VectorLinux
September 21, 2014, 11:54:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Aspect ratio help please.  (Read 1235 times)
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« on: January 12, 2012, 10:21:31 am »

How do I maintain the aspect ratio of my screen display if I want to change the resolution (I have a HP w1707 monitor)?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 06:11:10 pm by Locator » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 07:10:01 pm »

You choose a resolution that gives the same aspect ratio. Here is a list:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_resolution

If you have an LCD (flat panel) display, it will have a native resolution. Find and use that, as it will give you the best picture.
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 01:44:44 pm »

Thanks, but I'm trying to switch from 1440*900 to 1024*768 without the picture looking stretched (I just switched to Vector Linux 7.0 from Windows 7 on Monday), and I want to be able to read any text that I might see on it, I also have a Nvidia GeForce 210 video display card.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2012, 03:28:41 pm »

Aspect ratio is the relationship between the width and the height of the picture.
1440 divided by 900 equals 1.6, in other words an aspect ratio of 16:10.
1024 / 768 is 1.33333 (4:3)
To get a 16:10 aspect ratio with a width of 1024 you need a height of 640.

What settings were you using in W7?


Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2012, 04:22:58 pm »

As far as I know Windows 7 would always automatically figure it out.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 04:24:59 pm by Locator » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2012, 05:26:02 pm »

VL7 also automatically figured it out. Internet search indicates your monitor's native resolution is 1440x900.

If things appear too small you should increase the size of icons and fonts to compensate for it.
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2012, 06:53:47 pm »

But how do I get VL7 to show a display ratio of 4:3 when I choose a display size of 1024 / 768 (Windows 7 always did it automatically, and my monitor is connected via a DVI cable)?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2012, 04:27:01 am »

Are you talking about having bars on the sides and not using the whole screen for the image?
Is this for movies or your regular desktop?
Does your monitor have a ratio selection, where you can choose "zoom, stretch, normal etc.."?
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2012, 06:58:34 am »

Yes to all three questions.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2012, 08:16:02 am »

Okay, assumption is that you want your display to be permanently set to 1024x768 in "box format".
Your monitor must be set to use this format when receiving a certain profile (rez+refresh).

You can boot into W7, then use the monitor's on-screen controls to show what it is running at,
then try to re-create that in Vector.

Or, simpler: Use the same controls on the monitor to set the format as you want it.
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2012, 09:34:12 am »

As of January 9th I only have Vector Linux 7.0 on my computer, which means that I CAN'T boot into Windows 7 and my monitor is already set to use the correct aspect ratio.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2012, 09:59:19 am »

The "correct" ratio is whatever you want it to be. If the picture is not how you want it, change it. On the monitor.
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2012, 10:45:03 am »

Could the problem possibly be related the graphics display card that I have (it's a NVidia G Force 210)?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2012, 12:10:52 pm »

No, the problem is not your video card.
To quote Cool Hand Luke; "what we have here, is a failure to communicate".

I can not understand why you want to force such a non-optimal display resolution.
If you absolutely must have it.. have you even tried adjusting the monitor settings?
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2012, 12:48:40 pm »

That "non-optimal display resolution" helps me to better read any text on the screen, although I will try to enlarge the fonts, so thank you.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!