VectorLinux
September 22, 2014, 11:57:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 7 Beta2 bugs and observations  (Read 37398 times)
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #60 on: April 04, 2011, 06:51:34 pm »

VLC - won't install, missing mesa>=7.10_84b6857e
Audacity - installs but won't run "Error while opening shared library libwx_gtk2u_richtext... "

I have the same problem with Audacity (VL7 beta2). VLC is running but I haven't used it enough to know if it's running well.
--GrannyGeek

Problem was wxGTK, if I could get you and Andy to retest after going to GSlapt and clearing the cache in "Edit"->"preferences
Thanks;
Stretched.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #61 on: April 04, 2011, 10:47:24 pm »

Running VL7B2.1 and notice there is no /etc/bashrc and it also encounter the same problem as mention in B1.

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=12938.msg81018#msg81018
Logged
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #62 on: April 05, 2011, 04:16:58 am »

Quote

Problem was wxGTK, if I could get you and Andy to retest after going to GSlapt and clearing the cache in "Edit"->"preferences
Thanks;
Stretched.


Not sure exactly how you wanted us to test. I cleared the cache then reinstalled Audacity, but it still gave the libwx error. Then I tried to reinstall wxGTK but got an error "Failed to download wxGTK:HTTP response code said error" so I'm not sure what to try next.
Andy
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #63 on: April 05, 2011, 06:21:08 am »

Quote
Failed to download wxGTK:HTTP response code said error" so I'm not sure what to try next.
Andy
Sorry I didn't give full instruction. Tongue
This error would indicate that a cleared cache but may not have updated gslapt afterwards.

I've replaced wxGTK with a rebuilt one in the repositories.  So to properly test, please...
Uninstall, audacity and wxGTK
After clearing the cache, update gslapt.
Reinstall audacity.

I've done the same here with success.  Just want to confirm.
Thanks.

Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #64 on: April 05, 2011, 06:24:32 am »

audacity works here after update

i do get this error on the command line though
Code:
Expression 'stream->capture.pcm' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 3653
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #65 on: April 05, 2011, 02:24:22 pm »

I uninstalled audacity and wxGTK and cleared the cache, then reinstalled. Audacity is now working. I do get Uel's command line error message but I haven't noticed any problem with running the program.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #66 on: April 05, 2011, 02:58:51 pm »

I uninstalled audacity and wxGTK and cleared the cache, then reinstalled. Audacity is now working. I do get Uel's command line error message but I haven't noticed any problem with running the program.
--GrannyGeek
Nice. Thanks all.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #67 on: April 05, 2011, 11:58:26 pm »

audacious opened from command line. Only warning:

** WARNING **
Audacious has detected that your ALSA device has a broken timer.  A workaround
is being used to prevent CPU overload.  Please report this problem to your
Linux distributor or to the ALSA developers.

That is when playing an URL. After some playing:

ALSA lib pcm.c:7316:(snd_pcm_recover) underrun occurred
ALSA lib pcm.c:7316:(snd_pcm_recover) underrun occurred
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #68 on: April 06, 2011, 12:59:10 am »

RC 2.1 been running quite well here so far. Few things I miss though ,  would really like to have the file compression and uncompress option in the right click menu again.  Also would like a better tool for compressing and uncompressing files. Never really cared for XArchiver. But that's just personal preference. 

Did have a problem with the Xsetup the Auto setup simply did not do for my setup here had to do it manually.  the auto setup would cause the screen to blank about ever 1minute or so. Could be because of my legacy Nvidia card.  I also have notice this on several other Distros newer releases.  wondering if it may have something to do with Nivida's newer drivers.  I was able to fix it but a newbie coming to it the first time would not be able to figure that one out. 

keep up the good work. Looking forward to the finished product.  Oh I also really like the new look.

cheers
dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #69 on: April 07, 2011, 06:39:05 pm »

VL7-Beta-2.1

Abiword cannot render a .doc file with tables unlike in VL6.

