VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 08:39:12 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: problems with removable media  (Read 460 times)
drsanusi

« on: April 23, 2012, 03:56:47 pm »

hi every body
1st of all i am new to vector Linux and i am so happy with this experience on
my laptop   dell inspiron 6400   
one of the causes to move to Linux basically because other than all the awesome things all we know
is the good handling of removable media
but i noticed that is not good handling here like my experience with other distro  like Ubuntu
one thing is keep saying need authorization and i write the password but nothing happened
other thing is formatting   the flash drive but say can't done
i need to know what is the problem ?
is it related to the file system    fat , ntfs , ext ?
thank you in advance
drsanusi

sledgehammer
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2012, 11:40:08 pm »

I am sympathetic, but can't really help.  I have one external harddrive, a Seagate, which mounts fine each time.  I have another, a Verbatim, which sometimes doesn't mount unless I try different usb ports. 

I used to have the authentication problem, with earlier versions of Vector, but don't anymore.  Can't recall what I did.  Someone on this forum had a idea and it worked.  I don't think I reformated either drive.  And the problem was more on my end than Vector's.