VectorLinux
August 21, 2014, 07:36:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wifi just stoped  (Read 3359 times)
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« on: July 25, 2011, 06:03:43 am »

I don’t remember what 7.0 I'm running but its one of the newer releases.  As of yesterday my internal wifi just shut down and is not comming back.  I'M working with a Toshiba Satellite A665 with a Intel core i3. There is no switch to turn it off but there is a hot key and that does not seem to do anything. I also went into Wicd and manually switched between wlan0 and wlan1 to see if that would do it, but no good.  Any ideas will be great.  I thought I finaly got away from using the usb wifi.


Spunkie://home/mike
root:# lspci
06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6200 (rev 35)
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:5801 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0846:4260 NetGear, Inc. WG111v3 54 Mbps Wireless [realtek RTL8187B]
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan1     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=off  
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm  
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
wlan0 is the netgear.  
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4019



« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 07:03:26 am »

I had one machine where you had to be in the pre-installed OS for the wifi hot key to work (stupid design, in my opinion). Looks like the radio is off though, judging by the "Tx-Power=off" statement.

You could try some command line tests:
Code:
ifconfig wlan1 down
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwlist wlan0 scanning

If the internal card is causing problems, you may just want to remove it. Should be in a mini-pci slot under a cover, with two wires snapped on to it. After removal, put some electrical tape on those wires to prevent electron re-routing.
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2011, 04:40:56 pm »

But I want the internal card to work again.  It took 4 upgrades to 7.0 to get it to work and now it just turns off.  I haven’t used the netgear usb in 3 months.  Plus when it wasn’t working I thought of changing the card to one that will but its not under a panel.  I looked for instructions on the location of the card but no luck. 

Spunkie://home/mike
root:# ifconfig wlan0 down
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# ifconfig wlan1 up
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill
Spunkie://home/mike
root:# iwlist wlan1 scanning
wlan1     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down

Spunkie://home/mike
root:#
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2011, 05:02:21 pm »

You could try this software: http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Documentation/rfkill
Find the index of your card with rfkill list, and then rfkill unblock <index>.

HTH
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4019



« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 05:29:34 pm »

But I want the internal card to work again. 

Sorry, I thought the thing was broken.
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 03:21:38 pm »

Its ok i was hoping it wasnt but i dont think it is.  here is the rfkill list

Spunkie:/~
mike:$ rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: yes
1: phy1: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
Spunkie:/~
mike:$

tried every form of unblock i could find but no go. even tried going into the bios and there is no option for the wifi.  is there a way to disable rfkill?
Logged
MO9013
Vectorite
***
Posts: 130


« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2011, 03:29:54 pm »

Ok just fixed it.  I ran rfkill event and started pressing buttons and it worked.  FN/F8 does nothing but just because I felt like it I ran my finger across the top strip next to my power button and to my suprise there buttons.  I just thought they were light that didnt work cause I wasn't using windows.  Oh well the simmple things.

Thanks for the help.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!