VectorLinux
November 28, 2014, 09:36:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VNC over SSH  (Read 4196 times)
PaleFlyer
Member
*
Posts: 1


« on: July 04, 2011, 09:21:55 pm »

I am relativly new to Linux, and so far it has mostly been me playing with it.  But I am running a minecraft server from an older laptop, and am looking for a way to remote manage, I was using teamviewer, but my root password screwed up, so I needed to reinstall, and can't get teamviewer working again. I like vnc for the full interface, but I want the security of SSH. I know it is possible to get vnc over SSH, and I have vnc working. I am going with VL 6 standard gold as host, and an android phone as client.  I also want to be able to access my default desktop (0 I believe) as that is where the surver runs from. I know I could move it to the vnc window, but I still want to be able to use the full laptop experience, and the server is for more than just me. That is why I want the remote access.  Please let me know if more information is needed.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2011, 09:43:25 pm »

I never use it but u can have a look...  Grin

http://www.vanemery.com/Linux/VNC/vnc-over-ssh.html
http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/research/dtg/attarchive/vnc/sshvnc.html
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 04:40:03 am »

To access display 0, use "x11vnc" on your server. It is in the VL6 "extra" repo.

I use this kind of setup daily, both locally and for computers in a remote location. On the LAN, behind a firewall, I don't worry about the SSH tunnel. If you want to access the machine from the Internet, a separate discussion about port forwarding and security is in order.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2011, 05:52:42 am »

Freenx is your friend.  VNC is way too slow, and by default unencrypted.  FreeNX runs inside a SSH tunnel by default, and is quite fast.
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2011, 09:46:52 am »

Freenx is your friend.  VNC is way too slow, and by default unencrypted.  FreeNX runs inside a SSH tunnel by default, and is quite fast.
Not sure if your blog post on the subject is still relevant considering the amount of time since it's posting:
http://m0e-lnx.blogspot.com/2009/05/howto-setup-freenx-server-on-your.html
« Last Edit: July 05, 2011, 01:10:53 pm by newt » Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2011, 12:48:44 pm »

That needs to be revised for VL7.  But i'm not sure we have VL7 packages in the repos for this, although the slack 13.0 and 13.1 builds work fine... I use this to access my server + virtual machines remotely.

Here is a link to the packages
http://connie.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/freenx/pkg/13.0/
Download all the .tgz files and do installpkg on them.
Find or build a netcat package
Find or build an xdialog package

The most common problem after installation is a locked "nx" account.  To diagnose any session problems, run `tail -f /var/log/messages` while trying to connect from a remote host (note: connecting from the local machine will not work).

If you see something saying user nx is not allowed, see here
http://alien.slackbook.org/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=slackware:nx
Logged

bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2011, 12:55:00 pm »

My minecraft server runs as nogui. I use ssh to connect to administer the
server.

Then no need for GUI.

How well is your server performing? I have a 2.4 dual core with 2 gigs of RAM
and it is tight for that. Ram is almost completely used.

Bigpaws
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2011, 01:16:16 pm »

Mine is not a gaming box.  My server has 1 2.5ghz core2quad with 4g ram.  I run at least 2 virtual machines + the host simultaneously almost at all times.  still has a lot of breathing room.

my linux virtual machines run in text mode only.  the nx server still works when the os boots to text mode only.
Logged

nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2011, 02:11:32 pm »

Lots of good info here. Quick return to OP's question:

To establish an SSH tunnel for VNC to your server, use command:
Code:
ssh -L 5900:localhost:5900 IP.OF.VL.BOX
then connect to localhost using vnc:
Code:
vncviewer localhost
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2011, 03:37:07 pm »

definitely. ssh is a powerful thing. ive done that and http traffiy tunneling [proxy]. but for remote desktop, vnc is only good for lan access. from outside your lan, the lag is brutal.  Thats why i use nx
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!