VectorLinux
October 02, 2014, 04:20:23 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 7.0 Beta1 bug thread  (Read 45047 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #120 on: March 18, 2011, 11:19:09 am »

I'm using VL7 b1.8 on my new Sempron computer. When I try to start Midnight Commander as root, it doesn't load. When I tried xterm -e mc, I got this message:
root:# xterm -e mc
Warning: Tried to connect to session manager, Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed

I don't understand the message and I certainly don't know what to do about the problem. I can start Thunar as root.

On the new computer I installed VL6 SOHO Deluxe a couple of days ago. It offers the proprietary NVidia driver and I got a very nice 1280x1024 screen, which is the native resolution of the monitor. In VL7 b1.8 or VL7 b1 I get a badly distorted GUI screen in the wrong aspect ratio and the best I've been able to do is 1024x768 with the VESA driver. I suspected the problem would be fixed with the proprietary NVidia driver, but it's not included with VL7 so far.

I see mention of beta 2. Are we supposed to be testing that? Also, will the proprietary NVidia drivers be included in VL7 at some point? I'm very unhappy with 1024x768.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #121 on: March 18, 2011, 07:16:49 pm »

Granny:

Stating the obvious ~ VL7 *BETA* versions will remain in constant state of flux
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-test/

(Have you dismissed  an alternative to installing -  using  Virtual box)

http://vectorlinux.com/downloads

I do not wish to presume  anything,  just requesting clarification - as prior  suggestions were rebuffed as: 
Quote
in alpha/beta/rc testing we're trying to find what doesn't work so it can be fixed.
We're not trying to get it to work *just for us*

Quote
I can start Thunar as root.

If you are now inviting possible solutions ?

Google
Code:
"user xterm authentication"

What happens when you drop to a console I.E.(Ctrl+Alt+F2) log in as user, execute  mc

How much do you desire nVidia proprietary drivers_

All are readily available on Web - install nearly painless

Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #122 on: March 18, 2011, 10:01:10 pm »

It seems gdm is wired to open only xfce4.  No matter how I set to open fluxbox
only xfce4 will open. /etc/X11/xinit/@xinit.rc points to xinitrc.fluxbox,
~/.xinitrc ends: "exec /usr/bin/startfluxbox", xwmconfig is set to open fluxbox,
yet gdm will only open xfce4 even when last session was fluxbox. There is
naturally no provision in gdm to open fluxbox which is part of the install.

If I use xdm insted of gdm fluxbox does open as first choice. If I set @xinitrc to
point to xinitrc.xfce xfce4 will open, however, flush drives cannot be mounted by user.

mc will open in my box any way as root.

root:# thunar
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1
keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyThunar: Cannot open display:

root:# mc
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1
keyInvalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key.
and mc opens.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2011, 10:37:32 pm by Pita » Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3181



« Reply #123 on: March 19, 2011, 04:23:41 am »

Open query to VL community &  Esp development "team" 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Users : Shouldn't any bug reports address only latest BETA version  ?
(Seems  obvious - earlier versions *may* now be redundant)

Older versions -post as help request in own new thread
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please consider, below  has been mentioned before:  w/scant  official consensus:

~ Development is AD-HOC
~  VL is now how old -w/still no *FORMAL*  method adopted to report/fix  bugs

Same   methods employed...  Forum  version announcements (which get posted to_ by "helpme" users ) 
 Multiple catch-all " development" topic headers ~
*'BUG* headers - where all soon becomes buried/side-tracked
 
Is there no database for "developers"  to consult:  (why do old bugs often  re-appear)

Oh...if i had a dime for every time i suggested a bug tracker and to move bug reports out of the forums.... but despite my best efforts, seems to be an impossible change for this community
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #124 on: March 19, 2011, 04:07:04 pm »

Thnx Moe - lnx

Not to single anyone out - but latest PITA post is good example - we have no idea which version he is "reporting"


It is naturally the latest which I always put on top of the first post for a new version. Thereafter I assume it had been
read/noticed and do not repeat it any more.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #125 on: March 19, 2011, 08:55:50 pm »

I had my computer off overnight and after I booted today, I was able to start Midnight Commander as root. I didn't try Thunar. I must have run into a temporary glitch.

I would install the proprietary NVidia driver but I don't want to bother if beta 2 is imminent.

Flash is working with Opera (it didn't for me in beta 1 on the old computer).
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #126 on: March 19, 2011, 11:12:06 pm »

Just got back after three weeks away and eagerly downloaded beta 1.10 for a try out. Still no joy with the text installer on my IBM p4 or Compaq P3, the machines just lock up a few seconds after the uncompressing the kernel message. I'm not sure if it's relevant, but it misses out the "loading init.lz" stage which appears in the GUI installer. Am I the only one having problems with the text installer or am I the only one using it?!

Installation with the GUI installer went off OK. The screen resoluton was set rather low (800x600) but could be adjusted after logging in. The login screen is changed from earlier betas and looks less attractive now, especially as it was displayed at a low resolution (for me). Incidentally, the installer identified the iso as Beta2, not 1.10 as downloaded.

