VectorLinux
November 25, 2014, 10:07:26 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 7.0 RC-1 bug reports  (Read 32147 times)
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2011, 07:12:30 pm »

Made  a CD installation onto the same disk partition which somehow got
messed up when trying to install with vinstall. Installation took at least one hour.

I choose fluxbox as my first desktop and it opened. Then I choose the systems
choice which I assumed would be xfce4, however, ended in a fail safe. Then
I found that xfce4 had not been installed. Huh

Tried awesome and it opened, yet the menu ist just xterm. Quite awesome I must say. Wink

Internet was connected and alsamixer working. Will try more tomorrow.

It is a bad burn. xap and xfce4 files are corrupted. md5sum of iso file OK.
Try and try again. Smiley
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2011, 10:57:13 pm »

Made  a CD installation onto the same disk partition which somehow got
messed up when trying to install with vinstall. Installation took at least one hour.

I choose fluxbox as my first desktop and it opened. Then I choose the systems
choice which I assumed would be xfce4, however, ended in a fail safe. Then
I found that xfce4 had not been installed. Huh

Tried awesome and it opened, yet the menu ist just xterm. Quite awesome I must say. Wink

Internet was connected and alsamixer working. Will try more tomorrow.

It is a bad burn. xap and xfce4 files are corrupted. md5sum of iso file OK.
Try and try again. Smiley

I seem to be unable to burn a CD properly with HP-2133. The same files about 25 of xap and xfce4
are always corrupted.

What I did now I mounted the iso file and "upgradepkg -i" installed those files correctly. I am sending
this out from VL7-RC1.

Should the installer not give a warning that files are corrupted and abort? I watched it saying installing those
files like xfce4-* yet they were not installed.
Logged
gnomic
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 02:46:00 am »

Posting quickly as I'll be away for a couple of days. Live session on the BETA1. On startup when the desktop comes up I get a message about dbus and wicd having some kind of problem getting together. As vector I can't get wicd to run at all, after brief attempts. Logged out and back in as root - still get the error message but wicd will run and allow a wireless connection after being told the interface is eth1. Afraid I didn't record the exact text. Hmmm, will just have quick look for a wicd log. Nope, can't see anything relevant there right now. This is a ThinkPad z60m with i915 integrated graphics and Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2915ABG [Calexico2] wifi. So there may be some glitch around wifi connections and wicd. User permissions?

It would be nice if wicd could autoconfigure, ie pick up the wired and wireless interfaces and write them into its config as seen in prefs pane. wicd log presently shows lots of hunting about for an interface, wired eth0 not present or configured I think it was repeatedly. Believe I have seen this auto config done elsewhere.

Just by the by, in syslog there is quite a bit of the following.

'May 10 08:46:40 vector gdmgreeter[3551]: GLib-CRITICAL: g_key_file_get_boolean: assertion `key_file != NULL' failed
May 10 08:46:40 vector gdmgreeter[3551]: GLib-CRITICAL: g_key_file_get_string: assertion `key_file != NULL' failed
May 10 08:46:40 vector gdmgreeter[3551]: GLib-CRITICAL: g_key_file_get_string: assertion `key_file != NULL' failed
May 10 08:46:40 vector gdmgreeter[3551]: GLib-CRITICAL: g_key_file_get_locale_string: assertion `key_file != NULL' failed
May 10 08:46:40 vector last message repeated 5 times'
Several episodes of this interspersed with other events.

Also, in dmesg I see this as last entry so far:

[ 1191.969609] xfce4-notifyd[4022]: segfault at 0 ip 0804db67 sp bfb5ebd0 error 4 in xfce4-notifyd[8048000+a000]

Hope this helps. Will have another look after a few days.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2011, 12:13:36 pm »

When I try to start Inkscape on either of the two desktop computers, I get this:
inkscape: error while loading shared libraries: libpoppler.so.12: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I copied the library and symlink from my VL7 b2.1 partition and things are now working.

Do I remember correctly that we can expect K3B in the final release of VL7 Standard? I hope we can have a package *now* as I really miss K3B. I don't want any more of KDE than I need for K3B.

I've installed lots of packages and a few third-party programs and so far things are doing well on RC1.
--GrannyGeek
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 12:15:07 pm by GrannyGeek » Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
InTheWoods
Vectorite
***
Posts: 302


« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2011, 12:50:25 pm »

As per Pita's quote I too am unable to install from an iso file.
Quote
Tried to install with vinstall-iso-ng, however, the system froze after initial
install start.

