VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 02:55:24 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL6 not detecting TP-Link usb wireless adapter  (Read 1463 times)
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« on: February 20, 2012, 11:54:03 am »

Hi, none of the network programs on VL6 Light not detecting this adapter, model no. TL-WN727N... Any help
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3212


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 08:00:51 pm »

run lspci, lsusb, lsmod, ifconfig -a in terminal as root and post the output of it...

PS: Why not try VL7 instead of VL6?
Logged
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2012, 11:39:47 pm »

I have not got rid of VL as nothing, even wired networking wasn't working, as I would have liked it because it was fast. Also it was the "light" version I was using.


This is my post when I had tried to use it wired. http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=15832.0

I have turned to lubuntu, but having the same problem just for wireless.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1834


« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 05:49:44 am »

You more than likely need firmware for that device.

VL 7 may have the firmware already installed, but
I am not sure. Since it has a newer kernel.

Bigpaws
Logged
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2012, 07:31:49 am »

Thanks, I am downloading VL7 at the minute, I had tried ndswrapper or whatever for the rt2800 driver had it had said already installed. Well give it ago.
Logged
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2012, 04:42:38 am »

Loaded the VL6, pressed enter to boot when promted, then it went decompressign at starts to come up loading X-files, but then just doesnt stop after waiting around 6 hours I turned it off as it was still goign loading X-files.  At the start when loading x-files it came up ...mnt... corrupt and kept uploading... any help
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3212


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2012, 08:17:55 pm »

VL6 or VL7?
have u check the md5sum of your burn?
how many RAM u got?
Logged
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2012, 09:11:52 am »

Sorry its VL7, STD-GOLD, 128mb ram as it for an old IBM, meets system requirements as it just for internet. re downlaoding and will burn at a sower speed too
Logged
pat999
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2012, 09:50:04 am »

Yes same problem with VL7
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3212


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2012, 06:58:23 pm »

Can you test the same CD on another machine?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!