It's good to see the number of installed apps steadily increasing, along with the expanding reps. But I couldn't successfully load the extras rep from any of the sources I tried - is it supposed to be active yet? Testing and patches worked OK though. I tried quite a few of the pre-installed apps and installed others using Gslapt so I'll just note what didn't work for me.

Clicking Help in the menu opened the browser but it couldn't find the target page.

After installing audacity it wouldn't run, "error while loading shared library libwx_gtx2u_richtext-2.8.50.O"

I installed Firestarter and tried to start the interface from a root terminal (a normal user can't access it) but got the error "While connecting to session manager: Authentication Rejected..." and "GLib-GIO: ERROR: gdbusconnection.c:2279 ..."

Streamtuner installed OK but it's set to use xmms as the default music player, so it gives an error message when attempting to play a stream. It's easy to change it to audacity in the settings, but it's better not to have to.

htop has a missing dependency, ncurses>=5.7 and lyx has one too, util-linux-ng>=2.18

Cheers
Andy
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #127 on: March 20, 2011, 07:22:41 am »

Streamtuner installed OK but it's set to use xmms as the default music player, so it gives an error message when attempting to play a stream. It's easy to change it to audacity in the settings, but it's better not to have to.

htop has a missing dependency, ncurses>=5.7 and lyx has one too, util-linux-ng>=2.18

Cheers
Andy

It seem there is no way to change the default music player for streamtuner at compile time...if you know there way I am gladly to re-build streamtuner again.
As for lyx, I build it using VL7B2 version and I believe util-linux-ng come default with it...

BTW, pls post the package problem in the respective VL package board for easy keep-tracking...thanks
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 07:26:51 am by hata_ph » Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #128 on: March 20, 2011, 08:40:13 am »

hata_ph,
this patch will change the default music player for streamtuner from xmms to audacious, and also changes the default web browser to firefox
http://launchpadlibrarian.net/17471900/streamtuner_0.99.99-13ubuntu2.debdiff
if you need any help applying it let me know
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 09:06:33 am by uelsk8s » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #129 on: March 20, 2011, 04:34:19 pm »

hata_ph,
this patch will change the default music player for streamtuner from xmms to audacious, and also changes the default web browser to firefox
http://launchpadlibrarian.net/17471900/streamtuner_0.99.99-13ubuntu2.debdiff
if you need any help applying it let me know

Ya...saw it last night but i think need some modification since it is for debian/ubuntu based distro...will check it when i got the chance...thanks  Cool
Logged
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #130 on: March 20, 2011, 04:57:26 pm »

Thanks for the replies hata_ph

Quote
BTW, pls post the package problem in the respective VL package board for easy keep-tracking...thanks

Not sure where to do that these days as the usual package news and updates section is not being updated. If there's somewhere special for VL7 packages I'll be happy to post there.

Cheers
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #131 on: March 20, 2011, 06:01:07 pm »

Thanks for the replies hata_ph

Quote
BTW, pls post the package problem in the respective VL package board for easy keep-tracking...thanks

Not sure where to do that these days as the usual package news and updates section is not being updated. If there's somewhere special for VL7 packages I'll be happy to post there.

Cheers

Sorry, I won't be able to post everything that was done (there was just too many to catch up and I didn't have access to post to that thread at the time) but here are the links to ad your comments to lyx and streamtuner.

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=13401.0
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=13400.0
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #132 on: March 20, 2011, 09:09:18 pm »

Thanks for the replies hata_ph

Quote
BTW, pls post the package problem in the respective VL package board for easy keep-tracking...thanks

Not sure where to do that these days as the usual package news and updates section is not being updated. If there's somewhere special for VL7 packages I'll be happy to post there.

Cheers

Sorry, I won't be able to post everything that was done (there was just too many to catch up and I didn't have access to post to that thread at the time) but here are the links to ad your comments to lyx and streamtuner.

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=13401.0
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=13400.0

Can't normal forum member post comment on the VL package board?
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #133 on: March 21, 2011, 04:12:25 am »

Quote
Can't normal forum member post comment on the VL package board?
I don't think they can. The VL package board I believe is set to be visible only to those at Packager level or up.  I see where you are going with this and tend to agree it would be far more efficient not to have to re-post each package to make it visible to the community.  I think the rational behind it is that any package posted on the packagers board is not yet available in the repository.  It is not until it is actually available that it get's posted a second time for full visibility.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #134 on: March 21, 2011, 12:34:08 pm »

Quote
htop has a missing dependency, ncurses>=5.7 and lyx has one too, util-linux-ng>=2.18

A number of these dependency issues have been taken care of by a script that uelsk8s wrote.  However, you will have to clear and reupdate your repository in gslapt before you will avoid the error.

To do so, in gslapt go to edit-preferences and click the button to delete "cached package files" then click update in gslapt.  This should take care of the problem if not please report directly to me by pm as many packages at this point do not have a thread.
Thanks;
stretch'
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!