VectorLinux
November 23, 2014, 10:38:22 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless Networking: Read this first  (Read 17277 times)
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« on: December 22, 2006, 01:39:54 pm »

This HowTo should help you get your wireless network working with VectorLinux.

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=1282.0

If you are still having problems, then don't hesitate to open a new thread  Wink
Logged

Jerry
Vectorite
***
Posts: 119



« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2007, 08:54:14 am »

Thanks for that.

Mine is working fine, but I am wondering why wifi radar can't detect my ip, giving me
an error message when I've tried, but vwifi, in the system menu, hooks me up every
time. 

I upgraded wifi radar, but it still won't work.  Mind you I'm perfectly happy to be hooked
up by the other utility.. just curious.  Tongue

  - Jerry
Logged
aixuser01
Member
*
Posts: 86


« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2007, 08:34:42 pm »

ok, I have read the wireless how to but still have a problem.

lspci shows
02:00.0 network controller pro/wireless 3945abg network connection

but ifconfig -a does not show the card.

this is soho 5.8 final

so if it can see the card, what must I do to get the interface to show up?
Logged

Evil Overlord rule 58 My doomsday device will not employ a large red digital countdown device unless it is absolutely necessary.  If a countdown device proves to be necessary, the doomsday device will be set to activate when the counter reaches 00:10:00, rather than 00:00:00.
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2007, 08:39:11 pm »

ok, I have read the wireless how to but still have a problem.

lspci shows
02:00.0 network controller pro/wireless 3945abg network connection

but ifconfig -a does not show the card.

this is soho 5.8 final

so if it can see the card, what must I do to get the interface to show up?

first run vwifi as root and see if you can connect.
you have a ipw3945 wireless it requires the ipw3945d daemon to be running as well as the ipw3945 kernel module to be loaded.
let us know how that goes.
Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
aixuser01
Member
*
Posts: 86


« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2007, 09:05:06 pm »

Uelsk8s,
ok ran vwifi and got a popup to scan the network. set up wpa_supplicant.conf and got right on the network. now the question is how do I get the mod and daemon to load on boot? do I need to add to rc.local? if so what...

John
Logged

Evil Overlord rule 58 My doomsday device will not employ a large red digital countdown device unless it is absolutely necessary.  If a countdown device proves to be necessary, the doomsday device will be set to activate when the counter reaches 00:10:00, rather than 00:00:00.
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2007, 10:18:27 pm »

add
modprobe ipw3945
and
/sbin/ipw3945d
to rc.local
Logged
zyghom
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2007, 02:16:38 am »

actually I don't see modules for intel 4965 - am I blind or just no support ?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2007, 03:37:02 am »

Did you follow this:

http://www.intellinuxwireless.org/?p=iwlwifi

Bigpaws
Logged
zyghom
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2007, 04:47:32 am »

yeap, already installed ;-)
btw why some intel cards included, some not?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2007, 06:10:35 am »

Not all Intel cards have the same chipset.

Bigpaws
Logged
zyghom
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2007, 06:22:58 am »

Not all Intel cards have the same chipset.

Bigpaws

ok, sorry for misunderstanding: I meant: if there is already ipw2100 and ipw2200 so why not iwl3945 and iwl4965 ?
I'm talking about VL 5.9 - the newest, including kernel 2.6.22.14

but ok, no problem ;-)
Logged
lorton
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2008, 02:05:33 am »

I have a U.S.Robotics pcmcia card. I can set it up with vwifi & have added modprobe ndiswrapper to rc.local.
Does anybody know what else I should add /sbin/? to get it to start at boot time?

Les
Logged
lorton
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2008, 08:18:39 am »

Solved the problem, couldn't spell modprobe!!
Changed it from rc.local to rc.modules & the card automatically starts.
The only problem now is the mounts aren't set up at boot time, I have to mount the myself.
Is this common?
Logged
freihage
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2009, 02:03:53 pm »

I have an acer laptop with the broadcom 4318 airforce one 54g chipset. the computer says it's there but when I try to do the hardward config,it won't detect the modem. tried running vasm in terminal and it wont work. bout ready to pull my hair out.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2009, 04:39:31 pm »

Please next time start a new thread. A HOWTO is a set of instructions, not a place to ask
questions.

Your post is a little confusing:

Quote
it won't detect the modem.

What are you talking about? Are you referring to an access point?

Please post the Vector version you are using since each version has some
configuration changes and may not include the firmware you need.

Bigpaws
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!