VectorLinux
July 24, 2014, 03:33:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] removing LILO from BOOT SECTOR  (Read 4327 times)
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« on: February 22, 2011, 04:58:51 am »

ok, i am not sure how could i start this one.. but.. i have an existing LILO.. VL 5.8

now i installed VL6.0 AND installed its own LILO in the boot sector.. now everytime i choose this VL6.0 its own LILO still appears.. (instead of starting to boot).. i want to remove it. . .

or can i edit my VL6.0's LILO to disable it?

here is my VL6.0 LILO :

Quote
root:# cat /etc/lilo.conf
# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'
#
# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/hdc13
default = linux
#compact
#prompt
#timeout = 100
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
  reset
bitmap = /boot/bitmap/boot.bmp
# VESA framebuffer console @ bootsplash-high
vga = 791
# Normal VGA console
# vga = normal
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
# vga=791
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
# vga=790
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
# vga=773
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
# vga=788
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
# vga=787
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
# vga=771
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
# vga=785
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
# vga=784
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
# vga=769


# End LILO global section
# Partition 1: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
 #   root = /dev/hdc13
 #   label = linux
 #   append = "splash=silent "
 #   read-only
 #   initrd = /boot/initrd
# Partition 2: Linux GUI mode
image = /boot/vmlinuz
#    root = /dev/hdc13
#    label = linux-gui
#    append = "4 splash=silent "
#    read-only
#    initrd = /boot/initrd
vector6:/~
root:#



« Last Edit: February 26, 2011, 04:58:58 pm by icedtea » Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 11:21:03 am »

VL 5.8  loader image is being dis[played ?
Where is the VL 5.8 boot directory located:

Do you still have/want to use  VL 5.8

If so, steps to correct:

Chain link newer VL 6 lilo to point to the version/s desired
Note that  the name of compressed kernel "vmlinuz" is  optional
All you really care is,  whatever chosen  readily shows which is what)
And most importantly *where*

To boot VL 6. , lilo boot-loader needs the full path & name of VL6  boot image


Re-run command lilo 

IIRC,  VL  has a utility (vasm?) to do all above

HTH -best luck
Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 02:10:16 pm »

VL5.8 is my Main LILO.. i still want to use it.. (as of now)

it carries my other boxes, slackware,zenwalk. and just recently, VL6.0

in my VL5.8,

VL6.0 is added as :

# VectorLinux 6
    other = /dev/hdc13
    label =VL6.0

my problem is.. this VL6.0 own LILO was installed in the boot sector.. so everytime i choose VL6.0 in my MAIN LILO, it will still prompt another boot loader..
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2011, 02:34:33 pm »

you have a couple options from here
1) run vliloconf from the 5.8 install and have IT add your 6.0 install.

2) change the timout in the 6.0 lilo.conf to 0 so it does not display anything and boots quickly

Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2011, 02:42:05 pm »

you have a couple options from here
1) run vliloconf from the 5.8 install and have IT add your 6.0 install.

2) change the timout in the 6.0 lilo.conf to 0 so it does not display anything and boots quickly




i will try option 1 .. 

will this do for option 2 ?


# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/hdc13
default = linux
#compact
#prompt
#timeout = 100
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
  reset
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 03:50:08 pm »

WHICHEVER loader is used (*or* chain load)  set the default O/system

IF chain loading (some O/systems do not have multi-boot capabilities) Edit others to  only boot themselves

When multi-system booting, any loader only need find appropriate kernel image   

Allow sufficient timeout (tab/Esc will stop countdown) to use options
Changing only VL 6 loader timeout does not *eliminate* current events   

Nowdays most live or install CD's allow booting into any present O/system
 
IF your Mbr ever becomes corrupted, we can supply commands to wipe,
then Cfg *any* loader, (Grub/2 is better for multiples) & install any loader   
 
Caveats:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_GRUB
("Unlike LILO, there is no need to reinstall GRUB to the MBR or a partition after changes to the configuration file.")

While lilo can do most everything desired, Grub/Grub2 has become the de-facto standard

It is easier to repair, is more user friendly/adaptable  for  multiple O/systems
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 05:40:11 pm by rm-r » Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2011, 04:08:50 am »

here is my entire VL 6.0 LILO

Quote

root:# cat /etc/lilo.conf
# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'
#
# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/hdc13
default = linux
#compact
prompt
#timeout = 100
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
  reset
bitmap = /boot/bitmap/boot.bmp
# VESA framebuffer console @ bootsplash-high
vga = 791
# Normal VGA console
# vga = normal
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
# vga=791
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
# vga=790
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
# vga=773
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
# vga=788
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
# vga=787
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
# vga=771
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
# vga=785
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
# vga=784
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
# vga=769


# End LILO global section
# Partition 1: Linux GUI mode
#image = /boot/vmlinuz
 #   root = /dev/hdc13
 #   label = linux
 #   append = "splash=silent "
 #   read-only
 #   initrd = /boot/initrd
# Partition 2: Linux GUI mode
#image = /boot/vmlinuz
#    root = /dev/hdc13
#    label = linux-gui
#    append = "4 splash=silent "
#    read-only
#    initrd = /boot/initrd
vector6:/~
root:#





and STILL.. it drops down to its OWN LILO after i chose VL6.0 in my "EXISTING LILO"
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2011, 07:35:06 am »

A few posts ago I posted the solutions:
you have a couple options from here
1) run vliloconf from the 5.8 install and have IT add your 6.0 install.

