Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: VL won't access internet  (Read 1235 times)

yaakov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
VL won't access internet
« on: December 09, 2011, 09:16:50 pm »
I just installed VL7 and it seemed to install fine, and I have a dual boot with Windows 7 and VL will not access the internet with either browser but Windows works perfectly. I was thinking it might be a driver for the LAN connector but I'm starting to doubt it. It's a new board with a Z68 chipset. I'm at a complete loss and I hope someone might have a clue. Thanks for any help you can give. ???

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2011, 10:06:48 pm »
The chipset you mention is for the processor. Please reply with the
ethernet chipset.

You can use as root this command:

lspci

then look for ethernet or you can look at the
documentation for your motherboard.

Bigpaws

yaakov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2011, 11:06:24 pm »
the ethernet chipset is: Realtek Semiconductor Co., RTL8111/8168B PCI E Xpress Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev06)

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2011, 01:00:08 am »
show us the full output of lspci and lsmod...
did you set the dns?
can you ping others IP?

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2011, 06:45:55 am »
This ethernet card should be supported out of the box.

Please post the output of this coomand which needs to be run as root:

ifconfig


Bigpaws

nightshift

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2011, 12:31:11 pm »
I have that card and I am running VL 7.0 installed, not the live version. It worked out of the box. The only problem I had was with the router between my computer and the dsl. VL wanted to use the router for the default gateway (192.168.1.6). So I have to manually put the default gateway in as (192.168.1.1) which is the address of the dsl. Also my card is (rev 02).

nightshift

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2011, 12:46:39 pm »
Nightshift, please do not hijack another persons thread.

You can add the default gateway in /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf

Bigpaws

nightshift

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2011, 03:59:05 pm »
bigpaws

    Had no intention of hijacking another persons post! I know enough how to change a default gateway as well as set up a static ip. I suggest you read a post rather than criticize people.

nightshift

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: VL won't access internet
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2011, 04:42:04 pm »
nightshift,

I did read the post. It appeared to me to be a question. It was not a criticism. It was
a request that's all.

Bigpaws