VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 2673 times)

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« on: February 20, 2012, 06:28:47 pm »

Can anyone out there tell me where I can get a properly functioning alternative to TVTime? I tried EVERYTHING that was suggested to get it to work with my TV tuner card - an SAA7130 by the way, but to no avail whatsoever (the tuner card in question worked well with Windows, which I have since quit using due to a number of other problems that I started having with it), and the only change that I have made with it has been a different operating system (Vector Linux 7.0). Any help in this matter will be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Logged

vector

  • Administrator
  • Vectorite
  • *****
  • Posts: 485
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 06:44:07 pm »

Found this article on the card and linux perhaps it will help.
http://sites.google.com/site/jobinau2/saa7130basedtvtunercardunderlinux

Cheers,
Vec
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2012, 08:29:08 pm »

When I said that I tried EVERYTHINGthat was suggested, that was one of the things that I had in mind.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 05:39:14 am »

The problem is your hardware, not the software. Just because the hardware
works in Windows does not mean it will work in Linux. In fact with the new changes
in Windows Vista/7 the hardware may not work.

If you want to try other software there is:

Mplayer
Xawtv
gxine
VLC

There are many more.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2012, 08:38:51 am »

It seems to me that if problem was with the hardware, then I would not have been able get it working with Windows in the first place, which suggests to me that the problem is with the software in some way, but on the other hand, I don't claim to be an expert when it comes to understanding inner workings the Linux operating system, and yet my logic tells me that if it can be made to work with one operating system, then there should be some way of getting it to work with another operating system.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2012, 09:34:28 am »

There is hardware that does not work in Linux as well I am sure there is
hardware that does not work in Windows. It is not the actual hardware
it is the drivers (modules in Linux) that are failing.

For example I have a laptop with Optimus, which works in windows and
not in Linux, or other operating systems. Not the fault of the hardware
but the drivers.

There is some hardware that requires alot of knowledge and time to
get working which is where your card sits.

Linux, BSD, Mac and Windows are all different with there own quirks.

I hope that clears up my last response.

Bigpaws
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Re: TVTime altrernative please!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2012, 10:40:40 am »

Yes it does, and thank you for your help.
Logged