VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768 (Solved)  (Read 3523 times)

fogpipe

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105

I need to be at 1280x1024 which i know this monitor and video hardware will do.

Here is my xorg.conf

Quote
Section "ServerFlags"
 Option  "AutoAddDevices" "False"
 Option  "AutoEnableDevices" "False"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "X.org Configured"
Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/local"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/truetype/"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/truetype/"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "record"
Load  "extmod"
Load  "dri2"
Load  "dri"
Load  "dbe"
Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Keyboard0"
Driver      "kbd"
Option  "XkbLayout"  "us"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!
Option  "XkbModel"  "pc104"    ## KEYBOARD_MODEL!
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"
Driver      "mouse"
Option       "Protocol" "auto"
Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
#DisplaySize 336 269 # 96 DPI @ 1280x1024 (non 4:3 aspect)
#Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30-86
VertRefresh 50-180
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: : integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
###
[arg]: arg optional
#Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "ColorKey"              #
#Option     "VideoKey"              #
#Option     "FallbackDebug"         #
[<bool>]
#Option     "Tiling"                # [<bool>]
#Option     "LinearFramebuffer"     # [<bool>]
#Option     "Shadow"                # [<bool>]
#Option     "SwapbuffersWait"       # [<bool>]
#Option     "TripleBuffer"          # [<bool>]
#Option     "XvMC"                  # [<bool>]
#Option     "XvPreferOverlay"       # [<bool>]
#Option     "DebugFlushBatches"     # [<bool>]
#Option     "DebugFlushCaches"      # [<bool>]
#Option     "DebugWait"             # [<bool>]
#Option     "HotPlug"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "RelaxedFencing"        # [<bool>]
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "intel"
BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device     "Card0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     16
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "on"
EndSection

Thanks
« Last Edit: April 28, 2012, 10:02:42 pm by fogpipe »
Logged

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 07:07:43 pm »

I had the same issue when I first installed Vector Linux 7.0.  The tool vasm was able to fix this.  vasm can be found under Menu/System/vasm (it can be found in the System section of the Menu).  After I used this tool to adjust it, I think I had to reboot, and then when I checked Menu/Settings/Display, I was able to change the resolution to 1084X768 (mine was stuck at 800X600).  I may have had to reboot here.  

I'm not sure exactly what option I chose under vasm, but it was not the default option (it was a reasonably evident choice though).  Sorry I can't be a little more specific.  It was a while ago that I installed VL7.0.  I'm sure vasm will allow you to increase your screen resolution though.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2012, 07:09:53 pm by MarkGrieveson »
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

fogpipe

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 07:31:52 pm »

vasm didnt work.
Logged

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2012, 07:50:48 pm »

Sorry to hear that.  I'm surprised, because after I ran it, it gave me the option to change the resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768 or 1280x1024, which were options that were previously unavailable to me.
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 07:55:39 pm »

Perhaps if you select SUPER first, and then XWINDOW, and then XCONF, and then VXCONF, then I think it may work.
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

fogpipe

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2012, 08:34:43 pm »

I have exhausted the options vasm offers. Changing the resolution in vasm has no actual effect on the resolution when x actually runs after my attempts at vasm confg, no matter what i choose i still get 1024x768@60hz. As i said previously, i have tried vasm.
Logged

fogpipe

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Changing resolution on VL7 STD stuck at 60hz and 1024x768
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2012, 10:02:01 pm »

Some experimentation with modelines did the trick. The last one yielded satisfactory results:
Quote
Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
#DisplaySize 336 269 # 96 DPI @ 1280x1024 (non 4:3 aspect)
Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30-86
VertRefresh 50-180
#Modeline "1280x960" 129.75 1280 1312 1800 1832 960 979 990 1009
#Modeline "1280x960@75" 142.76 1280 1312 1848 1880 960 978 990 1009
#Modeline "1280x1024" 156.43 1280 1312 1904 1936 1024 1043 1056 1076
ModeLine "1280x1024" 135.0   1280 1296 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
EndSection
Logged