VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Wifi just stoped  (Read 4177 times)

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Wifi just stoped
« on: July 25, 2011, 07:03:43 am »

I don’t remember what 7.0 I'm running but its one of the newer releases.  As of yesterday my internal wifi just shut down and is not comming back.  I'M working with a Toshiba Satellite A665 with a Intel core i3. There is no switch to turn it off but there is a hot key and that does not seem to do anything. I also went into Wicd and manually switched between wlan0 and wlan1 to see if that would do it, but no good.  Any ideas will be great.  I thought I finaly got away from using the usb wifi.


Spunkie://home/mike
root:# lspci
06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6200 (rev 35)
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:5801 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0846:4260 NetGear, Inc. WG111v3 54 Mbps Wireless [realtek RTL8187B]
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan1     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=off  
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm  
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0 is the netgear.  
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 08:03:26 am »

I had one machine where you had to be in the pre-installed OS for the wifi hot key to work (stupid design, in my opinion). Looks like the radio is off though, judging by the "Tx-Power=off" statement.

You could try some command line tests:
Code: [Select]
ifconfig wlan1 down
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwlist wlan0 scanning

If the internal card is causing problems, you may just want to remove it. Should be in a mini-pci slot under a cover, with two wires snapped on to it. After removal, put some electrical tape on those wires to prevent electron re-routing.
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2011, 05:40:56 pm »

But I want the internal card to work again.  It took 4 upgrades to 7.0 to get it to work and now it just turns off.  I haven’t used the netgear usb in 3 months.  Plus when it wasn’t working I thought of changing the card to one that will but its not under a panel.  I looked for instructions on the location of the card but no luck. 

Spunkie://home/mike
root:# ifconfig wlan0 down
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# ifconfig wlan1 up
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# iwlist wlan1 scanning
wlan1     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down

Spunkie://home/mike
root:#
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2321
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2011, 06:02:21 pm »

You could try this software: http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Documentation/rfkill
Find the index of your card with rfkill list, and then rfkill unblock <index>.

HTH
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 06:29:34 pm »

But I want the internal card to work again. 

Sorry, I thought the thing was broken.
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 04:21:38 pm »

Its ok i was hoping it wasnt but i dont think it is.  here is the rfkill list

Spunkie:/~
mike:$ rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: yes
1: phy1: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
Spunkie:/~
mike:$

tried every form of unblock i could find but no go. even tried going into the bios and there is no option for the wifi.  is there a way to disable rfkill?
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: Wifi just stoped
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2011, 04:29:54 pm »

Ok just fixed it.  I ran rfkill event and started pressing buttons and it worked.  FN/F8 does nothing but just because I felt like it I ran my finger across the top strip next to my power button and to my suprise there buttons.  I just thought they were light that didnt work cause I wasn't using windows.  Oh well the simmple things.

Thanks for the help.
Logged