VectorLinux
April 22, 2014, 11:00:20 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector 7  (Read 1804 times)
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« on: June 06, 2011, 05:43:24 pm »

I am about to install vector 7 RC1. Reading up vector like slackware still uses Lilo by default. If that is the case are there are any steps I need to take when installing a dual boot system to make sure that lilo works okay.

I saw a post about changing from lilo to grub http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=1522.0, is the main reason for not changing the if it aint broke don't fix it motto?
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 06:41:04 pm »

You will have no problem getting a grub boot-loader set-up. The installer on VL7.0 will set up your choice of either Grub or Lilo. Grub is actually default. 
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 06:43:30 pm »

I have got an issue mid install. The bootloaders will not configure correctly.

Both grub and lilo reporting error /boot/initrd. I can install lilo with windows only but cannot install vectorlinux into either grub or lilo.

I setup too use a /boot, /, /home and swap space in configuration. Windows is on sda1.
 
Edit going to attempt to reinstall from scratch without the /boot.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 06:47:02 pm by flebber » Logged
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2011, 07:37:35 pm »

All deleted all linux partitions and reinstalled. This time there were no issues and the install went along fine.
Logged
vectornewb
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2011, 01:53:31 pm »

Just a newb opinion,

I went ahead and installed vector light's 6.0 lilo to the VL partition itself so it'd leave my other bootloader alone. If you already have a bootloader managing boot on that comp. Depending on which one, it should either pick up on the new distro installed. Or it can be added manually, in the case of grub legacy ( which I use ) in it's /boot/grub/menu.lst

With grub2, sudo update-grub in terminal should pick up on and add the new VL install to the boot menu and/or running update-grub as root user whichever syntax the distro controlling the bootloader uses. Have no experience with lilo. Would assume if you install it to sda/mbr ... etc. Then it wouldn't have any problems managing all the installed OS's on your box. With or w/o some tinkering being necessary. I just prefer grub legacy ... Found it easy to boot distro's editing the menu.lst, even for one's I skipped installing whatever bootloader comes native with em altogether.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2011, 01:58:09 pm by vectornewb » Logged
francois.e
Member
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2012, 07:48:36 pm »

What is you menu.lst entry for vector 6 or 7?
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 03:33:28 am by francois.e » Logged
francois.e
Member
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2012, 03:36:41 am »

You will have no problem getting a grub boot-loader set-up. The installer on VL7.0 will set up your choice of either Grub or Lilo. Grub is actually default. 

Is grub 0.97 or 2 default for vector 7?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!