VectorLinux
April 18, 2014, 02:40:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VBURN and writing speed  (Read 809 times)
Alb
Member
*
Posts: 74


« on: April 27, 2011, 11:08:38 am »

Hello,
Can you let me know if there is a way to set the writing speed using Vburn?
Best Regards
Logged
roarde
Vectorite
***
Posts: 488


move the needle


« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 11:40:20 am »

Your first run of vburn should have created the file .cdrdao in your home directory.
                                                                  (^mind the dot)
add the following line:
Code:
write_speed: "8"

This will set cdrdao to write at speed 8 (for example) so whether vburn calls cdrdao, something else calls it, or if it's used alone, the setting is the same.
Logged

Robert
VL Light 7.0, icewm/spacefm
Alb
Member
*
Posts: 74


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 12:32:04 pm »

Thanks a lot for your piece of advice !  Smiley
Logged
Alb
Member
*
Posts: 74


« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2011, 11:31:31 am »

Hello,
I followed your advice and now the content of .cdrdao is:
write_device: "ATA:1,0,0"
write_speed: "12"
but in spite of that, the writing speed is 40x (maximum).
I think all that could be due to the Writer options (or properties?) that are: JustLink (protection against buffer underrun) and JustSpeed (how to disable JustSpeed, if necessary?). Maybe such options pass over the write speed set in .cdrdao.
What do you think about that?
Logged
roarde
Vectorite
***
Posts: 488


move the needle


« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2011, 08:54:52 pm »

My fault, possibly. Try removing the quotes around 12 to get

write_speed: 12

Remember that if configuration is run again, your .cdrdao will be overwritten and you'll have to go back and edit again.

Where are you finding properties/options like JustLink and JustSpeed?
Logged

Robert
VL Light 7.0, icewm/spacefm
Alb
Member
*
Posts: 74


« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2011, 04:32:51 am »

Just immediately before burning the cd, cdrdao shows a certain number of lines explaining what it is doing in that moment. There is one or two of them saying that justspeed and justspeed are activated.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3939



« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2011, 04:35:07 am »

Don't know why the speed setting does not work.. possible work-around for a simple operation like burning an image:
tburn /path/to/image.file -12
Logged
Alb
Member
*
Posts: 74


« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2011, 12:51:00 pm »

At last I decided to install k3b. I just copied a cd and it worked well. But its installation gave a long list of warning and notes that I attach.
Best Regards
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!