VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 08:37:05 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: No menu.lst in Vector 7  (Read 9856 times)
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« on: June 06, 2011, 07:43:23 pm »

I wanted to change the default boot order in grub. The guides I found said to edit the menu.lst in /boot/grub. I am in /boot/grub but don't have menu.lst, is this different in vector 7? If so where do I edit grub?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 07:49:57 pm »

VL7 uses grub2, and it uses grub.cfg
the syntax is a little different, also they reccomend not editing grub.cfg directly.

HTH,
Uelsk8s
Logged
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 08:23:25 pm »

I found grub.cfg but yeah saw the do not edit warning. If we don't edit that file how else do we do it?
Logged
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2011, 10:12:27 pm »

Which part of this do I edit to change the order it boots in?
Code:
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  insmod vbe
  insmod vga
  insmod video_bochs
  insmod video_cirrus
}

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0d7dfe2b-383f-422c-a4a2-f692522a03db
if loadfont /boot/grub/unifont.pf2 ; then
  set gfxmode=1280x1024x16
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_input gfxterm
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0d7dfe2b-383f-422c-a4a2-f692522a03db
set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
set lang=en_US
insmod gettext
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_vectorlinux_theme ###
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0d7dfe2b-383f-422c-a4a2-f692522a03db
insmod jpeg
if background_image /etc/bootsplash/themes/VL-Clipse/images/silent-1280x1024.jpg ; then
  set color_normal=white/black
  set color_highlight=magenta/black
else
  set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
  set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/05_vectorlinux_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry "VectorLinux GNU/Linux, Linux 2.6.38.4" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0d7dfe2b-383f-422c-a4a2-f692522a03db
linux16 /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38.4 root=/dev/sda3 ro splash=silent vga=794 
initrd16 /boot/initrd
}
menuentry "VectorLinux GNU/Linux, Linux 2.6.38.4 (TUI)" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0d7dfe2b-383f-422c-a4a2-f692522a03db
linux16 /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38.4 root=/dev/sda3 ro splash=silent vga=794 2
initrd16 /boot/initrd
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sda1)" --class windows --class os {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 3C8C27188C26CBE8
drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3195



« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2011, 04:46:05 am »

what do you mean "the order it boots in"? I'm confused, that sounds like "boot order"...as in BIOS settings.
Logged

flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2011, 01:45:24 pm »

Nah just which os boots by default. That's why the above grub.cfg just concerned as noted above in file that this file should not be edited. If we don't edit how do we change bootloader preference?
Logged
vectornewb
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2011, 02:10:49 pm »

Elementary dear Watson ... ye google, lol. Wink

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2

While it's buntu specific. General info in it should still apply. Though a search for other grub2 materials on google/whatever. Will turn up a ton of how to's and info about doing anything ya like with grub2. Making it sing and tap dance if you feel like doing the research no doubt.


Also don't see why you couldn't reinstall grub legacy to handle the boot process. If that's become your preference. Don't think using grub2 is mandatory ... more an optional thing. At least wouldn't see why legacy couldn't be used instead. Personally using vector light 6.0, installed lilo to it's own partition during the install and am using grub legacy from another distro to boot it.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2011, 02:18:04 pm by vectornewb » Logged
flebber
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2011, 05:15:11 pm »

Its a good link I didn't review that initally as its ubuntu specific and the post refers to using "start up Manager" or "Grub customizer", I sort of thought it may have been a VASM option I couldn't find.

Nah got no preference to use Grub, the main gist of the ubuntu docs is to edit /etc/default/grub so I will give that a go.
Logged
pierce.jason
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 250



« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2011, 07:14:40 pm »

Grub2 has some neat features.

I really don't like what you have to go through for editing the configuration though.

It is understandable that the grub configs have evolved into such a thing. The idea is to make it easier for distro-tools to automate the addition/removal/modification of boot entries. But as all things go when moving towards "easy automation" it quite obviously makes it more difficult for the home-tinkerer and weekend-hacker to get down and dirty.
Logged

pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)
vectornewb
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2011, 09:29:41 pm »

^ That was my main gripe with grub2. Thinking it must be better ... being called version 2 and etc. lol ... then again, as anyone who's a long time software user knows. Newer or higher version number isn't always necessarily better. Cheesy  For me just gotten to where it's easier to deal with grub legacy. Changing the boot menu order in it is cut/paste. Commenting out stuff ya don't want n editing menu.lst to add things is usually a snap. Should probably breakdown and learn grub2. Since it seems to be the way of the future with so many things linux.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2011, 10:05:56 pm »

change: set default="0"
to the menu entry you want booted first
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3195



« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2011, 04:21:34 am »

The propper way to do it is to edit /etc/default/grub and add the following line
Code:
GRUB_DEFAULT=N
where N is a number (0, 1, 2, etc)
The reason you dont edit grub.cfg is because that file is automatically generated.... so you can edit it all you want, it may be lost on the next upgrade (technically, this couldn't happen in VL, but that's the idea).  With that said the best way to do what you want is in /etc/default/grub.

Needless to say, after updating /etc/default/grub you will need to run
Code:
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
to see the new changes.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2011, 04:25:30 am by M0E-lnx » Logged

vectornewb
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2011, 02:33:36 am »

Long dead thread but why not ?

Nope as people have no doubt already said ( more than once probably ) no menu.lst in grub2. Don't see why you couldn't install grub legacy if you wanted and have it boot VL. I'm bootin VL light now using grub legacy from another distro.
Logged
Kimdino
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2011, 03:13:42 am »

an' I use 'lilo', coz' that's what I'm used to.

You can use almost any boot manager you like, that's the beauty of this system. I'm sure you could probably even use BCD (Vistas boot manager) if you feel masochistic enough.

Logged
pierce.jason
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 250



« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2011, 08:16:55 pm »

Grub legacy can not do ext4. Grub legacy is abandon-ware. Even the grub channel on freenode will not discuss/debug topics related to legacy. Best to just bite the bullet and fight through the new grub.
Logged

pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!