VectorLinux
December 20, 2014, 06:56:00 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: [VL 7.0-64] FlightGear  (Read 1860 times)
ronnyquest
Member
*
Posts: 90



WWW
« on: January 30, 2012, 04:10:04 am »

The Slackware packages can be found here:

http://packages.flightgear.org.uk/Release-2.4.0/Slackware64-13.37/
Logged

Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 12:31:52 pm »

Working on this.  Will take a little longer than usual. The data pack alone took me 6 hours to download.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
ronnyquest
Member
*
Posts: 90



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 05:39:53 pm »

Thanks for working on this.  I know you're stretched thin. 
Logged

Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64
Herpy
Vectorite
***
Posts: 141



« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 05:52:00 pm »

Thanks for working on this.  I know you're stretched thin. 
I see what you did there.
Logged

Forever in a box
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2012, 10:57:10 am »

Damn, that's a big data file.  Took all day to upload.
Should be in the repository for 32bit now.  Working on the 64bit build and upload now, but because of the size give it a couple days.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2012, 08:48:13 am »

Damn, that's a big data file.  Took all day to upload.
Should be in the repository for 32bit now.  Working on the 64bit build and upload now, but because of the size give it a couple days.

Is there a way we can use the same data file for both archs?
I just don't want to use that much space on the Repo if it's not necessary.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 12:19:43 pm »

@uelsk8s
I don't really need the source in 64bit, since it is the same as 32 bit.  That will save quite a bit of space.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 12:21:57 pm »

@ronnyquest
FlightGear uploaded to 64bit.  Give it a go and let me know.  I'm installing from gslapt here so I'll report how it goes, for me as well.
Be prepared for a lenghty install.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2012, 12:59:13 pm »

@uelsk8s
I don't really need the source in 64bit, since it is the same as 32 bit.  That will save quite a bit of space.

Thats good, but I was asking about the data pkg: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.0/extra/games/flightgear-data-2.4.0-x86_64-1vl70.txz
It is over 2GB.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 01:10:19 pm »

@uelsk8s
I don't really need the source in 64bit, since it is the same as 32 bit.  That will save quite a bit of space.

Thats good, but I was asking about the data pkg: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.0/extra/games/flightgear-data-2.4.0-x86_64-1vl70.txz
It is over 2GB.

Don't think we can avoid that one.

@ronnyquest.  Installed and ran fine on my 64bit.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
ronnyquest
Member
*
Posts: 90



WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2012, 07:13:17 pm »

I will get it and begin testing now.  Thanks!  Sorry about the huge data files...I should have warned you.
Logged

Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64
ronnyquest
Member
*
Posts: 90



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2012, 04:07:00 pm »

Flightgear seemed to install, but there is a problem when I attempt to launch it from either machine.  A window opens, but nothing displays.  The window stays for a while, during which time the load goes crazy on two of the CPUs, then the window goes away without error and flightgear never launches.
Logged

Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2012, 06:14:10 pm »

Try this from the command line..
/usr/bin/fgfs --geometry=1024x768 --enable-game-mode

that is what is ran when it is started from the menu.  Let me know what errors kick up.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
ronnyquest
Member
*
Posts: 90



WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2012, 09:02:04 pm »

Code:
ronnyquest:$ /usr/bin/fgfs --geometry=1024x768 --enable-game-mode
***
***
*** Warning: changing bad FG_ROOT/--fg-root to '/usr/share/flightgear/data'
***
***
Processing command line arguments
KI266 dme indicator #0 initialized
loading scenario 'nimitz_demo'
socket(): Address family not supported by protocol
creating 3D noise texture... DONE
Initializing Nasal Electrical System
*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File evergreen_render.c function evergreenTryDrawPrims line 895
Rendering was 1 commands larger than predicted size. We might overflow  command buffer.
***************************************************************************
failure to revalidate BOs - badness
fgfs: radeon_cs_gem.c:181: cs_gem_write_reloc: Assertion `boi->space_accounted' failed.
Aborted
Logged

Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2012, 09:40:47 pm »

Just a guess but it looks like it's not liking the radeon graphics driver.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!