VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 06:49:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Right Cick Problem  (Read 1275 times)
syncdram
Member
*
Posts: 84



« on: May 15, 2012, 06:59:28 am »

If i'm in my home directory and right click the menu opens and stays up, if i go past this point say into a folder within my home directory and right click i have to hold down on the mouse to keep the menus up. This does not happen on the desktop has anyone else run into this? using vector 7 gold.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 12:39:26 pm »

I'm trying to replicate this on my 7.0 install and I can't.

Perhaps you should detail your steps to see the problem.  Here is what i'm doing.
Open Thunar from the menu (xfce menu)
Thunar goes into your home directory by default
Once there, I right click any blank area in the thunar window.
My menu works as expected.

How are you getting this?
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2012, 01:42:34 pm »

I have seen this, but as an exception not a rule.  I will try and pay some attention as to the conditions present if and when I see it happen again.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
fogpipe
Vectorite
***
Posts: 105


« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2012, 06:02:27 pm »

This has happened to me as well, but not often. Using vl7-64 rc2.
Logged
syncdram
Member
*
Posts: 84



« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2012, 06:41:57 am »

Moe-lnx,

ok when i do just as you mention, the menu does work fine, its when i right click on a folder in the home directory and behond i have to hold down the right click button for the menu to stay open.
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2012, 08:38:35 am »

Heh! This one took me a while to figure out some weeks back and I still wonder if this is by (somewhat twisted) design, or a gtk2 themes  bug. Just change the xfce (gtk2) toolkit appearance theme. Some need holding down the right button all the time, others don't... Angry

I personally use Curve, since the menu works properly and it is a nice and workable (though not spectacular) theme.


EDIT: I was going to post about this issue some time back, but then forgot... Embarrassed
« Last Edit: May 16, 2012, 08:40:30 am by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2012, 05:43:47 pm »

Heh! This one took me a while to figure out some weeks back and I still wonder if this is by (somewhat twisted) design, or a gtk2 themes  bug. Just change the xfce (gtk2) toolkit appearance theme. Some need holding down the right button all the time, others don't... Angry

I personally use Curve, since the menu works properly and it is a nice and workable (though not spectacular) theme.


EDIT: I was going to post about this issue some time back, but then forgot... Embarrassed

@joe1962.  Are you referring to the default Style Theme "Fn Closure" as the problem?  Or should I be looking someplace other than Settings-->Appearance?


Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2012, 05:12:46 am »

Ok, so I got a bit confused here, memory's not what i used to be, LOL. Curve is a window style and menu issues are probably a widget style thing. But I just tried to replicate the problem on my new 64 bit install and can't. Yet I always had this on VL7 32 bit. What I am not sure about is if it happened right after installation, or only after upgrading some XFCE stuff. Anyway, try changing the widget styles around and see what you get.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2012, 09:52:37 am »

No problem. Well if it is not a theme issue and playing with that does not fix it them maybe it's an xfce4 issue and the nex xfce4-4.10 will fix it.
I should have xfce4-4.10 back in and tested by tomorrow.
Hopefully that will do the trick for you syncdram.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!