VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0  (Read 10216 times)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2011, 10:37:16 am »

great news
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2011, 01:18:36 pm »

great news

BIG THANKS, uelsk8s

i will now experiment on how to share the internet with my laptop.  i saw this wifi icon in xfce.

i just noticed that the internet in VL6.0 is quite slow compared when i am using slack.

tested this using ffox and opera 11 . . .


weird about opera and ffox is.. after installing the libsoflashplayer.so in their respective dirs, still it prompts that "flash player must be upgraded/downloaded" -------this shows when i try to play vids posted in facebook..

however, i can play videos normally when i tried youtube. tried entering sites with flash enabled logos.. and it's good as well. .. 
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2011, 02:15:48 pm »

UPDATE


1. VL6.0 loading good.

2. BUT since i have run vliloconf, installed LILO in "boot sector", everytime i choose VL6.0 on my MAIN LILO, it still goes to VL6.0's LILO then that's the time i could only boot VL6.0

3. FLASH PLAYER ---installed on the library dirs of Opera and FFOX.. but still it notes "flash player must be upgraded/downloaded" upon playing a video via facebook.. youtube site video loading ok.
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2011, 02:31:55 pm »

I was thinking you would have run vliloconf from 5.8 so it would add your 6.0 install to that lilo menu.
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2011, 04:48:38 pm »

3. FLASH PLAYER ---installed on the library dirs of Opera and FFOX.. but still it notes "flash player must be upgraded/downloaded" upon playing a video via facebook.. youtube site video loading ok.

It's supposed to go into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Opera and Firefox look there. I always make the plugin executable and read/write by owner, group, and others. Anytime I install anything I always run
ldconfig
as root. It's probably not necessary here, but it won't hurt.

Have you run the Flash current version test at Adobe?
 http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

It's odd that it works in YouTube but not Facebook.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2011, 12:56:05 am »

3. FLASH PLAYER ---installed on the library dirs of Opera and FFOX.. but still it notes "flash player must be upgraded/downloaded" upon playing a video via facebook.. youtube site video loading ok.

It's supposed to go into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Opera and Firefox look there. I always make the plugin executable and read/write by owner, group, and others. Anytime I install anything I always run
ldconfig
as root. It's probably not necessary here, but it won't hurt.

Have you run the Flash current version test at Adobe?
 http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

It's odd that it works in YouTube but not Facebook.
--GrannyGeek

yup that's the same dir my libflashplayer.so is located. . .

btw, i think i have messed up my internet. ..

pppoe-setup is good. .  BUT.. .i have reconfigured my inet1 and inetd. . (just did a start / stop via VASM) then all of a sudden NO INTERNET connection anymore..   i tried to DELETE, ADD them again. .but same thing happens. ..

kinda weird :(   both scripts have executable bit   -- i never changed anything when the internet was working..  i just did a simple start/stop. .no alterations on script then internet goes down :(


EDIT.. got the problem. .

the config i did ripped off my resolv.conf. . .

now its good.. i replied using vl6 now :)



the only remaining problem is. . it does not do auto start. . i have already included it on rc.d/rc.4 script..  though it shows connected.. upon boot.. but upon login.. it says :

Quote
root:# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is attached to ppp0, but ppp0 is down
« Last Edit: February 26, 2011, 01:51:14 am by icedtea »
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

furydragon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2011, 01:55:47 am »

Quote
i decided to create a new topic on this.

details :

Code: [Select]
Code:

root:# ifconfig eth0 up
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
vector6:/~

Your system cannot find net card. So configure that.
  • Run vasm as root.
  • Select network -> inet -> set and configure net card for dhcp (select properly card).
  • Start newly configured interface from vasm.
  • Run pppoe-setup as root and configure your internet login, dns address, password and net card number (eth0, eth1 see previous point of instruction).
  • Run pppoe-start, checl status of connection by pppoe-status.
  • If not connect, change other card for configuration and pppoe-setup.
Lucky!

PS. Remember slackware slogan: "Keep it simply".
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2011, 02:16:06 pm »

Quote
i decided to create a new topic on this.

details :

Code: [Select]
Code:

root:# ifconfig eth0 up
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
vector6:/~

Your system cannot find net card. So configure that.
  • Run vasm as root.
  • Select network -> inet -> set and configure net card for dhcp (select properly card).
  • Start newly configured interface from vasm.
  • Run pppoe-setup as root and configure your internet login, dns address, password and net card number (eth0, eth1 see previous point of instruction).
  • Run pppoe-start, checl status of connection by pppoe-status.
  • If not connect, change other card for configuration and pppoe-setup.
Lucky!

PS. Remember slackware slogan: "Keep it simply".


i am done with this..  it's working already.

my problem now is.. it does not automatically start.. (upon boot)

i did this already but to no avail :(

1. added /usr/sbin/pppoe-start in rc.local file. . .. (it connects on start up) BUT it does not upon GUI login..

2. added it on rc4.d dir .. still.. it connects BUT not in GUI login. . .

3. it just connects UPON GUI login when i su to root.. and start the pppoe script..
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

furydragon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2011, 04:04:16 am »

Yes, pppoe scripts require root previlegues. Don't try change it with chmod.
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: PPPOE in VL 6.0 does not connect. . .but it does in Slackware 12.0
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2011, 04:28:22 pm »

Yes, pppoe scripts require root previlegues. Don't try change it with chmod.

but it did work on sw12.0 --(it was included in rc4 directory) and it connects on start up.. just wondering why i does not take effect on vector
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
Pages: 1 [2]