Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: vinstall-iso update??  (Read 9076 times)

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
vinstall-iso update??
« on: January 28, 2011, 06:48:40 pm »
Is there any chance that the vinstall-iso script will be updated to the latest
configurations of initrd. Like now one has to use xz instead of gzip to extract
the init.lz file, formerly initrd.img.

The vinstall-iso file in VL7 dates back to 2006. ???
vinstall-iso could be used to install VL straight from the HD.

I tried to play with the script, however, get stuck on mounting initrd.

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 09:46:53 pm »
give this one a try : http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/iso-test/vinstall-iso-ng

Let me know how it goes,
Uelsk8s

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2011, 12:16:04 am »
give this one a try : http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/iso-test/vinstall-iso-ng

Let me know how it goes,
Uelsk8s

GREAT! UNBELIEVABLE! PHANTASTIC!

This time the installation of alpha4-16 went absolutely smooth.
All files were installed even more than indicated. :).
It took almost 50 minutes against about 25 min. with the GUI installer.

There is no module.dep in /lib/modules/2.6.33.4

Alsaconf does not find the sound card.

Mouse and KB working fine on console and NOT AT ALL in X. There I am
at a loss what to do. Both are USB port connected. To get out of X I have to
power reboot. :(

If that problem could only be soved. ??? ???

Thanks anyhow uelsk for such a fsat work!

Was there someone complaining about lack of service in VL?  ;)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2011, 05:58:24 am »
I am not sure why, but it seems you are running the wrong kernel.
you should have 2.6.36.3 there and you report "There is no module.dep in /lib/modules/2.6.33.4"
check /boot and /lib/modules and see what you have in there.
your bootloader may be starting the wrong kernel.


Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2011, 07:22:43 pm »
I am not sure why, but it seems you are running the wrong kernel.
you should have 2.6.36.3 there and you report "There is no module.dep in /lib/modules/2.6.33.4"
check /boot and /lib/modules and see what you have in there.
your bootloader may be starting the wrong kernel.


Yes that happens when I boot with the intall CD Alpha-2.

Yes the kernel in boot and lib/modules is 2.6.36.3.

I now boot with lilo and get the following problem:
uname -r says 2.6.35.7-smp therefore rc.modules looks for /lib/modules/2.6.35.7-smp
which is not there for which reason no modules are loaded.

I did depmod -v 2.6.36.3 -A which went in an endless scrolling of modules
needing something. Was too fast to read and I finally stopped it.

How does one correct that the system is reading the right kernel?

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2011, 08:13:33 pm »
I would delete the kernel from /boot
then copy the kernel from the ISO to /boot and re-setup your bootloader
if uname -r doesnt show 2.6.36.3 then you do not have the right kernel loading at boot.

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2011, 11:17:08 pm »
I would delete the kernel from /boot
then copy the kernel from the ISO to /boot and re-setup your bootloader
if uname -r doesnt show 2.6.36.3 then you do not have the right kernel loading at boot.

That worked after same tickling. Had to boot first with an install CD.

Modules are loaded.

alsa configures

KB works only in USB port

Mouse not working at all in what-so-ever port, console or X.   ???
« Last Edit: January 29, 2011, 11:25:22 pm by Pita »

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2011, 10:06:27 pm »
I would delete the kernel from /boot
then copy the kernel from the ISO to /boot and re-setup your bootloader
if uname -r doesnt show 2.6.36.3 then you do not have the right kernel loading at boot.

That worked after same tickling. Had to boot first with an install CD.

Modules are loaded.

alsa configures

KB works only in USB port

Mouse not working at all in what-so-ever port, console or X.   ???

Reboot with mouse in PS2 port and working in console and X, same for KB connected to USB port.

Internet connected w/o me doing anything. :D
I am posting this from ALPHA-4.16.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 10:16:05 pm by Pita »

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4073
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2011, 08:32:02 am »
give this one a try : http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/iso-test/vinstall-iso-ng

Let me know how it goes,
Uelsk8s

Successful install of A4.16 from inside A4.8. No glitches noted.

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2011, 09:30:32 am »
Couldn't install A21 from A16 host - I get the "No install medium found" screen.
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2011, 04:32:52 pm »
Couldn't install A21 from A16 host - I get the "No install medium found" screen.

where do you have the iso located?
did the gui installer locate the same iso in same place?

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2011, 06:04:20 pm »
I had both vinstall-iso-ng and the iso itself in the same directory.
Both in the /root/ directory of my A16 installation to be exact.

The GUI installer didn't start, all I've got was the screen saying that no install medium was found and that perhaps I was using a technology that the author couldn't afford.
There was also some mount error, but it flashed so quickly that I couldn't read it. Does this script keep a log somewhere that I could post?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 06:05:57 pm by budulay »
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2011, 06:57:07 pm »
I had both vinstall-iso-ng and the iso itself in the same directory.
Both in the /root/ directory of my A16 installation to be exact.

The GUI installer didn't start, all I've got was the screen saying that no install medium was found and that perhaps I was using a technology that the author couldn't afford.
There was also some mount error, but it flashed so quickly that I couldn't read it. Does this script keep a log somewhere that I could post?
Try putting the iso on /
No log but you could redirect the errors to a file
./vinstall-iso-ng /VL7.0-STD-ALPHA-4.22.iso 2>log
« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 07:55:30 pm by uelsk8s »

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2011, 09:24:53 pm »
It worked, but I only got text installer. Should I pass any parameters to the script to start the GUI installer, or is it supposed to start by default?

here's the log

Code: [Select]
285969 blocks
umount: loop: not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 3: [general]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 14: [min_requirements]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 23: [bulks/required]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 32: [bulks/optional]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 43: [localization/location]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 45: [localization/list]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 46: kde-l10n-de=German: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 47: kde-l10n-es=Spanish: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 48: kde-l10n-fr=French: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 49: kde-l10n-ru=Russian: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 53: [config]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 60: [kernels]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 3: [general]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 14: [min_requirements]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 23: [bulks/required]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 32: [bulks/optional]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 43: [localization/location]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 45: [localization/list]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 46: kde-l10n-de=German: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 47: kde-l10n-es=Spanish: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 48: kde-l10n-fr=French: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 49: kde-l10n-ru=Russian: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 53: [config]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 60: [kernels]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 3: [general]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 14: [min_requirements]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 23: [bulks/required]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 32: [bulks/optional]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 43: [localization/location]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 45: [localization/list]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 46: kde-l10n-de=German: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 47: kde-l10n-es=Spanish: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 48: kde-l10n-fr=French: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 49: kde-l10n-ru=Russian: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 53: [config]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 60: [kernels]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 3: [general]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 14: [min_requirements]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 23: [bulks/required]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 32: [bulks/optional]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 43: [localization/location]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 45: [localization/list]: No such file or directory
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 46: kde-l10n-de=German: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 47: kde-l10n-es=Spanish: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 48: kde-l10n-fr=French: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 49: kde-l10n-ru=Russian: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 53: [config]: command not found
/mnt/source/veclinux/VINSTALL.INI: line 60: [kernels]: command not found
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/initrd.vinstall': Is a directory
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: vinstall-iso update??
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2011, 06:18:32 am »
it is only setup to run the CLI installer.
you could try and exit the CLI installer and run startx though, I am curious if it would run.