2) change the timout in the 6.0 lilo.conf to 0 so it does not display anything and boots quickly


#1 is still IMO the better way.

#2 should look like this
timeout = 0

Logged
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2011, 09:59:53 am »

Icedtea:

Since the 5,8 version worked I  agree  w/Uelsk8s

You can cleanup that configuration file for ease of reading by deleting commented lines

Where did the last lines
(vector6:/~
root:# 

come from
Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2011, 10:52:35 am »

Icedtea

Re-examining-  it appears you did use 5.8  to chain vl6
When running lilo - see file created by using

#/sbin/lilo -t  -q  -v >  lilotest

http://linux.die.net/man/8/lilo

EDIT: sorry forgot to mention - your first request was only how to remove the installed lilo(boot loader)   from VL6
when you folowed VL install procedures to install it

(You chose to install that into VL6 sector -rather than  the Mbr (not wishing to  overwrite 5.8 version)
 
Please see lilo - u - v  /dev/sdc13
Above command  is presuming VL6 uses newer device naming convention -("S" d~ )    otherwise use  /dev/hdc13

HTH
« Last Edit: February 24, 2011, 01:15:40 pm by rm-r » Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2011, 01:39:15 pm »

Quote

Where did the last lines
(vector6:/~
root:# 

come from

it is after giving the cat file. (it gets back to my root prompt)


Quote

EDIT: sorry forgot to mention - your first request was only how to remove the installed lilo(boot loader)   from VL6
when you folowed VL install procedures to install it

(You chose to install that into VL6 sector -rather than  the Mbr (not wishing to  overwrite 5.8 version)



correct.


Ok, if i will run vlilconf from 5.8, i will re-install LILO in the MBR .. right? (since this is my main loader)

just want to verify, it will detect 2 disks, /dev/hda --win  and /dev/hdc --linux disk

i must install the loader in my first primary drive which is /dev/hda .. right?
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2011, 04:19:11 pm »

Yes , we are on same page now
(By your description - you now cannot boot VL6 ?)

If so, using 5.8 run #fdisk -l
See if it picks up all devices
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Background:
The original 5.8 @ install detected other O/systems
VL 6 should have ( E.G. Why are there no other O/systems listed in VL6 lilo file ?)

@ Install's (create loader step) Vector should have notified what the probe found,
offered to add other O/systems to lilo
 
Did you run the (lilo *test*)  w/any Linux version to confirm options
Was either VL version a live cd or just an ISO to install
 
If not detected properly, (since an install probes all devices~ ) 
If probes are faulty, *Any Linux* version can be edited to include as desired then installed wherever wanted
 
Option - can supply data to build  your own lilo boot-floppy, which does not touch the Mbr

IMO - grub is the best choice for multiple boot users
Suggetion ~ take time out, download such as:

  http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page

With that a user is never shut out of access, can repair most anything
(INCLUDING Windows)

HTH

Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2011, 04:40:09 pm »

actually.. i can boot VL6.0 and was able to connect to the internet.. .no problem.

my concern is..  just. "everytime i choose VL6.0 FROM my 5.8 LILO.. it still goes to VL6.0's OWN LILO"

all i want is to "remove VL6.0's LILO.. so if i choose VL6.0 from 5.8, then it will boot at once..


example :

VL5.8 LILO
           -->Selected VL6.0
                     --> will still direct to VL6.0's LILO (instead of booting directly) --because when i ran vliloconf, i install VL6.0 lilo in the boot sector
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
rm-r
DoucheBag
Vectorite
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2011, 05:40:25 pm »

What is happening:

VL5.8 does NOT boot VL 6 ~instead you are presented w/ VL6 boot- loader
From *there*  VL6 boots

You do not *need*  a boot -loader on  VL 6

Why  no *test run* to confirm ?

Reiterated - EITHER version can be configured to create a /etc/lilo.conf file
The installer offered options  after which, if lilo.conf is not current to later installs, device modifications;
The sys-admin (root user) must manually edit events

Then running /sbin/lilo install it ---via parsing that  configuration file content
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do NOT be afraid to play around w/system ~ unlike Windows, *anything* is repairable

Relying on a distribution variant's peculiarities  as a "quickest " solution_ Is a personal decision
As such,  we all make choices THAT is OUR RIGHT
Under FOSS, when that works, great - but - what has  then been learned ?

It is often stated Linux "should-be" a  glitch-free out_of_the_box experience
Is Mac/Windows -  none are perfect
Developers are hard pressed to meet *demands* and only human
We all make mistakes - experienced or new-user
Only non-configurable embedded versions (if/when they meet needs) come closest

Wasted time - when is learning anything new not worthy of it
 



Logged

"Problems are seldom resolved by thinking in the same manner they were created"

"What is viewed is not important - That which is seen is"
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 519


move the needle


« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2011, 05:42:38 pm »

Please post lilo.conf from 5.8 (if much too long, "relevant sections"), and the output from "lilo -V -v" from 6 and 5.8.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!