VectorLinux
July 30, 2014, 07:00:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0  (Read 9040 times)
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« on: February 16, 2011, 01:40:24 pm »

i decided to create a new topic on this.

details :

Code:

root:# ifconfig eth0 up
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
vector6:/~
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 05)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)
03:03.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSFi Modem (rev 01)
03:05.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
03:06.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
03:06.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
03:06.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 51)
vector6:/~
root:# ifconfig -a
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

root:# cat resolv.conf  (COPIED FROM SW)
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
vector6://etc
root:# cat resolv.conf.orig (ORIG FILE OF VL6.0)
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface wlan0
search domain.actdsltmp
nameserver 192.168.0.1
nameserver 205.171.3.65


root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
vector6://etc



SLACKWARE:

root@slackerz:~# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:07:95:33:C1:B4
          inet6 addr: fe80::207:95ff:fe33:c1b4/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:95 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6666 (6.5 KiB)  TX bytes:9646 (9.4 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0xc800


root@slackerz:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 05)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)
03:03.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSFi Modem (rev 01)
03:05.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
03:06.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
03:06.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
03:06.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 51)


oot@slackerz:~# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
bsd_comp                9600  0
ipv6                  254496  10
ipt_LOG                10112  3
ppp_synctty            11392  0
ppp_async              13056  1
crc_ccitt               5888  1 ppp_async
ppp_generic            26772  7 bsd_comp,ppp_synctty,ppp_async
slhc                    9856  1 ppp_generic
snd_seq_dummy           6788  0
snd_seq_oss            32896  0
snd_seq_midi_event     10112  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                50640  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         10508  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            42784  0
snd_mixer_oss          18048  1 snd_pcm_oss
xt_tcpudp               7040  6
nf_conntrack_ipv4      17676  0
xt_state                6016  0
nf_conntrack           52616  2 nf_conntrack_ipv4,xt_state
nfnetlink               8856  2 nf_conntrack_ipv4,nf_conntrack
iptable_filter          6400  1
ip_tables              14276  1 iptable_filter
x_tables               15748  4 ipt_LOG,xt_tcpudp,xt_state,ip_tables
pcmcia                 34988  0
pcmcia_core            36500  1 pcmcia
fuse                   42516  4
capability              7304  0
commoncap               9344  1 capability
lp                     13736  0
parport_pc             27812  1
parport                34760  2 lp,parport_pc
pcspkr                  6528  0
psmouse                39048  0
nvidia               4710100  22
serio_raw               9220  0
8139too                25472  0
mii                     8576  1 8139too
snd_intel8x0           32412  5
snd_ac97_codec         98980  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                6016  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                72068  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              22532  3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    47204  17 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               9824  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         11528  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
iTCO_wdt               12964  0
iTCO_vendor_support     7172  1 iTCO_wdt
intel_agp              25116  1
shpchp                 33172  0
agpgart                31432  2 nvidia,intel_agp
ata_generic             9220  0
evdev                  11904  1
root@slackerz:~#                                                                 

root@slackerz:~# cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220


root@slackerz:/etc/rc.d# ls -l rc.in*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9237 2007-07-01 10:04 rc.inet1*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3543 2009-10-04 18:29 rc.inet1.conf
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4477 2006-09-21 10:44 rc.inet2*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root  497 2003-09-12 11:27 rc.inetd*
root@slackerz:/etc/rc.d# cat rc.inet1.conf
# /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf
=============================================================================

# Config information for eth0:
IPADDR[0]=""
NETMASK[0]=""
USE_DHCP[0]="yes"
DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""


1. did i missed something?
2. does the "no output" of lsmod in VL serves as one of the culprit?
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 08:42:56 pm »

Did you use pppoe-setup for your pppoe connection?

If not try that first.

You can also check the connection by using

pppoe-status

If your NIC is not working you can try using the
other module for that card 8139cp. You need to
unload 8139too first by using rmmod then modprobe
8139cp.

Bigpaws
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 10:24:54 pm »

Did you use pppoe-setup for your pppoe connection?

If not try that first.

You can also check the connection by using

pppoe-status

If your NIC is not working you can try using the
other module for that card 8139cp. You need to
unload 8139too first by using rmmod then modprobe
8139cp.

Bigpaws


Hi. actually the first step i did was pppoe-setup. .upon dialling.. it always comes to TIME OUT...  Sad
just wondering why it was not detected.. (but SW does) and just wondering why the command lsmod did not showed any results?  Huh

Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 03:56:14 am »

Is this a new installation? Is all of the rest of
your hardware working? This maybe a bad install.

You can check for lsmod.

whereis lsmod

Bigpaws
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2011, 02:27:20 pm »

Is this a new installation? Is all of the rest of
your hardware working? This maybe a bad install.

You can check for lsmod.

whereis lsmod

Bigpaws



UPDATE:


1. did a clean install
2. same issue happens Sad
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2011, 09:21:44 pm »

Are you using the stock kernel or one you compiled?

