VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Help with VASM please.  (Read 1344 times)

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
[SOLVED] Help with VASM please.
« on: March 22, 2012, 01:31:47 pm »

How do I configure VASM to start mysql when I start my computer?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2012, 07:40:20 am by Locator »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 07:40:04 pm »

Open VASM as root, go to SERVICE -> SRVSET -> choose your runlevel and enable the service you want

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl60/manuals/vl6_admin_vasm_en.html
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 07:58:37 pm »

I'm sorry, but I didn't see anything in the instructions from that link that relates to mysql, unless of course I missed something. In other words - Which run level should I choose?
« Last Edit: March 22, 2012, 08:13:56 pm by Locator »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2012, 04:10:49 am »

I'm sorry, but I didn't see anything in the instructions from that link that relates to mysql, unless of course I missed something. In other words - Which run level should I choose?

Once you install the mysql package, you will see it in the services section of VASM. Choose Desktop GUI run level...
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2012, 02:00:55 pm »

I wasn't sure which level to choose - so I chose them all.
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2012, 04:09:37 pm »

You probably only want runlevels 3, 4, and 5.  Run level 0 and 6 are shutdown.  Run level 1 and 2 are single user mode, with networking off and on respectively.  They are generally used only for maintenance.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
Re: Help with VASM please.
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2012, 07:39:44 am »

Thank you.
Logged