VectorLinux
September 23, 2014, 08:09:19 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6
  Print  
Author Topic: Leaving the vector linux community.  (Read 12732 times)
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #30 on: June 20, 2011, 09:50:31 pm »

Which repo is that in? Looks like all my removing and starting again it was already installed but vl1ver?

Also I gotta fix my gslapt, I enabled a ton of them and thats way too much if they all have the same stuff.

Trying to remove compiz-meta with gslapt and reinstall now...

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #31 on: June 20, 2011, 09:55:57 pm »

tried removing it and then re-install. Log out and back click fusion icon nothing starts. (The icon dosn't appear on the tray)

Trying reboot now.

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #32 on: June 20, 2011, 09:56:57 pm »

How can I tell if the nvidia drivers are installed? I don't recall it installing them during initial install, and I don't get that nvidia logo at bootup as before on vl6...?

Maybe the nvidia propriatary driver is not installed?

Steven
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #33 on: June 20, 2011, 10:01:16 pm »

Perhaps I'll do the same, I just got tried of constant crashes with xfce4 on vl6. Maybe I should have just downgraded the xfce as people suggested and saved myself all this hassle. Steven

I had reinstalled xfce4-4.4.3 since I did not like version 4.6.1.

A while ago I tested VL7-Live-RC-1.7 and what I checked worked. Internet connected
w/o me doing anything, found my printers, skype passed test, Abiword opens
.doc files correctly. As for sound when I booted with th webcam connected to
USB I could not get alsa working, therefore no sound except for skype which 'thinks'
the webcam has sound Huh. Booting with webcam disconnected gave me alsa with
sound. Then connecting webcam and making the necessary changes in skype
all worked. There is a way to go around this as a thread in forum will show. Forgot which one.
 One has to add a line in /etc/modprobe.d/sound

In VL7-Live-RC1.7:
vl:$ alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory
« Last Edit: June 20, 2011, 10:04:07 pm by Pita » Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #34 on: June 20, 2011, 10:03:41 pm »

nvidia drivers will not be installed and you will need them for this to work.
I can show you how, it's pretty easy, but I have to sleep. Tell you what I'll make a video.
You'll have to hold on for another day.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #35 on: June 20, 2011, 10:23:05 pm »

Thanks for your help...

Steven
Logged
pierce.jason
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 250



« Reply #36 on: June 20, 2011, 11:57:31 pm »

Not sure I like the "lets be like ubuntu" moving of the menu bar on top and so on, but this is just stock and easily changeable.

I agree! LEFT-SIDE is where menu bar's should go, and they should only be shown when you mouse over!

However, many people like to see the menu-bar "always", so top is a good compromise.

I realize you said you don't like cairo-dock, but lets assume you did. Would you recommend switching cairo-dock and menu bar with one another? Swapping out top-for-bottom so to speak.
Logged

pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)
vectornewb
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #37 on: June 21, 2011, 12:39:29 am »

It's 3:43 am, should be working on something "productive" instead babbling in a nix forum ... sighs. Cheesy

The toolbar across the top is alien to anyone used to a winblows OS though. Aside from many other things that made me almost instantly despise ubuntu 10.10. The ridiculous panel running across the top definitely didn't help. Plus they reversed the order of the windows controls for close, maximize and minimize for some tarded, unknowable ... buntuish reason.

Is of course just nix newbish opinions and late night babbling. But would think a distro with an eye towards the future would focus more on targeting M$ users and making it easier for them to migrate over. Rather than imitating buntu's layout. Anyone new from M$land will find it quirky and alien. Anyone already familiar with nix would have no prob adding a panel across the top if they want it there anyway.

Thinking would like to see VL focus on something it's got down pat. Making kickbutt, full featured ... yet ultra light OS's that could blaze on something with the ram of a calculator. The devs here definitely have that down to a T. VL lite 6.0 amazes me ... Tons of people in the world with oldish, lowish spec systems who would really enjoy VL lite me thinks.

Seeing what they did with it. ( He ? Not sure how many people work on developing this nix distro.) But seeing what they were able to do with VL lite makes me keen to explore what the fuller weight releases from VL are like too.

Glad the OP might get a happy ending here. Awwwww ... who doesn't like a happy ending ? Does the heart good, it does.

Cheesy

« Last Edit: June 21, 2011, 12:59:46 am by vectornewb » Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #38 on: June 21, 2011, 08:27:43 am »

haywire;
I had a video already. Was just too tired last night to remember.
Here it is...
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/01.Installation/nvidia/nvidia.htm
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #39 on: June 21, 2011, 11:56:46 am »

I'll try to install the nvidia drivers later tonight. I have to figure out what card I have, I think its a nvidia geoforce 6200 but I'm not sure...

Steven
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #40 on: June 21, 2011, 03:19:35 pm »

post the output of...
lspci | grep -i nvidia
as root
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #41 on: June 21, 2011, 05:09:04 pm »

Lspci says nvidia 6200. tried to install 6200 drivers from nvidia from text mode reboot. The system rebooted itself in the middle of the installation. tried again 3 times. May be hard drive problems, I am doing a fresh install with another hard drive and trying again.

This is what I get for building computers with parts from the trash. I suppose I never really know if a drive is good till shit happens. Its cool I got a pile of hard drives here. I'll try a fresh install with another hard drive.

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #42 on: June 21, 2011, 05:47:53 pm »

Fresh install with another hard drive. NVIDIA driver crash during install, system reboots....
Using the 6200 driver...

root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 760/M760 Host (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SG86C202
00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS964 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 36)
00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE] (rev 01)
00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.2 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller
00:04.0 Ethernet controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet (rev 90)
00:05.0 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] RAID bus controller 180 SATA/PATA  [SiS] (rev 01)
00:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 08)
00:09.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! Game Port (rev 08)
00:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller (rev 80)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44A [GeForce 6200] (rev a1)
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #43 on: June 21, 2011, 06:09:40 pm »

Steven are you using the init 3 command as root to get into text mode?   It is not enough to just be in text mode you need to be in a runlevel that is not running X.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #44 on: June 21, 2011, 06:10:42 pm »

will try again right now, I just rebooted in text mode will follow the tutorial to the letter this time...

Steven
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!