VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 11:15:11 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: VL64-7.0-STD BETA 2 BUG REPORTS  (Read 28594 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1252



« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2011, 02:14:36 pm »

Yeah, something isn't working right at this point.

On the first restart to set up x I get:

No X found so bailing

and on the second restart I get the following:

gdm-binary[2264]: no suitable security token driver could be found
gdm-binary[2264]: WARNING: Failed to start X server seeral times in a short period; disabling display :0
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #16 on: December 13, 2011, 07:34:38 pm »

On B2.1 and the installation went well on VirtualBox but notice some issue

1. /usr/lib/libintl.so is still there
2. /usr/lib64/libQtDesigner.so is a invalid symlink
3. running vcpufreq.gambas from terminal give me below error

Quote
benreilly:$ vcpufreq.gambas
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libqt-mt.so.3' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
vl7-64://usr/share/applications
benreilly:$ Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
Utils.?.0: #6: Type mismatch: wanted Integer, got String instead
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 07:36:59 pm by hata_ph » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1252



« Reply #17 on: December 14, 2011, 07:21:36 am »

I reverted back to Beta 2 and it installed with no issues at all (aside from no Grub).

Don't know what changed with the installer between 2 and 2.1, but 2.1 took twice as long to install and just flat wouldn't work once finished.

And again, we desperately need a way to parse instructions for inclusion when Grub or LILO is installed. I have to use nomodeset and rootdelay and there's no way of including that until the installation is finished and I can go back in and modify the configuration files.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1252



« Reply #18 on: December 14, 2011, 02:06:29 pm »

Managed to get B2.1 installed using the installer from B2.

Exaile is broken with the following:

Quote
$ exaile
INFO    : Loading Exaile 0.3.2.0...
INFO    : Loading settings...
** Message: pygobject_register_sinkfunc is deprecated (GstObject)
INFO    : Loading plugins...
INFO    : Loading collection...
INFO    : Loading devices...
INFO    : Loading interface...
WARNING : Failed to connect to HAL, autodetection of devices will be disabled.
INFO    : Loading main window...
INFO    : Connecting main window events...
INFO    : Loading panels...
INFO    : Connecting panel events...
INFO    : Done loading main window...
INFO    : Playing file:///home/retired1/music/Daft%20Punk/TRON_%20Legacy%20(Original%20Motion%20Picture%20So/01%20Overture.m4a
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
ERROR   : <gst.Message GstMessageError, gerror=(GError)NULL, debug=(string)"qtdemux.c\(3838\):\ gst_qtdemux_loop\ \(\):\ /GstPlayBin2:player/GstURIDecodeBin:uridecodebin0/GstDecodeBin2:decodebin20/GstQTDemux:qtdemux0:\012streaming\ stopped\,\ reason\ not-linked"; from qtdemux0 at 0x1bb2b30> ['__class__', '__cmp__', '__delattr__', '__dict__', '__doc__', '__format__', '__getattribute__', '__grefcount__', '__gstminiobject_init__', '__gtype__', '__hash__', '__init__', '__new__', '__reduce__', '__reduce_ex__', '__repr__', '__setattr__', '__sizeof__', '__str__', '__subclasshook__', 'copy', 'flags', 'parse_async_start', 'parse_buffering', 'parse_buffering_stats', 'parse_clock_lost', 'parse_clock_provide', 'parse_duration', 'parse_error', 'parse_info', 'parse_new_clock', 'parse_request_state', 'parse_segment_done', 'parse_segment_start', 'parse_state_changed', 'parse_step_done', 'parse_step_start', 'parse_stream_status', 'parse_structure_change', 'parse_tag', 'parse_tag_full', 'parse_warning', 'set_buffering_stats', 'set_qos_stats', 'set_qos_values', 'set_seqnum', 'src', 'structure', 'timestamp', 'type']
INFO    : Exaile is shutting down...
INFO    : Disabling plugins...
INFO    : Saving state...
INFO    : Bye!
bodacious:/~

« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 02:15:19 pm by retired1af » Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #19 on: December 14, 2011, 04:13:33 pm »

I play a mp3 song in exaile and it work fine thou

Quote
vl7-64:/~
benreilly:$ exaile
INFO    : Loading Exaile 0.3.2.0...
INFO    : Loading settings...
** Message: pygobject_register_sinkfunc is deprecated (GstObject)
INFO    : Loading plugins...
INFO    : Loading collection...
INFO    : Loading devices...
INFO    : Loading interface...
WARNING : Failed to connect to HAL, autodetection of devices will be disabled.
INFO    : Loading main window...
INFO    : Connecting main window events...
INFO    : Loading panels...
INFO    : Connecting panel events...
INFO    : Done loading main window...
INFO    : Playing file:///media/linux/preview.mp3
INFO    : Exaile is shutting down...
INFO    : Disabling plugins...
INFO    : Saving state...
INFO    : Bye!
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1252



« Reply #20 on: December 14, 2011, 05:08:18 pm »

Yup. MP3s play fine. m4a, however, do not.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #21 on: December 14, 2011, 10:03:05 pm »

Yup. MP3s play fine. m4a, however, do not.

