VectorLinux
November 23, 2014, 03:43:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved] V7 install just loops  (Read 2572 times)
zebedeeboss
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: December 03, 2011, 12:36:03 am »

Hi

have used the live CD and I am a very impressed linux noob.  The problem I am having is I insert the V7 CD  choose enter pick my graphics setup 1650x1050 and then nothing...  system issues exit commands and does a reboot  and no matter what graphics I choose it does the same thing.    Can't do a usb install as my system does not support it

and I need grub install as I am already running windows...  any advise greatly received (ps writing this from live CD which works just fine)

please also remember I am a linux noob (who has only played with Mint and other such distro's so keep the replies simple Smiley

Thanks in advance

Zeb...
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 05:16:48 am by zebedeeboss » Logged

64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2011, 12:50:37 am »

Couple ideas before I call it a night.

1. Lilo supports detection of a Windows partition so you should be fine going with lilo if that is all you are worried about. 
I recommend the livecd install vs the text installer for this.  Currently the text-installer has an issue that keeps me from recommending it.
***Note its been a very long time since I've had windows on one of my own systems so maybe wait for verification on this before moving forward.

2. When in Live what resolution is the live cd using to get your monitor up and running. Check Menu-->Settings-->Display

Perhaps choosing that resolution with the install cd's Graphical installer will help.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
zebedeeboss
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2011, 12:55:56 am »

Hi Thanks for the reply

My bad typo  1680x1050 is current live CD display and I did not realise there was an installer form the Live CD.

Trying it now - thank you very much Smiley

fingers crossed
Logged

64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total
zebedeeboss
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2011, 09:16:38 pm »

Sorry - no go - install all seems to go well and then it just sits there on a blank flashing screen with a cursor blinking.  Shame as it looked really good.

Keep up the excellent work - obviously I am not enough of a linux person to get this one right.

Will take another look after christmas maybe..

Thanks Zeb...
Logged

64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4029



« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2011, 09:38:47 pm »

If you have the LiveCD, you may be able to use it to boot your VL install, using the entry towards the bottom of the boot menu. Boot loader setup from within the installed system is more robust than the one on Live.
Logged
LoneWolf07
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2011, 06:20:16 am »

Hi,
I tried to install VL(VL 7.0 Standard Edition Gold) too, but I have the same problems. And I don't want to wait 'til after christmas Cheesy
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2011, 06:28:45 am »

What are your system specs? CPU, GPU, Memory, etc.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
LoneWolf07
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2011, 06:34:33 am »

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz
ATI Radeon HD 4650 1GB
4GB DDR2
320 GB HDD
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2011, 07:32:24 am »

1650x1050 is a rather strange setting. Try a lower setting and see if you're able to boot. You can always change the settings once it's installed and working correctly.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
LoneWolf07
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2011, 09:55:45 am »

zebedeeboss used 1650x1050. I tried 1920x1080, but I'll try a lower resoltution.
Logged
LoneWolf07
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 10:06:16 am »

Even when I choose the lowest resolution, the pc reboots. Maybe you can help me when you see the last command lines.

Edit: I forgot to say that I use an USB Stick and I renamed init.lz to init.gz. Before I did this I could boot, but when I had to press "Enter" the intallation doesn't start.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 03:58:21 am by LoneWolf07 » Logged
zebedeeboss
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2012, 05:03:28 am »

OK, looooooong delay but finally got Vector Linux 7 installed and did not bother with boot loader... I got another Linux install and grub2 to find it.

Things working exceptionally well atm - very very quick.    Now to start learning how to do things Smiley

btw forgot to say - did nothing different this time round... apart from not bothering with Lilo - I just have a different PC
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 05:22:11 am by zebedeeboss » Logged

64bit vector linux  Brought to you by Vector-Linux  Linux Version 3.2.13
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Mar 27 13:47:37 MDT 2012  Four 3GHz Intel i5 Processors, 6GB RAM  23943 Bogomips Total
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!