VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [Solved] V7 install just loops  (Read 2907 times)

zebedeeboss

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
[Solved] V7 install just loops
« on: December 03, 2011, 12:36:03 am »

Hi

have used the live CD and I am a very impressed linux noob.  The problem I am having is I insert the V7 CD  choose enter pick my graphics setup 1650x1050 and then nothing...  system issues exit commands and does a reboot  and no matter what graphics I choose it does the same thing.    Can't do a usb install as my system does not support it

and I need grub install as I am already running windows...  any advise greatly received (ps writing this from live CD which works just fine)

please also remember I am a linux noob (who has only played with Mint and other such distro's so keep the replies simple :)

Thanks in advance

Zeb...
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 06:16:48 am by zebedeeboss »
Logged
64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2011, 12:50:37 am »

Couple ideas before I call it a night.

1. Lilo supports detection of a Windows partition so you should be fine going with lilo if that is all you are worried about. 
I recommend the livecd install vs the text installer for this.  Currently the text-installer has an issue that keeps me from recommending it.
***Note its been a very long time since I've had windows on one of my own systems so maybe wait for verification on this before moving forward.

2. When in Live what resolution is the live cd using to get your monitor up and running. Check Menu-->Settings-->Display

Perhaps choosing that resolution with the install cd's Graphical installer will help.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

zebedeeboss

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2011, 12:55:56 am »

Hi Thanks for the reply

My bad typo  1680x1050 is current live CD display and I did not realise there was an installer form the Live CD.

Trying it now - thank you very much :)

fingers crossed
Logged
64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total

zebedeeboss

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2011, 09:16:38 pm »

Sorry - no go - install all seems to go well and then it just sits there on a blank flashing screen with a cursor blinking.  Shame as it looked really good.

Keep up the excellent work - obviously I am not enough of a linux person to get this one right.

Will take another look after christmas maybe..

Thanks Zeb...
Logged
64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4132
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2011, 09:38:47 pm »

If you have the LiveCD, you may be able to use it to boot your VL install, using the entry towards the bottom of the boot menu. Boot loader setup from within the installed system is more robust than the one on Live.
Logged

LoneWolf07

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2011, 06:20:16 am »

Hi,
I tried to install VL(VL 7.0 Standard Edition Gold) too, but I have the same problems. And I don't want to wait 'til after christmas :D
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2011, 06:28:45 am »

What are your system specs? CPU, GPU, Memory, etc.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

LoneWolf07

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2011, 06:34:33 am »

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz
ATI Radeon HD 4650 1GB
4GB DDR2
320 GB HDD
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2011, 07:32:24 am »

1650x1050 is a rather strange setting. Try a lower setting and see if you're able to boot. You can always change the settings once it's installed and working correctly.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

LoneWolf07

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2011, 09:55:45 am »

zebedeeboss used 1650x1050. I tried 1920x1080, but I'll try a lower resoltution.
Logged

LoneWolf07

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 10:06:16 am »

Even when I choose the lowest resolution, the pc reboots. Maybe you can help me when you see the last command lines.

Edit: I forgot to say that I use an USB Stick and I renamed init.lz to init.gz. Before I did this I could boot, but when I had to press "Enter" the intallation doesn't start.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 03:58:21 am by LoneWolf07 »
Logged

zebedeeboss

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: V7 install just loops
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2012, 06:03:28 am »

OK, looooooong delay but finally got Vector Linux 7 installed and did not bother with boot loader... I got another Linux install and grub2 to find it.

Things working exceptionally well atm - very very quick.    Now to start learning how to do things :)

btw forgot to say - did nothing different this time round... apart from not bothering with Lilo - I just have a different PC
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 06:22:11 am by zebedeeboss »
Logged
64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total