VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware  (Read 3337 times)

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware
« on: December 28, 2006, 01:55:17 am »

VectorLinux uses ALSA for its sound controller system. The mosts recent versions of ALSA create a ~/.asouudrc file in the user's home directory.
If you get an error when using Skype, saying that there is a problem with your audio hardware, then open Tools --> Options --> Audio devices
Make sure that ALSA is selected as the master device, not OSS.
Then in a terminal (as a regular user), type:

Code: [Select]
mv ~/.asoundrc ~/.asoundrc.BAK
That will force Skype to use the main sound controls, and you should be able to make your calls  ;)
« Last Edit: December 28, 2006, 12:46:20 pm by easuter »
Logged

stoichyu

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
Re: HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2006, 05:02:10 am »

It works that easily? I should have tried that out before. It took me a while to get it working(http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=859.0). Is the alsa dmix problem fixed already? Or is it just with my computer?
Logged
There's no place like ~.
VL 5.8 PentiumD 2.8Ghz Registered Linux User #432836

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2006, 06:10:02 am »

Quote
Is the alsa dmix problem fixed already? Or is it just with my computer?

Yeah, I think so. I found various mailing lists refering to this kind of problem, and the easiest one mentioned was to simply move ~/.asoundrc.
It works for me  :)
Logged

tab0reqq

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2007, 08:33:48 am »

Hi. Its my first post.

What i did to make Skype work with my hardware. First of all i downloaded RPM package for SUSE not Source.
then
Code: [Select]
rpm2tgz rpm-skype-package-for-suse.rpm
su
installpkg rpm-skype-package-for-suse.tgz
after all i had all 100% working. Before (with source package) i couldn't get it work :)

p.s. Sorry for my english :)
Logged
Software: VL 5.8 Gold | Kernel 2.6.19.2 | X.org 6.9 | Xfce 4.4

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: HowTo: Get Skype to recognize your audio hardware
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2007, 09:55:14 am »

Hi. Its my first post.

What i did to make Skype work with my hardware. First of all i downloaded RPM package for SUSE not Source.
then
Code: [Select]
rpm2tgz rpm-skype-package-for-suse.rpm
su
installpkg rpm-skype-package-for-suse.tgz
after all i had all 100% working. Before (with source package) i couldn't get it work :)

p.s. Sorry for my english :)

Thanks for sharing that info. :)
However, the tarball provided by skype is binary only, and that way you can place the components in the right place.

SuSE RPMs might not install everything to the correct locations....well in this case it looks like it did ;)
Logged