Install latest gstreamer, gst-plugins-base, good, bad and ugly solve the problem...

PS: notice upgrading all this will install claw-mail and others unnecessary pkgs as dependencies too...

Thanks to oMasta for the hint Tongue
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2011, 07:51:13 pm »

building phonon on B2.1 and encounter below error...it seem /usr/lib64/qt/lib/libQtDesigner.so is pointing to an invalid path...
/usr/lib64/qt/lib/libQtDesigner.so.4.7.0 and libQtDesignerComponents.so.4.7.0 is missing

Quote
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `/usr/lib64/qt/lib/libQtDesigner.so', needed by `designer/libphononwidgets.so'.  Stop.
make[1]: *** [designer/CMakeFiles/phononwidgets.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 10:14:23 pm by hata_ph » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1252



« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2011, 05:07:18 am »

Haven't run into any sound issues, but getting this in syslog on every boot.

Quote
Dec 17 06:00:27 bodacious pulseaudio[2599]: pid.c: Stale PID file, overwriting.
Dec 17 06:00:30 bodacious pulseaudio[2599]: hal-util.c: Couldn't connect to hald: (null): (null)
Dec 17 06:00:31 bodacious pulseaudio[2659]: pid.c: Stale PID file, overwriting.
Dec 17 06:00:32 bodacious pulseaudio[2659]: hal-util.c: Couldn't connect to hald: (null): (null)
Dec 17 06:00:32 bodacious pulseaudio[2656]: main.c: Daemon startup failed.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2011, 05:19:31 pm »

B2.1 complain cannot install lxde-meta due to missing dep....upower-0.9.12...
B2.1 have upower-0.9.8...I think VL7 32bit is using 0.9.12...
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2011, 12:19:37 am »

This line in SlackBuild scripts ...
ls /var/log/packages/|grep vlconfig2|cut -d "-" -f4|cut -c 2-5

usually results in "vl70"

but in the b2.3 it results in "0vl7"
the end result is some funny named packages.
I could fix this by changing the line to end in "|cut -c 3-6", but since we want the slackbuilds to be reusable the next time around come vl7.x. I was wondering if there could be another way?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2011, 06:17:47 am »

I see why.  The vlconfig2 package has made it to it's 10th release, so the full package name is "vlconfig2-7.0-noarch-10vl70".  I Again, this goes back the usual (and IMO wrong) way of doing these packages.  You see, I know we have not had 10 releases of this package since 7.0 went out.  So, with each release, the package VERSION should change, and not the RELEASE number.
Example:
VL-6.0 = vlconfig2-6.0-noarch-1vl70
VL-7.0 = vlconfig2-7.0-noarch-1vl70
VL-8.0 = vlconfig2-8.0-noarch-1vl70
Release numbers should only be incremented for (very unlikely) patches made to this package between releases.  The only scenario I can think of that would require this would be doing a 7.1 release after 7.0 of course.

So, in short, to stay consistent with our build system, I think the release number of the package needs to be fixed, otherwise, you have to fix a ton of slackbuilds for the 64b build
Logged

uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #27 on: December 21, 2011, 10:41:02 am »

there have actually been 10 releases of this package since the beginning of vl7 almost 2 years ago.
I will change the package in 64b to vlconfig2-7.0-noarch-1vl70 in the next ISO
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #28 on: December 21, 2011, 02:12:17 pm »

Huh.  Was not aware of that.  But the idea is to keep this model and to make sure at least for this one package that the tag (1vlxx) stays at the fixed number of characters, otherwise our slackbuilds are going to be off all the time.
Logged

hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #29 on: December 21, 2011, 07:45:58 pm »

Trying to build kdeadmin-4.7.2 on B2.4 and encouter below error

Quote
-- Found PyQt4 version: 4.8.3
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/apps/cmake/modules/FindPyKDE4.py", line 8, in <module>
    import PyKDE4.pykdeconfig
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/PyKDE4/__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
    import sys,DLFCN
ImportError: No module named DLFCN
-- Found PyCups
-- Found System Config Printer

Could it be related to this problem?

https://bugs.gentoo.org/374579?id=374579
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!