Try this as root:

depmod


After that then look at lsmod and see if there is output. If there
is then as root

ifconfig eth0 up

dhcpcd eth0

Then try pppoe-start

If these fail post output of

uname -r

and then

lsmod before and after depmod

Bigpaws
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 09:29:09 pm by bigpaws » Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2011, 02:04:06 am »

Ok. i think it's now more of KERNEL issue.. .

details :  did a  depmod:

root:# depmod
WARNING: Couldn't open directory /lib/modules/2.6.18.5: No such file or directory
FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.18.5/modules.dep.temp for writing: No such file or directory


CHECKED the path :

vector6://lib
root:# cd modules/
vector6://lib/modules

AND all i can see is this directory. . NO 2.6.18

root:# ls
2.6.27.12/

vector6://lib/modules


root:# uname -r
2.6.18.5


vector6://lib/modules
root:#


my disk (/dev/hdc13) is tagged to this boot path :



vector6://boot
root:# ls -l vmlinuz
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 2011-02-20 14:21 vmlinuz -> vmlinuz-2.6.27.12


LILO :

boot = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc13
label = Vector6


just wondering why the 2.6.18 is loaded??

i did not altered any installation process. . .
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2011, 05:48:14 am »

You have the boot path either shared or non existant.

Please describe your disk layout. It more than likely is using a
partition from another installation for the kernel.

Bigpaws
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2011, 01:24:26 pm »

here is the details for my VL 5.8 (having the LILO)

# Partition 4: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc3
label = Vector5.8
append = "4 "
read-only


and VL6.0


# Vector6.0
image = /boot/vmlinuz 
root = /dev/hdc3
label = Vector6.0
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2011, 01:34:52 pm »

lilo is using the same kernel for both installs.

and the same root?? /dev/hdc3


your lilo.conf should look something like
# Partition 3: Linux TUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda5
    label = linux-tui
    append = "2 splash=silent "
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
# Partition 5: Linux
image = /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-vector-sda3
    root = /dev/sda3
    label = vector-sda3
    append = "splash=silent "
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
Notice how those have different kernels, and roots
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2011, 04:09:26 pm »

lilo is using the same kernel for both installs.

and the same root?? /dev/hdc3


your lilo.conf should look something like
# Partition 3: Linux TUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda5
    label = linux-tui
    append = "2 splash=silent "
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
# Partition 5: Linux
image = /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-vector-sda3
    root = /dev/sda3
    label = vector-sda3
    append = "splash=silent "
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
Notice how those have different kernels, and roots


apologies.. it must be typed as

root = /dev/hdc13 


here is my entire LILO :


Quote

# Partition 1 : DOS/Windows
other = /dev/hda1
label = Windows
table = /dev/hda
# Partition 2: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc3
label = linux
append = " "
read-only

# Partition 3: Linux TUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc3
label = linux-tui
append = "2 "
read-only

# Partition 4: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc3
label = Vector5.8
append = "4 "
read-only

# Partition 5: Linux    (NOT BEING USED)
#image = /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-linux-hdc2
#root = /dev/hdc2
#label = ZW4.6.1
#read-only
#initrd = /boot/tamu/initrd-linux-hdc2

# Partition 6: Linux   (NOT BEING USED)
#image = /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-vector-hdc12
#root = /dev/hdc12
#label = Vector6.0
#read-only

# Partition 7 : Linux    (NOT BEING USED)
#other = /dev/hdc5
#label = Slackware

# Partition 8: OpenBSD
other = /dev/hdc1
label = OpenBSD

# Slackware
other = /dev/hdc5
label = Slack12.0

# Zenwalk
other = /dev/hdc2
label = Zenwalk4.6.1

# Vector6.0
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hdc13
label = Vector6.0
root@slackerz:/mnt/vl/etc#




NOTE that. ..  i did not install LILO when i was installing VL6.0 ... i just want to add my VL6.0 in my "existing" LILO (above)
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 04:13:50 pm by icedtea » Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2011, 05:23:17 pm »

you are using the kernel from your 5.8 install on your 6.0 install.
you need to copy the kernel from /dev/hdc13 and add it to your lilo.conf
The easiest way to do this would be to boot into the 5.8 install and run vliloconf from there.
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2011, 06:07:50 pm »

you are using the kernel from your 5.8 install on your 6.0 install.
you need to copy the kernel from /dev/hdc13 and add it to your lilo.conf
The easiest way to do this would be to boot into the 5.8 install and run vliloconf from there.


hi. just want to verify:

1.   i must declare the kernel path of VL6.0 ?  (which is :  2.6.27.12 ) as per the above results.
2.   will login to VL5.8 and run/configure "vliloconf" --haven't used this yet.. but i will give a shot.
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2011, 10:36:34 pm »

lilo need access to the kernel
/boot/vmlinuz refers to the current / not the one that will be there when you boot to /dev/hdc13
vliloconf gets around this by copying the kernel from /dev/hdc13 to /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-vector-hdc13
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2011, 03:34:56 am »

lilo need access to the kernel
/boot/vmlinuz refers to the current / not the one that will be there when you boot to /dev/hdc13
vliloconf gets around this by copying the kernel from /dev/hdc13 to /boot/tamu/vmlinuz-vector-hdc13

ok i think i made it. . .

details :

Quote

root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is up and running on interface ppp0
ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:110.55.45.225  P-t-P:121.97.74.166  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:5582 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5565 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:6152403 (5.8 MiB)  TX bytes:1349531 (1.2 MiB)


# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/hdc13
default = linux
compact
prompt
timeout = 100
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
  reset
bitmap = /boot/bitmap/boot.bmp



# Partition 1: Linux GUI mode    -----------upon choosing  VL6 from LILO.. i think VL6.0 LILO appears having 2 choices.. "linux" and "linux-gui" i think i need to disable the first one.


image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hdc13
    label = linux
    append = " "
    read-only
   
# Partition 2: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hdc13
    label = linux-gui
    append = "4  "
    read-only



lsmod already loaded

kernel:

vector6:/~
root:# uname -r
2.6.27.12


for my 5.8 LILO,

i just did :

# VectorLinux 6
    other = /dev/hdc13
    label =VL6.0
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!