Example:
No.ItemDescriptionPriceVintageType1)AW 19Jinmai  Ancient$33.90
/ 357g2008Raw2)AW 20Manjin  Ancient$32.80 / 357g2008Raw3)AW
91Jinmai  Brick$5.80 / 250g2008Raw4)AW 92Manjin  Brick$5.80 /
250g2008Raw5)AW 15Lanhua$25.80 / 357g2008RawLanhua$25.80 /
357g2007Raw6)AW 16Meihua$23.50 / 357g2007Raw7)AW 17Mijin
$12.50 / 357g2007Raw8)AW 18Mijin Tuocha$3.50 / 100g2007Raw9)
AW11Red Lable$16.50 / 357g2006 Raw10)AW 12Blue Lable$28.40 /

Those are supposed to be 6 columns and numerous lines.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 05:21:21 pm by Pita » Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #70 on: April 08, 2011, 10:12:55 pm »

On booting, "Setting up modules" takes every time 25 seconds. Is this normal for VL7?

Login with init 4 does not show asking for the password after asking for the login name
just showing the white window to enter password.

Skype-2.2.0.25 working.
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #71 on: April 12, 2011, 02:47:29 pm »

VL7-Beta-2.1

Abiword cannot render a .doc file with tables unlike in VL6.

Example:
No.ItemDescriptionPriceVintageType1)AW 19Jinmai  Ancient$33.90
/ 357g2008Raw2)AW 20Manjin  Ancient$32.80 / 357g2008Raw3)AW
91Jinmai  Brick$5.80 / 250g2008Raw4)AW 92Manjin  Brick$5.80 /
250g2008Raw5)AW 15Lanhua$25.80 / 357g2008RawLanhua$25.80 /
357g2007Raw6)AW 16Meihua$23.50 / 357g2007Raw7)AW 17Mijin
$12.50 / 357g2007Raw8)AW 18Mijin Tuocha$3.50 / 100g2007Raw9)
AW11Red Lable$16.50 / 357g2006 Raw10)AW 12Blue Lable$28.40 /

Those are supposed to be 6 columns and numerous lines.

Libreoffice does open a .doc file with tables correctly. Cheesy
« Last Edit: April 12, 2011, 10:02:26 pm by Pita » Logged
monfen
Member
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #72 on: April 13, 2011, 11:15:00 am »

VL7-Beta-2.1

Every time I restart the PC I get two instances of CairoDock running. When CairoDock is disabled in startup applications after restart it's ok, only one CairoDock appears.

The Sources in the gslapt package manager for http://na.mirror.garr.it/mirrors/vectorlinux/veclinux-7.0/ are not correct.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 11:17:05 am by monfen » Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #73 on: April 13, 2011, 12:13:31 pm »

Quote
The Sources in the gslapt package manager for http://na.mirror.garr.it/mirrors/vectorlinux/veclinux-7.0/ are not correct.

How so?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #74 on: April 13, 2011, 12:24:16 pm »

I installed beta 2.1 on the system where I had previously installed beta2, which had problems getting 1280x1024 screen resolution until I installed the proprietary NVidia driver. I had more oddities on that system so I decided to install beta 2.1 to see if they were fixed.

I'm happy to say that most of the problems vanished with beta 2.1. I switched monitors with my other desktop and now have a 20" 1600x1200 lcd on this system. I used the AUTO (no xorg.conf) option at initial setup and it installed the nouveau driver, which correctly displayed 1600x1200 automatically. All other hardware was correctly identified. Nevertheless, I decided to install the proprietary NVidia driver because I get glxgears scores that are six times higher than those with the xorg driver--not that I do anything where that would make a difference.<g>

I haven't installed printers yet--that's my next task. I run a few Windows programs under Wine. I couldn't install wine through Gslapt, as it isn't where Gslapt says it is. I did find it at http://ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-7.0/testing/ap/ , downloaded the package, and installed it with installpkg. It seems to be working fine--is there some reason the wine package is not where Gslapt thinks it is?

The scanner part of my Canon MP160 doesn't work right. It previews the scan but can't complete the actual scan. I researched the problem on the Web and it's widespread but nobody had a working solution. I'm about to install the proprietary Canon software for the scanner and hope I'll have better luck with that.

For me, beta 2.1 was a big improvement over beta 2. There are still quite a few error messages when starting various programs from a command line, but they don't seem to impact performance.

Opera has a new version (11.10), which I installed and am using without problems. The Flash version in beta 2.1 is not current. I installed the latest flash and it has worked so far in Opera, Firefox, and SeaMonkey. The SeaMonkey version has had two updates. I hope we can get the latest version in the next VL7 release.

I'm very happy with VL7 and am really looking forward to the final release, which I hope isn't too far away.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!