VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Where Scribus is Listed - SOLVED  (Read 1252 times)

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Where Scribus is Listed - SOLVED
« on: November 21, 2011, 01:38:34 pm »

I have Scribus on my laptop with VL6.0, but it resides in /usr/share/

I can copy a shortcut to the desktop, but how do I get Scribus listed under the 'Office' menu, where it really belongs?
« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 02:15:47 pm by Martin109 »
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 590
  • move the needle
Re: Where Scribus is Listed
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 05:05:19 pm »

leafpad $(locate cribus.desktop)

Will show you the answer and you'll already have an editor open to change the present setting. Any editor can be substituted for leafpad, of course. If you're running IceWM instead of XCFE or so, remember to update the menu afterwards.

The command assumes your locate database has been updated since Scribus was installed. I left the initial "s" off of "scribus" intentionally. The filename should ideally be all lower case, but sometimes they aren't.
Logged
Robert
VL Light RC 2

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Where Scribus is Listed
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 06:36:01 pm »

how u install sribus?
can you find scribus.desktop any where? make sure it is under /usr/share/applications
Logged

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Where Scribus is Listed
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 01:17:12 am »

leafpad $(locate cribus.desktop)

Will show you the answer and you'll already have an editor open to change the present setting. Any editor can be substituted for leafpad, of course. If you're running IceWM instead of XCFE or so, remember to update the menu afterwards.

The command assumes your locate database has been updated since Scribus was installed. I left the initial "s" off of "scribus" intentionally. The filename should ideally be all lower case, but sometimes they aren't.


Thanks for this.

After updating the database, the command ‛locate cribus.desktop’ gives:

/usr/share/mimelnk/application/vnd.scribus.desktop

The Scribus icon (generic program cogwheel icon) on the Desktop links to:

/usr/bin/scribus

Using mousepad rather than leafpad:

mousepad $(locate cribus.desktop)

gives:

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]

Name=Scribus

Type=Application

MimeType=application/vnd.scribus;

Icon=scribus

Comment=Page Layout and Publication (Stable)

Comment[ar]=سكريبس

Comment[fa]=اسکریباس

#Comment[lo]=ສະຄຣີບັດສ໌

Comment[ta]=ஸ்கிரிபஸ்

Comment[af]=Werkskerm Publisering

Comment[bg]=Издателска програма

Comment[bs]=Stono izdavaštvo (DTP)

Comment[ca]=Publicació d'escriptori

Comment[cs]=Publikační systém (DTP)

Comment[cy]=Cyhoeddi Penbwrdd

Comment[da]=Dtp

Comment[eo]=DTP-programo

Comment[es]=Publicación de escritorio

Comment[et]=Küljendusrakendus

#Comment[fa]=نشر میزکار

Comment[fi]=Julkaisuohjelma

Comment[fr]=Publication assistée par ordinateur (PAO)

Comment[he]=הוצאה לאור שולחנית

Comment[hr]=Stolno izdavaštvo

Comment[hu]=Kiadványszerkesztés

Comment[it]=Pubblicazioni

Comment[ja]=デスクトップパブリッシング

Comment[lo]=ເດດທອບພັລບບີດຊິງ

Comment[lt]=Darbastalio leidykla

Comment[nb]=Datatrykkeprogram

Comment[nn]=Datatrykk

Comment[nso]=Kwalakwatso ya Desktop

Comment[pl]=Program do składu tekstu

Comment[pt]=Publicação no Ecrã

Comment[pt_BR]=Publicação do Ambiente de Trabalho

Comment[ru]=Настольное издательство

Comment[sl]=Namizno založništvo

Comment[sr]=Стоно издаваштво

Comment[ss]=Kushicelela ku desktop

Comment[sv]=Desktop Publishing

Comment[th]=เดสก์ทอปพับลิชชิง

Comment[tr]=Masaüstü Yayıncılık

Comment[uk]=Видавнича система

Comment[uz]=Кичик нашриёт

Comment[ven]=U andadza Desikithopo

Comment[xh]=Upapasho lwe Desktop

Comment[zh_CN]=桌面出版

Comment[zh_TW]=桌面出版

Comment[zu]=Ukushicilelwa kwe-Desktop

[X-Property::X-KDE-NativeExtension]

Type=QString

Value=.sla


What I don’t see is what I would have to change to get Scribus listed under the Office section of the Menu.
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Where Scribus is Listed
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2011, 07:27:00 pm »

Logged

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Where Scribus is Listed
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2011, 02:15:17 pm »

copy below file to your /usr/share/applications

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/source/testing/xap/scribus/1.4.0.rc6/src/scribus.desktop

is the scribus icon is missing then just copy below png file to /usr/share/pixmaps

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/source/testing/xap/scribus/1.4.0.rc6/src/scribus.png

Thank you, hata_ph, that's sorted it!
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Where Scribus is Listed - SOLVED
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2011, 06:27:49 pm »

May i know how u install scribus?
Logged

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Where Scribus is Listed - SOLVED
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2011, 05:10:08 am »

I believe it was installed as part of the VL6.0 standard install.  I didn't know I had it, as it wasn't listed anywhere.  Another install on another machine (perhaps from the Deluxe CD set?) placed Scribus in the Office menu.  I went to have a look on the first machine by using locate and found listings for it, and then found the executable script and copied a link to it to Desktop.  Now your solution has worked.

It's been a useful learning curve!
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Where Scribus is Listed - SOLVED
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2011, 07:14:45 am »

Strange...dunno srribus come default in VL6. Glad that I can help :)
Logged