Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: pppoe connection  (Read 4093 times)

raleeha

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
pppoe connection
« on: February 04, 2011, 05:56:27 am »
Hello VL user community!

i´m really new to VL and installed VL Light 6.0 from Live CD. Always when i try to connect to internet i get error:
Code: [Select]
pppoe-start
/usr/sbin/pppoe-start: line 191: 4372 Terminated $CONNECT "$Q" >/dev/null 2>&1
Code: [Select]
pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is down (can´t read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe

I do know really know whats exactly meaning about this.

Many thanks for any suggestions.

greetings raleeha

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 07:54:18 am »
Have you tried using pppoe-setup?

Bigpaws

raleeha

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 08:35:00 am »
pppoe-setup is well configured ...

but i get now an internet connection ...

i added in /etc/rc.d/rc.local at the end of file ...

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start ...

and after that i started pppoe-start and it worked fine ...

but thanx for replies

raleeha

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 03:09:36 pm »
mine did not :

Quote
root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is attached to ppp0, but ppp0 is down

LAST LINES of my rc.local

Quote

## You may add custom initialisation below this

# Autostart DSL

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start
vector6:/~



but it shows "connected" on start up
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 03:41:02 pm by icedtea »
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

furydragon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 02:01:32 am »
Try delete previous connection by executing command pppoe-stop by root. Stop on "no pppoe connections". Then try reconfigure your connection by pppoe-setup if is wrong.

rc.local is script that executes on boot. It's only run your connection automatically if this properly configured.

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 02:28:24 am »
Try delete previous connection by executing command pppoe-stop by root. Stop on "no pppoe connections". Then try reconfigure your connection by pppoe-setup if is wrong.

rc.local is script that executes on boot. It's only run your connection automatically if this properly configured.


yes i know. BUT if i manually run pppoe-start, it connects..  :)  but it does not when i added it to the rc.local file
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 07:07:23 am »
You need to specify the full path in rc.local for a
command to work.

example:

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start

Bigpaws

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 03:08:50 am »
You need to specify the full path in rc.local for a
command to work.

example:

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start

Bigpaws

still no luck :(

Quote

You are working as root
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
Package manager: slapt-get, pkg
Network tools  : ifconfig, host, ping, nmap, iptables
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
vector6:/~
root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is attached to ppp0, but ppp0 is down
vector6:/~
root:# pppoe-stop 
Killing pppd (3634)


LAST FEW LINES OF rc.local

## You may add custom initialisation below this

# Autostart DSL

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start
vector6:/~




« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 03:14:50 am by icedtea »
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD