VectorLinux
April 20, 2014, 01:46:04 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: VL64-7.0-STD BETA 2 BUG REPORTS  (Read 28238 times)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« on: December 12, 2011, 09:43:27 am »

Please post any bugs from VL64 BETA 2 here.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2011, 10:41:36 am »

First bug for me is the installer and grub2.  Installer fails to set up grub2 as bootloader had to go with lilo.

Second bug, is suspend.  I can suspend just fine, just can't get out of it.

third, is nouveau and how it makes my cursor disappear. Seems to happen when the screensaver kicks in.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 01:53:57 pm »

Downloading now and will install shortly. Question.. Will there be a SOHO version of this?
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2011, 03:56:12 pm »

Confirmed on GRUB. Flat refused to install on my machine.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2011, 04:02:06 pm »

Ugh. Getting that damned HDMI spam in syslog, too. >.<
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2011, 04:50:02 pm »

Oh! The Community List during the installation definitely needs some love.  Cheesy
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2011, 06:35:25 pm »

Last one for this evening. I was expecting something more along the lines of what VL7 has (menu at top of the screen, Cairo at the bottom). Having a devil of a time figuring out how to get that #$)(*&@# panel to appear at the top of the screen. >.<
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3206


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2011, 06:41:20 pm »

Running B2 and encounter below issue...yes...cannot use grub...have to use lilo...and i believe we have this same problem for VL7 32bit beta or rc...


vcpufreq give me error [6] Type mismatch: wanted integer, go String
instead. Utils.?.0

Login Windows no give me to enter root password to configure it...

try to build gwenhywfar-4.0.5 in B2 and it complain missing qt4 componet...I have to set the path in the SB to work...

Quote
--with-qt4-includes=/usr/lib${LIBDIRSUFFIX}/qt/include \

It seem qt4 path is not declare in $PATH

Quote
root:# echo $PATH
/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games:/usr/lib64/java/bin:/opt/kde3/lib64/qt3/bin:/opt/kde3/bin:/usr/lib64/qt/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 07:12:49 pm by hata_ph » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3206


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2011, 09:05:25 pm »

Trying to build stellarium on B2 encounter bellow error

Quote
[ 70%] Building CXX object src/CMakeFiles/stellarium.dir/scripting/
moc_StelMainScriptAPIProxy.cxx.o
[ 70%] Building CXX object src/CMakeFiles/stellarium.dir/
qrc_mainRes.cxx.o
[ 70%] Building CXX object src/CMakeFiles/stellarium.dir/main.cpp.o
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `/usr/lib/libintl.so', needed by
`src/stellarium'.  Stop.
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/stellarium.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
[  1%] Built target Supernovae-static
[ 12%] Built target StelGuiLib
[ 12%] Built target AngleMeasure-static
[ 13%] Built target CompassMarks-static
[ 17%] Built target Oculars-static
[ 20%] Built target Satellites-static
[ 23%] Built target SolarSystemEditor-static
[ 30%] Built target TelescopeControl-static
[ 37%] Built target TextUserInterface-static
[ 39%] Built target TimeZoneConfiguration-static
[ 39%] Built target AllStaticPlugins
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `/usr/lib/libintl.so', needed by
`src/stellarium'.  Stop.
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/stellarium.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
/home/benreilly/stellarium/0.11.1/tmp/stellarium-0.11.1

It seem /usr/lib/libintl.so is pointing to an invalid target

Quote
vl7-64://usr/lib
root:# ls -all
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     22 Dec 13 10:16 libintl.so -> preloadable_libintl.so

Recreate symlink to point to correct path solve the problem...

Quote
vl7-64://usr/lib
root:# ln -sf /usr/lib64/preloadable_libintl.so /usr/lib/libintl.so
vl7-64://usr/lib
root:# ls -all
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     33 Dec 13 13:09 libintl.so -> /usr/lib64/preloadable_libintl.so
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2498



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2011, 05:50:05 am »

vcpufreq give me error [6] Type mismatch: wanted integer, go String
instead. Utils.?.0

What version of vcpufreq is on VL64-7.0-STD BETA 2?
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2011, 06:24:19 am »

2.4.2
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2498



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2011, 06:51:37 am »

Hmm... I am using 2.4.2 (which is the latest) on VL7 RC1 32 bits (heavily updated) and have tried several 3.0.x and 3.1.x kernels (currently 3.1.1) with no issues. I wonder if it is a 64 bits problem?

Check if the path /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ exists and if the following files are in there (post their contents just in case):

affected_cpus
scaling_driver
scaling_governor
scaling_cur_freq
scaling_max_freq
scaling_min_freq
scaling_setspeed
cpuinfo_max_freq
cpuinfo_min_freq
scaling_available_governors
scaling_available_frequencies
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 06:54:47 am by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2011, 07:14:57 am »

For the record, it's working fine on my machine.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2011, 10:01:39 am »

vcpufreq is working well for me on 64bit also.

I have a new ISO up,I hate to do this but its the only way to test grub at install time.
you can get the delta here: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.0/iso-test/VL64-7.0-STD-B2to2.1.delta
or the ISO here: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.0/iso-test/VL64-7.0-STD-B2.1.iso

Changes: new grub2 pkg, new os-prober pkg, fixed libintl.so symlink in installer.

Let me know if this fixes grub for you.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2011, 01:07:51 pm »

Seems we've taken a step backwards. Grub installed fine, but during the setup I wasn't asked if I wanted to setup X or allow the system to do it for me without an xorg.conf file. On restart it hangs at rc.x multiuser mode.

Will do a reinstall to make sure it wasn't a glitch.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!