VectorLinux
April 18, 2014, 02:51:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox4 (solved)  (Read 3281 times)
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« on: March 24, 2011, 08:04:26 pm »

Firefox 4 is out.  I downloaded it and it seems to work fine.  But I have to navigate to the directory where I downloaded (and expanded) it and click on the firefox icon in that directory.  If I use the little blue marble at the bottom of the page, as I am used to doing, I get an older version of firefox. 

Actually, in reviewing this, I asked the wrong question.  I have the little blue marble going to /src/seamonkey and that works fine.  And I know how to change it.  What I am doing with firefox is going to the command line at Alt-F2 and that brings up the older firefox. 

Now, even when I migrate to where I expanded firefox 4, I still get the older version.  However, I swear the first time I did it I got firefox 4

John
« Last Edit: March 25, 2011, 09:21:57 am by sledgehammer » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 08:21:32 pm »

In reading the firefox support, it suggests that, due to library situations, I wait until the new version is loaded in the repositories.  So that is what I plan to do. 

Nonetheless, if there is an easy way to put firefox 4 on my VL 6 standard system before it hits the repositories, I would like to try it. 
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1285


« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2011, 11:26:59 pm »

I am using it. Try to remember my post how to install firefox when not yet in the repository.
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 09:21:40 am »

Thanks Pita,

I followed your instructions except that I just overwrote the existing firefox in /usr/lib with the new version.  It works fine.

Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2011, 01:13:12 pm »

I am using it. Try to remember my post how to install firefox when not yet in the repository.

Could you give a link to your post on installing Firefox? Thanks!
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2011, 02:10:38 pm »

Grannygeek,

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=12600.0

I found it by searching  "pita firefox".

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2011, 04:54:47 pm »

Thanks. Now I have to decide whether to wait for a VL package or do it that way. Same for SeaMonkey.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!