VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2  (Read 1546 times)

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« on: May 23, 2012, 09:57:55 am »

limited on rendering options. "Error: The following codecs are missing from your system, libvorbis, libxvid" using vector 7.  I've always used high quality rendering options in openshot, Using the latest ffmpeg package as well, will there be a update to ffmpeg? or is the only option to date to stay with basic avi rendering options in vector 7?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 10:13:11 am »

we have ffmpeg-0.10.3 in the untested repositories.  You may try that and see if it helps

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 11:56:02 am »

Can you give an example of the rendering choices you are making in openshot that produces the error.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2012, 10:34:43 pm »

we have ffmpeg-0.10.3 in the untested repositories.  You may try that and see if it helps

I've moved into regular testing repo.  As well as VLC 2.0.1 which has a dependency on this ffmpeg.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2012, 05:02:08 am »

ok, I'm ready to render a video and  in the export video box for rendering: under profile: "All Formats" MP4(Xvid)  says ( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libxvid.
2. OGG(theora/vorbis) says  ( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libvorbis.
3. WEBM (vpx) says( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libvorbis.
4.Wikipedia say ( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libvorbis.
5. Nokia nHD says( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libxvid
6. XBox 360 ( The following codec(s) are missing form your system: libxvid

libxvid is the one i need.
Logged

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2012, 05:12:18 am »

installed ffmpeg 0.10.3 openshot does not open now. ran in terminal with following output:
Failed to import 'from openshot.openshot import main'
Error Message: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'set_cursor'
----------------------------------------------------------------

OpenShot has failed to import some of the Python files or libraries
required for our application to run.  Here are some trouble shooting
tips:

Tip 1) Check if MLT can be successfully imported in Python.  Run the
 following commands, and see if any errors are displayed.  If you get
 an error, you need to investigate the correct way to install MLT.
 NOTE:  Do not type the $ or >> characters in the examples below.

       $ python
       >> import mlt
       >> mlt.Factory().init()

Tip 2) If MLT is working from the first example, then the next tip is
 to look at the above error messages very closely, and google for more
 help.  It's likely the problem is already reported, and maybe there is
 a simple work-around.  Also, you can search for bugs or report a new
 bug at https://bugs.launchpad.net/openshot.  Good luck!

Logged

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: codecs "error" message openshot 1.4.2
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2012, 05:18:19 am »

Its official. openshot is now broken after downgrade. kdenlive still opens though......:(
Logged