Where does one find vinstall-iso-ng? I have been using vinstall-iso successfully up untill now. VL7 RC1 will not install with vinstall-iso and the VL& RC1 iso.

I get the following message
Code:
Preparing initrd...
gzip: loop/isolinux/initrdimg: No such file or directory
ERROR: cannot decompress initrd. from ISO-file
Logged
Joncho
Member
*
Posts: 45


« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2011, 01:20:42 pm »

Hello people,

I installed VL7.0 RC-1 on a Virtualbox again last night and i got the same problem with my user accounts, this is how i did the installation:

- Booted the Installation CD.

- Hit enter to start GUI installer.

- Selected 1024x768 resolution.

- Localization Settings configured this way: Language=Spanish, Keyboard Layout=spain, Keyboard Mode=Generic 105-key (intl) PC.

- Used only one 10Gb partition that was previously on the hard drive.

- Formated it as an ext4 file system.

- Selected Full Installation.

- After installations just selected default grub configuration and clicked "next" button.

- Regional Settings: Localtime, "America/Tegucigalpa".

- When installer asked for root password i introduced some 8 characters word and clicked "next" button.

- Next i created a user named "josue" with the default values and setted a password for it.

- Didn't change anything about Network configuration nor startup services.

- Rebooted.

- Finished xorg configuration with VXCONF.

After that i still have a root user and a standard user account both with blank password and it seems i cannot change that through vasm neither.

I made a lot of screenshots if you think you need any of them.

Thank you people Smiley
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 01:32:03 pm by Joncho » Logged
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2011, 11:04:40 pm »

Quote
After that i still have a root user and a standard user account both with blank password and it seems i cannot change that through vasm neither.
I think our spanish translation in the installer maybe the problem................if you could try another install in english see if that goes right...........appreciate it

Thanks,
Vec
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2011, 11:13:40 pm »

just test rc1...found out the VL7 testing repo is not listed in slapt-get/gslapt...
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2011, 11:57:03 pm »

Abiword does not render correctly a .doc file with tables. Sad
The texts in tables become continues lines.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #24 on: May 11, 2011, 09:58:04 am »

As per Pita's quote I too am unable to install from an iso file.
Quote
Tried to install with vinstall-iso-ng, however, the system froze after initial
install start.

Where does one find vinstall-iso-ng? I have been using vinstall-iso successfully up untill now. VL7 RC1 will not install with vinstall-iso and the VL& RC1 iso.

I get the following message
Code:
Preparing initrd...
gzip: loop/isolinux/initrdimg: No such file or directory
ERROR: cannot decompress initrd. from ISO-file

vinstall-iso-ng is in the install folder on the ISO
I will get it to a folder in the repo ASAP


Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #25 on: May 11, 2011, 10:00:04 am »

Abiword does not render correctly a .doc file with tables. Sad
The texts in tables become continues lines.

Pita,
can you email me a file that does this?
I don't have any and i would like to see if i can fix this.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
Joncho
Member
*
Posts: 45


« Reply #26 on: May 11, 2011, 10:37:28 am »

I think our spanish translation in the installer maybe the problem................if you could try another install in english see if that goes right...........appreciate it

Thanks Vec, you were right, after i installed it in english the everything went right.
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #27 on: May 11, 2011, 04:52:43 pm »

Abiword does not render correctly a .doc file with tables. Sad
The texts in tables become continues lines.

Pita,
can you email me a file that does this?
I don't have any and i would like to see if i can fix this.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s

Just sent to your e-mail address.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #28 on: May 11, 2011, 06:32:38 pm »

I think our spanish translation in the installer maybe the problem................if you could try another install in english see if that goes right...........appreciate it

Thanks Vec, you were right, after i installed it in english the everything went right.


could someone else try to reproduce this? I don't see how a difference in the rendered strings could cause this when the underlying code is exactly the same. As a suggestion maybe try the keyboard layout in the provided test box to make sure all keys work as expected.
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #29 on: May 11, 2011, 10:29:14 pm »

Changed root password with vasm w/o any problem.

Opened all programs in Menu-Graphics w/o any problem.

Audacious, Gnome-Player, Mplayer, VLC-player, xine all playing. Did not try
Exaile since it seems I do not know what to do with this program. Cheesy

Cannot open:
0launch -- http://www.kerofin.demon.co.uk/2005/interfaces/NetStat
Error: Category LC_ALL not supported
I assume that is a locale. No problem with it in VL6.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!