected to cable internet. I downloaded the new wicd thinking that might help but still no go.  My Compaq with 6.0 standard has no problems and I'm used the same CD to boot the new one. I checked to see if all the settings are the same and they are. I'm at a loss.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 06:33:28 pm »

It's not Vector Linux that is the problem it is the Hardware that is.

How have you tried to configure the wired card?

Did you try using VASM?

Have you tried using a terminal and as root use netconfig?

The ethernet card you have has had some problems at
least what I have found from searches.

Bigpaws
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2010, 07:29:33 pm »

Did all of it. Tried everything I could think of to get it to work then I asked for help.  All realtek have problems. Nothing new there. But its not like I can change it. It's what I have to work with and it does show up unlike my wireless card (Intel N-6200).
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2010, 07:53:44 pm »

We need to know exactly the type of network setup.

Is the router providing DHCP?

Have you set a static ip address?

Look at /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf  esp eth0

Bigpaws
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2010, 08:42:18 pm »

Its one right out of the box with nothing done to it but a wep code for wireless. Never had to do a thing to my Compaq but plug it in. If I put the windows 7 drive back in it connects with wireless or wired.


This is from my Compaq

vector://home/mike
root:# /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf  esp eth0
bash: /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf: Permission denied
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2010, 08:52:33 pm »

You can read files in a terminal.

Either by using cat example ... cat /etc/rc.d/r.inet1.conf

Or you can use midnight commander example mc /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf

Bigpaws
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2010, 06:06:02 am »

this what u want

Mike://home/mike
root:# cat /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf esp eth0
# /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf
#
# This file contains the configuration settings for network interfaces.
# If USE_DHCP[interface] is set to "yes", this overrides any other settings.
# If you don't have an interface, leave the settings null ("").

# You can configure network interfaces other than eth0,eth1... by setting
# IFNAME[interface] to the interface's name. If IFNAME[interface] is unset
# or empty, it is assumed you're configuring eth<interface>.

# Several other parameters are available, the end of this file contains a
# comprehensive set of examples.

# =============================================================================

# Config information for eth0:
IPADDR[0]=""
NETMASK[0]=""
USE_DHCP[0]="yes"
DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""

# Config information for eth1:
IPADDR[1]=""
NETMASK[1]=""
USE_DHCP[1]=""
DHCP_HOSTNAME[1]=""

# Config information for eth2:
IPADDR[2]=""
NETMASK[2]=""
USE_DHCP[2]=""
DHCP_HOSTNAME[2]=""

# Config information for eth3:
IPADDR[3]=""
NETMASK[3]=""
USE_DHCP[3]=""
DHCP_HOSTNAME[3]=""

# Default gateway IP address:
GATEWAY=""

# Change this to "yes" for debugging output to stdout.  Unfortunately,
# /sbin/hotplug seems to disable stdout so you'll only see debugging output
# when rc.inet1 is called directly.
DEBUG_ETH_UP="no"

## Example config information for wlan0.  Uncomment the lines you need and fill
## in your info.  (You may not need all of these for your wireless network)
#IFNAME[4]="wlan0"
#IPADDR[4]=""
#NETMASK[4]=""
#USE_DHCP[4]="yes"
#DHCP_HOSTNAME[4]="icculus-wireless"
#DHCP_KEEPRESOLV[4]="yes"
#DHCP_KEEPNTP[4]="yes"
#DHCP_KEEPGW[4]="yes"
#DHCP_IPADDR[4]=""
#WLAN_ESSID[4]=BARRIER05
#WLAN_MODE[4]=Managed
##WLAN_RATE[4]="54M auto"
##WLAN_CHANNEL[4]="auto"
##WLAN_KEY[4]="D5AD1F04ACF048EC2D0B1C80C7"
##WLAN_IWPRIV[4]="set AuthMode=WPAPSK | set EncrypType=TKIP | set WPAPSK=96389dc66eaf7e6efd5b5523ae43c7925ff4df2f8b7099495192d44a774fda16"
#WLAN_WPA[4]="wpa_supplicant"
#WLAN_WPADRIVER[4]="ndiswrapper"

## Some examples of additional network parameters that you can use.
## Config information for wlan0:
#IFNAME[4]="wlan0"              # Use a different interface name nstead of
                               # the default 'eth4'
#HWADDR[4]="00:01:23:45:67:89"  # Overrule the card's hardware MAC address
#MTU[4]=""                      # The default MTU is 1500, but you might need
                               # 1360 when you use NAT'ed IPSec traffic.
#DHCP_KEEPRESOLV[4]="yes"       # If you dont want /etc/resolv.conf overwritten
#DHCP_KEEPNTP[4]="yes"          # If you don't want ntp.conf overwritten
#DHCP_KEEPGW[4]="yes"           # If you don't want the DHCP server to change
                               # your default gateway
#DHCP_IPADDR[4]=""              # Request a specific IP address from the DHCP
                               # server
#WLAN_ESSID[4]=DARKSTAR         # Here, you can override _any_ parameter
                               # defined in rc.wireless.conf, by prepending
                               # 'WLAN_' to the parameter's name. Useful for
                               # those with multiple wireless interfaces.
#WLAN_IWPRIV[4]="set AuthMode=WPAPSK | set EncrypType=TKIP | set WPAPSK=thekey"
                               # Some drivers require a private ioctl to be
                               # set through the iwpriv command. If more than
                               # one is required, you can place them in the
                               # IWPRIV parameter (separated with the pipe (|)
                               # character, see the example).
cat: esp: No such file or directory
cat: eth0: No such file or directory
Mike://home/mike
root:#
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2010, 07:42:10 am »

That is what I wanted.

Please try this:

First shutdown your computer. Now unplug your Cat5 cable.

Now restart your computer. After that completes plug in the
wire. Now open a terminal as root and type:

dhcpcd eth0

You may not see any output
Test the connection ping yahoo.com if that does not
work try to ping your router.

Is this a dual boot machine?

Bigpaws

Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2010, 08:15:05 am »

No not a dual boot machine. i kept the original hard drive.

Mike://home/mike
root:# dhcpcd eth0
Mike://home/mike
root:# ping  192.168.1.9
connect: Network is unreachable
Mike://home/mike
root:# ping  192.168.1.1
connect: Network is unreachable
Mike://home/mike
root:# ping  192.168.1.2
connect: Network is unreachable
Mike://home/mike
root:# ping  192.168.1.3
connect: Network is unreachable
Mike://home/mike
root:# ping yahoo.com
ping: unknown host yahoo.com
Mike://home/mike
root:#
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2010, 09:26:08 am »

The issue is apparently the wake on Lan for this chipset.

Try this:

Power down

Remove Cat5

Remove power cable

Remove battery  (if laptop)

Wait 15 min. then replace everything except the CAT5 and then
after booted put wire in and the try the commands from my last
post.

Bigpaws
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2010, 01:21:03 pm »

same thing. network is unreachable
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2010, 02:39:48 pm »

You could try removing the r8169 module, blacklisting it, and compiling/utilizing the RTL8101E realtek driver.

The Realtek driver for linux kernel 2.6.x can be found here:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=7&PFid=7&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false#RTL8100E/RTL8101E/RTL8102E-GR
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2010, 02:48:25 pm »

Try a simple manual override. As root, in a terminal, use commands:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.200 up
Then try to ping a box on your local network.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!