VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.  (Read 2302 times)

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« on: March 07, 2012, 06:53:59 am »

I use Vector Linux Lite on my Thinkpad600e because it was the only distro that got round the infamous "no sound" problem that many people get when using Linux on this machine.  Unfortunately, since fitting a pcmcia network card (wired) the sound has stopped working.  There seems to be a conflict somewhere, but I don't know how to go about sorting it out.  Any ideas anyone.
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 06:58:58 am »

Could you post the output of..
cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 02:12:06 am »

Sorry for the delay in replying, but I thought it would be better to do a clean re-install first in case that cured it - it didn't.

The output of /etc/modprobe.d/sound is:

alias snd-card-0 snd-cs4236
alias sound-slot-0 snd-cs4236
options snd-cs4236 port=0x530 cport=0x538 isapnp=0 dma1=1 dma2=0 irq=5

Hope this helps.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 05:47:51 am »

did u check alsamixer?
Logged

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2012, 05:54:41 am »

Not sure how that helps me.  What should I be looking for?
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2012, 05:01:10 pm »

Not sure how that helps me.  What should I be looking for?

I mean did you open alsamixer from terminal and see maybe it is muted...a guess :P
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2012, 07:45:50 pm »

Here are some steps from the Mepis forum.
http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php?title=Snd-cs4236
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2012, 12:22:51 am »

It was not muted on alsamixer.

I will try the link to the Mepis forum and see if it helps.  I am about to go away for the weekend, so will try it on Monday.

I have had a look at the link suggested, but there is no such file as /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.  Is this because the link refers to a debian-based distro?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 09:12:49 am by jimw »
Logged

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2012, 09:14:37 am »

I am still at a loss to know what has happened.  It worked fine before fitting the network card.
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2012, 02:17:00 pm »

I'm at a loss myself.  You can try running valsaconfig, or alsaconfig (same thing really) and see if that helps.

Setting up your sound devices with valsaconfig
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

jimw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: No sound on thinkpad600e after fitting network card.
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2012, 03:36:35 am »

I tried that originally, but tried it again.  I recognises that it is a Thinkpad600e, but when it probes legacy ISA cards, it comes up with "No legacy cards found".
Logged