VectorLinux
December 19, 2014, 06:01:40 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector Gold  (Read 115 times)
hargow
Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: December 18, 2014, 03:30:08 am »

Just installed Vector Gold but there is no wired internet connection and can't see the wireless connection.
There is no applet visible on the screen other than the wicd and it says no wireless network available.
Can anyone help.
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 551


move the needle


« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 03:43:21 am »

Tap the connection icon to open wicd. Click the down-arrow that's to the right of "refresh" and choose "Preferences", then the "General Settings" tab.

Open a terminal and issue:  ifconfig

Look at wicd and if "Wireless interface" and "Wired interface" aren't what ifconfig showed, edit wicd's setting. You might also want to check "Always show wired interface".

HTH
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC3.1, icewmvmods
hargow
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 04:51:15 am »

Thank you for your reply.

I've opened wicd general settings and the only thing showing is eth0.  I have checked the show wired interface button.
In terminal when I type in ifconfig I get:

vector:/~
david:$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:08:54:4F:C0:5F 
         UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
         RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
         Interrupt:18 Base address:0xe800

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
         inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
         RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:1920 (1.8 Kb)  TX bytes:1920 (1.8 Kb)

vector:/~
david:$

I am far from a computer expert so I don't really know what I'm looking for.
Can you help?
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 551


move the needle


« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2014, 05:01:08 am »

In wicd -> Preferences -> General Settings, try typing "wlan0" into the "Wireless interface" box and clicking OK.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC3.1, icewmvmods
hargow
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2014, 05:28:02 am »

Hi again,

I managed to get what appeared to be a wired connection but it's neither receiving nor transmitting...

Where to next?

Logged
hargow
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2014, 09:04:51 am »

Hi again, downloaded and burnt another disc on another machine (in case first was corrupted) and did a fresh install but this time ticked the inetd super server box for install. Followed your instructions, no change. Continued to change settings in preferences without success. Finally reverted to default settings and got it to connect on wired. Still no wireless network detected but it will sit  beside the router anyway for now. Am almost afraid to turn machine off. Many thanks for your quick responses and help. If I can get wifi working , will post results.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2014, 10:13:18 am »

Try using command "iwconfig" to identify your wireless adapter.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!