VectorLinux
August 20, 2014, 12:09:47 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Where to put a shell script  (Read 1995 times)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« on: June 19, 2011, 06:20:34 am »

Havng learnt about synclient and its control of the Touchpad on my laptop, and found some commands which tweak the Touchpad satisfactorily, I have put them in a little shell script, so all 3 can be executed with one little command.

It would be even easier if the lines could be appended to a VL shell script that runs anyway on booting, so that setting up of the Touchpad becomes totally automatic, but where would I place the lines?

It's always been a mystery to me which scripts are executed on boot up and in which order.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2011, 06:45:38 pm »

If you want the script to be run at boot time, add your script path to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

PS: It apply to all the linux based OS
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4019



« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2011, 07:33:58 pm »

rc.local is great for commands that are run as root, early in the boot process. Its location varies some.

To run a command as regular user, your WM or DE should have a location for you to put your startup commands.

Icewm uses ~/.icewm/startup
KDE3 uses ~/.kde/Autostart

XFCE users, what method do you use?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2011, 07:48:22 pm »

For XFCE, you can add command in Session and Startup Menu.
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2011, 12:43:23 pm »

For XFCE, you can add command in Session and Startup Menu.

Thanks - and which file would that be found in?
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2011, 04:21:42 pm »

It's on the menu under Settings > Session and Startup. You can add items on the Application Autostart tab via a dialogue box.
Andy
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2011, 05:05:16 pm »

rc.local is great for commands that are run as root, early in the boot process. Its location varies some.

To run a command as regular user, your WM or DE should have a location for you to put your startup commands.

Icewm uses ~/.icewm/startup
KDE3 uses ~/.kde/Autostart

XFCE users, what method do you use?

And please not to forget fluxbox ~/.fluxbox/startup Wink
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2011, 11:35:53 pm »

Under 'Sessions and Startup' I have two tabs, 'General' and 'Advanced'.

Under 'General', there are tick boxes, as follows:

Session chooser
[] Display chooser on login

Logout settings
[] Automatically save session on logout
[tick] Prompt on logout

Under 'Advanced', there are tick boxes, as follows:

Compatibility
[] Launch Gnome services on startup
[] Launch KDE services on startup

Security
[] Manage remote applications

so, there's no 'Application Autostart' tab.

There's an 'Autostarted Applications' entry on the Settings menu, but that's just a list of autostarted applications.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2011, 11:48:51 pm »

Sorry, I upgraded XFCE to 4.6.1 and I guess it's a little different from the version which comes with VL6. But I know there's somewhere to add autostarts in there too!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!