VectorLinux
August 28, 2014, 07:06:45 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: LibreOffice 3.3  (Read 10652 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« on: January 25, 2011, 06:20:55 am »

First official, stable release is out:
http://www.libreoffice.org/
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 08:00:46 am »

I've been using this for a while... during the beta tests, and I have to say this is has major performance tweaks over the plain OOo project.
Logged

GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 11:15:45 am »

Will we be getting a package for VL7 and VL6 SOHO (hope, hope)?
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 12:19:19 pm »

I have been repackaging the rpm binaries from LibreOffice with the scripts from SlackBuilds.org (slightly modified by me). This is the one I used for RC3, which probably needs only 2 lines changed for the final release. I can't make the changes until I can get the new rpms though, which I should have tomorrow, with any luck. In case anyone wants to go for it, here is the script plus additional needed stuff (attached) and the 2 lines that you need to fix:

In libreoffice.SlackBuild, change the following 2 lines to the correct version number:

1-
Code:
VERSION="3.3.0rc4"
(I presume "3.3.0")

2-
Code:
mv desktop-integration/libreoffice3.3-freedesktop-menus-3.3-6.noarch.rpm .
(you need to explode the package and check inside the desktop-integration directory to find this)


Optionally, you could fix the version number and download links in the libreoffice.info file, but I don't really see the point.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:21:21 pm by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2011, 01:04:38 pm »

For anyone who wants to take libreoffice for a spin, here is a simple bash script I use to download and install. Copy the script below to a text file save as NAME.sh and run as root... sh ./NAME.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
###edited on March 4, 2011 to the latest edition of LibreOffice.
###edited on March 28th 2011 to the latest edition of LibreOffice.
wget http://download.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.3.2/rpm/x86_64/LibO_3.3.2_Linux_x86-64_install-rpm_en-US.tar.gz
tar xfv ./LibO*tar.gz
cd ./LibO_3*/
cd ./RPMS
rpm2tgz ./*rpm
installpkg ./*tgz
cd ./desktop*
rpm2tgz ./*freedesktop*rpm
installpkg ./*tgz
exit

« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 08:26:38 am by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2011, 11:50:25 am »

Thanks for the script. I ran it under VL7 a4.21 and everything went well. I haven't done much with it yet, but I did open the various modules and everything looks fine.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2011, 01:39:07 pm »

Went well here, though the help function doesn't work :-(
Logged
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2011, 07:47:59 pm »

I had already downloaded the tar.gz file from the web site before seeing stretchedthin's script, so I un-tarred it (got a while bunch of rpms) and installed them in one go by selecting them all in midnight commander and using the "install slackware or redhat packages" on the F2 menu. Works well for me on Alpha 22.

LibreOffice seems much nicer than OO 2.1 which I'm using at present. The help function seems to work ok, although it opens a web site rather than a local file like before. Lyn, what problem were you having?

Does anyone know which of the rpms are essential? Presumably ones with "base" or "core" in their names as a minimum. I was just thinking it might be nice to be able to pick and choose which to install so as to create a slimmer installation.

Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2011, 01:46:44 am »

No website opened when pressing f1 or for help from the menu.  Essentially nothing happens... of course that could just be a quirk of my system.  Any idea how I can get help working?
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2011, 07:22:10 am »

No website opened when pressing f1 or for help from the menu.  Essentially nothing happens... of course that could just be a quirk of my system.  Any idea how I can get help working?

Hi Lyn,
I think the problem may be with your systems java jcontrol default browser setting. 
In a terminal type
/usr/lib/java/bin/jcontrol
This should open the Java Control Panel then...
Select the 'Advanced Tab' followed by clicking the node beside 'Command to launch default browser'
There you can select the default browser for your system.

Let me know if you would like these instructions in German. Wink Cheesy.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2011, 08:47:43 am »

LOL nothing in German - but then nothing at all... sorry set /usr/bin/firefox and nothing happens.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2011, 01:17:31 pm »

In my LibreOffice my browser opens to Help for Writer or Calc or whatever when I click on Help in Libre's menu.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2011, 02:06:20 pm »

@Lyn I think your using Soho, correct me if I'm wrong.  I still think the problem is with java, try opening jcontrol as a root user, perhaps your changes just aren't sticking.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2011, 02:01:17 pm »

Actually no, standard.  And trying to do it via root doesn't work either... drawing a blank here
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2011, 10:10:29 am »

Which standard 6.0 or one of the alpha's for 7.0?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!