VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 08:21:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: laptop Battery charge indicator  (Read 3663 times)
Mit
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: June 16, 2011, 01:41:11 pm »

I can't find a battery power meter anywhere in my Vector Lite 6 installation. Is there one?

Mit
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2011, 03:58:57 pm »

Vl light runs icewm which is not suited with a panel and widgets. There are ways to get an indicator in there but it takes some work and it is not provided by default or as a preset configuration
Logged

GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2011, 05:44:22 pm »

I have no idea whether this will give you what you want, but in ~/.icewm/preferences there are these lines:
#  Show APM/ACPI/Battery/Power status monitor on task bar
# TaskBarShowAPMStatus=0 # 0/1

Try uncommenting the second line so it says this:
TaskBarShowAPMStatus=1 # 0/1

Let us know if you get a battery monitor. I don't have a battery in my laptop because it's old  and the battery expired long ago, so I removed it and a replacement is too expensive. Otherwise I'd try out the suggestion above and report what happens. I don't know if you need a battery monitor utility installed in order for this to work.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2011, 04:27:26 am »

You can use gkrellm to monitor battery (and lots of other parameters).
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2011, 04:32:56 am »

Another option is a customized conky. The trick is to monitor /proc/acpi/battery or /proc/acpi/power I forget which one now... but I know I did it.
Logged

roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2011, 12:58:06 am »

The edit of ~/.icewm/preferences suggested by GrannyGeek does work (be sure to change "=0" to "=1"). It's uglier than gkrellm, but it is very simple.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2011, 07:56:20 am »

Thanks for letting us know the preferences file edit does work. I've never had occasion to try it.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2011, 03:18:57 pm »

You can use gkrellm to monitor battery (and lots of other parameters).

^^ This...

In my IceWM days, gkrellm stayed on the desktop just about all the time. There's a battery meter plugin for it.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2011, 04:57:18 pm »

In my IceWM days, gkrellm stayed on the desktop just about all the time. There's a battery meter plugin for it.

Excuse my asking, but I've never understood why anyone would need to monitor all that stuff. I can see it if you're trying to troubleshoot a problem and I can see the use of a battery monitor if you're running on battery. But the rest? Just curiosity? Inquiring minds want to know.<g>
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2011, 05:34:04 pm »

You don't need to have it all running. You can turn a lot of the stuff off and use just what you want to use. I had the network monitoring up, email, and the drive monitoring (had an ancient IDE drive that I didn't quite fully trust).
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!