Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?  (Read 1317 times)

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« on: September 03, 2009, 07:38:54 pm »
I see alot of ubuntu videos with compiz fusion. I got a decent video card with gpu and I'd like to try compiz on vector, is there any help out there or can someone please describe how to add and start compiz fusion with vector? I'm using vl 6.0 and xfce.

Thanks,

Steven

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 10:33:05 pm »
Installing Compiz is pretty easy.
Follow this...
Installing Compiz-fusion on VectorLinux

If you have any trouble getting a title bar to show around the window try this.
Compiz-Fusion missing title bar fix.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 10:36:01 pm by stretchedthin »
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
Re: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 07:52:02 pm »
I managed to get compiz installed last night after posting this message. I then had the problem you described and spent 4 hours pulling my hair wondering what went wrong... So glad you posted how to fix that, thanks alot.

One last thing, my "CUBE" has just the 4 sides, but the top and bottom of the cube is not in use. I'd like those to be desktops also, I actually usually use 6 with xfce or whatever... Is there a setting somewhere to set it from 4 to 6?

Thanks for your help, looking (and working!) great.

Steven

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 11:21:10 pm »
Right click on the icon for compiz on the panel
Select 'Settings Manager'
Click 'General Options'
Click the 'Desktop Size' tab
Change 'Horizontal Virtual Size' to 6 desktops. (This will give your cube 6 sides)
Change 'Number of Desktops' to 6. (This will make a proper representation of the 6 possible desktops on the panel.)

I don't know if you can put a desktop on top and bottom but you can use skyview to put an image of your choice on top.
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

glas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2011, 12:34:46 pm »
I got the same problem (no title bar - misbehaving windows) with compiz in Vector 7. The vasm.sh file that needs changing no longer has the line that needs to be commented out on earlier versions of Vector.

Anyone know of a fix for Vector 7?

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: compiz fusion/beryl and vector linux?
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2011, 03:07:29 pm »
The video you watched was for VL6.0.  I think I can get rid of it at this point.

Watch this one instead. http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1/?p=581

Basically, compiz installs with out any plugins or options inabled and you have to open the Settings-Manager and enable window decorations.
The video will take you through some other things you may want to enable as well.
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee