VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: pppoe connection  (Read 4192 times)

raleeha

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
pppoe connection
« on: February 04, 2011, 05:56:27 am »

Hello VL user community!

i´m really new to VL and installed VL Light 6.0 from Live CD. Always when i try to connect to internet i get error:
Code: [Select]
pppoe-start
/usr/sbin/pppoe-start: line 191: 4372 Terminated $CONNECT "$Q" >/dev/null 2>&1
Code: [Select]
pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is down (can´t read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe

I do know really know whats exactly meaning about this.

Many thanks for any suggestions.

greetings raleeha
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 07:54:18 am »

Have you tried using pppoe-setup?

Bigpaws
Logged

raleeha

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 08:35:00 am »

pppoe-setup is well configured ...

but i get now an internet connection ...

i added in /etc/rc.d/rc.local at the end of file ...

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start ...

and after that i started pppoe-start and it worked fine ...

but thanx for replies

raleeha
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 03:09:36 pm »

mine did not :

Quote
root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is attached to ppp0, but ppp0 is down

LAST LINES of my rc.local

Quote

## You may add custom initialisation below this

# Autostart DSL

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start
vector6:/~



but it shows "connected" on start up
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 03:41:02 pm by icedtea »
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

furydragon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 02:01:32 am »

Try delete previous connection by executing command pppoe-stop by root. Stop on "no pppoe connections". Then try reconfigure your connection by pppoe-setup if is wrong.

rc.local is script that executes on boot. It's only run your connection automatically if this properly configured.
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 02:28:24 am »

Try delete previous connection by executing command pppoe-stop by root. Stop on "no pppoe connections". Then try reconfigure your connection by pppoe-setup if is wrong.

rc.local is script that executes on boot. It's only run your connection automatically if this properly configured.


yes i know. BUT if i manually run pppoe-start, it connects..  :)  but it does not when i added it to the rc.local file
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 07:07:23 am »

You need to specify the full path in rc.local for a
command to work.

example:

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start

Bigpaws
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: pppoe connection
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 03:08:50 am »

You need to specify the full path in rc.local for a
command to work.

example:

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start

Bigpaws

still no luck :(

Quote

You are working as root
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
Package manager: slapt-get, pkg
Network tools  : ifconfig, host, ping, nmap, iptables
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
vector6:/~
root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is attached to ppp0, but ppp0 is down
vector6:/~
root:# pppoe-stop 
Killing pppd (3634)


LAST FEW LINES OF rc.local

## You may add custom initialisation below this

# Autostart DSL

/usr/sbin/pppoe-start
vector6:/~




« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 03:14:50 am by icedtea »
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD