VectorLinux
November 23, 2014, 02:02:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  Print  
Author Topic: Vectorlinux7 RC3.4 bug reports and comments  (Read 15680 times)
niiler
Member
*
Posts: 26


WWW
« Reply #90 on: November 13, 2011, 12:47:18 pm »

@niiler, @rxMokka, @oMasta
or any hp printer user.

Would like help testing a fix.  There is a new hplip-3.11.10-i586-5vl70 in the gslapt repositories.


Hey stretchedthin,

It works like a charm.  Everything's good on this end of things.  Thanks for the extra effort!

Cheers,
Tim  N.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #91 on: November 13, 2011, 01:55:48 pm »



Hey stretchedthin,

It works like a charm.  Everything's good on this end of things.  Thanks for the extra effort!

Cheers,
Tim  N.

Awesome, thanks for testing.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
pierce.jason
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 250



« Reply #92 on: November 13, 2011, 02:16:05 pm »

@niiler, @rxMokka, @oMasta
or any hp printer user.

Would like help testing a fix.  There is a new hplip-3.11.10-i586-5vl70 in the gslapt repositories.

...

PS, there is a 64bit version in the repositories as well.

Confirmed good for HP 2575v on 64 and 32bit.
Logged

pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)
mylesg
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #93 on: November 13, 2011, 11:34:04 pm »

I just installed rc3.4 in virtualbox and all went well except for some weirdness with mouse control during the install. I'm using the vbox install right now and everything works quite well, including said mouse. All in all this looks to be a sweet release... I just wish I could put this on my hardware   Undecided
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #94 on: November 14, 2011, 10:29:31 am »

... I just wish I could put this on my hardware   Undecided

What's the hold back, something in the distribution not working.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1426



« Reply #95 on: November 14, 2011, 11:06:39 am »

stretchedthin, I tried your printing suggestion (mostly):


Quote
I followed the instructions in your November 7 1:16 pm email (above) and it installed fine.  I then removed Vector's hplip 3.11.7 and installed hplip 3.11.10 from the repository and got the error "hplip: Depends: avahi >= 0.6.30."    Most likely this is because I haven't updated to the latest VL 7 beta.  ... I have reinstalled hhplip 3.11.7. 


but it didn't work, for me, using this older version of VL7 (see signature below).  The problem, since VL6, has been this:  I use a laptop (see signature below).  I have to connect to my HP Laserjet 4mplus via the usb port.  Cups doesn't see the printer.  I suppose if I knew the ppd and all that I could get past this point.  But in VL6, I didn't have to do anything other than ask cups to find a new printer and cups came up with an option to select usb.  I would select that option, and continue, which eventually brought me to a page with all sorts of printers.  I would find the hp section, scroll down to my printer and install.  I can't do that and have never been able to do it.  As I put VL7 on this new laptop some months back, I can't really say whether its a samsung problem or a cups problem or a VL problem.  I just know it doesn't see the printer.  If I had a parallel port, I am sure it would work.

But thanks much for your and Vector's efforts.

I strongly suspect that it is something different in cups that is causing my problem.

Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #96 on: November 14, 2011, 02:00:34 pm »

@sledgehammer
as root in a terminal could you...
lsmod | grep usblp

If you don't see it listed as a module try this (also as root)...
modprobe usblp

Then go into System>>Printing and see if you still can't see your computers usb connection listed.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 541


move the needle


« Reply #97 on: November 19, 2011, 07:43:28 pm »

Has the kernel version for final release been decided?
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.3, icewmvmods
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 410


« Reply #98 on: November 19, 2011, 08:22:49 pm »

Quote
Has the kernel version for final release been decided?
hope Vector can consider latest stable kernel 3.0.9 or kernel 3.1.1 for xmas /new year final release, we 're happy to test it Undecided
Logged
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #99 on: November 19, 2011, 08:49:49 pm »

Quote
Has the kernel version for final release been decided?
we are going with 3.0.8 seems stable does all thats expected.

cheers,
Vec
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 410


« Reply #100 on: November 20, 2011, 07:23:12 pm »

Quote
we are going with 3.0.8 seems stable does all thats expected.
i grabed rc4.3 installed on sharp mebuis laptop
-----------------------------------------
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/vec7/VL7.0-STD-RC4.3.iso
-----------------------------------------
rc4.3 works fine  with kernel 3.0.8 and very stable and didn't go dummy yet since saturday...
saw rc4.4 released today, what's change from rc4.3?rc4.4 in kernel3.0.9/3.1.1.? do inform us!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2011, 07:26:02 pm by vincent2 » Logged
brokndodge
Member
*
Posts: 83


Linux is sooo HOT


WWW
« Reply #101 on: November 21, 2011, 06:43:17 am »

During attempted install of rc 3.4, never actually got to the installer.  Boot froze at "attempting to unpack rootfs as initramfs" or something like that.  Tried several times with same result.  VL Light 6.0 currently installed on same machine. Likely my system is the culprit but figured I'd post.

my machine: AMD Sempron 2600+, 128mb ram (32 carved off for a integrated video card I can't seem to disable) 80gb ide hd, dvd burner of unknown speed, nvidia graphics.
Logged

VL 7.0 Standard

brokndodge
- OSS is not a religion, it's the solution to buggy irresponsible coding -
Linux User# 494720
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #102 on: November 21, 2011, 08:33:54 am »

@brokendodge
Good to see you back.  First though is bad burn, but before you commit to reburning 3.4 I think Vector will be announcing 4.4 shortly.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
nitehawk
Vectorite
***
Posts: 155


Just me.


« Reply #103 on: November 21, 2011, 03:10:53 pm »

I think Vector will be announcing 4.4 shortly.
whoot! (does this mean it may be close to final?)
Logged
pierce.jason
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 250



« Reply #104 on: November 21, 2011, 04:08:46 pm »

During attempted install of rc 3.4, never actually got to the installer.  Boot froze at "attempting to unpack rootfs as initramfs" or something like that.  Tried several times with same result.  VL Light 6.0 currently installed on same machine. Likely my system is the culprit but figured I'd post.

my machine: AMD Sempron 2600+, 128mb ram (32 carved off for a integrated video card I can't seem to disable) 80gb ide hd, dvd burner of unknown speed, nvidia graphics.

I just did some testing in VirtualBox on several ram amounts. Seems that inorder to decompress the initramfs, you will need 224MB of free ram. To use 32MB of video ram you would need 256MB of total system ram. This is most likely due to the overhead of decompressing xz/lzma.


I wonder if it is possible to exclude usage of the init.xz at the boot prompt?
Logged

pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!