VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8  (Read 25194 times)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2007, 11:11:29 pm »


Why not have .fluxbox under /root? I'm not arguing, just ignorant frankly.

I don't get what you're saying.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

stoichyu

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2007, 05:39:03 am »

Here's the script from my skype package I made for myself that edits something in everybody's home folders, you could adapt it to work for fluxbox.
Quote
#!/bin/sh
# renames all instances of .asoundrc to .asoundrc.bak

echo "Renaming .asoundrc to .asoundrc.bak in"
echo "home folders to fix skype sound problem"

echo "Renaming /etc/skel/.asoundrc so new accounts will"
echo "not have .asoundrc by default"
if [ -r /etc/skel/.asoundrc ]; then
  mv /etc/skel/.asoundrc /etc/skel/.asoundrc.bak
  echo "  /etc/skel/.asoundrc renamed to /etc/skel/.asoundrc.bak"
fi

echo "Renaming root's .asoundrc"
if [ -r /root/.asoundrc ]; then
  mv /root/.asoundrc /root/.asoundrc.bak
  echo "  /root/.asoundrc renamed to /root/.asoundrc.bak"
fi

echo "Renaming .asoundrc in all home directories if it exists"
for file in `find /home -name .asoundrc -mindepth 2 -maxdepth 2`
do
  mv $file $file.bak
  echo "  $file renamed to $file.bak"
done
Logged
There's no place like ~.
VL 5.8 PentiumD 2.8Ghz Registered Linux User #432836

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2007, 03:40:36 pm »

I don't think that's really necessary; just provide a default .fluxbox directory in the user skeleton.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2007, 01:40:18 am »


I didn't really understand what a user skeleton was, and putting it under /root works on my own system.
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2007, 10:27:56 am »


I didn't really understand what a user skeleton was, and putting it under /root works on my own system.

When new users are added to a Linux box, they get a home directory, which is populated in part with contents from the user skeleton in /etc/skel.

HTH,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #20 on: March 15, 2007, 10:32:15 am »

the problem that I see is that this package does not create the .fluxbox dir for existing users
putting it in /etc/skel will Not do this
you must have the doinst script copy it there
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #21 on: March 15, 2007, 05:36:01 pm »

the problem that I see is that this package does not create the .fluxbox dir for existing users
putting it in /etc/skel will Not do this
you must have the doinst script copy it there

True. But adding it to the skeleton is a better long-term solution (for future releases).
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Binky

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2007, 09:28:39 am »

Speaking of Fluxbox.

I went to install the packages after a reinstall of 5.8 standard.  They are missing?  I updated the mirror list file and even added the utah mirrors.  I know I installed from the packages before.  What did I miss?

Thanks
Logged

Binky

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2007, 10:44:01 am »

Got it.  I had to add the 'extra' directory to gsplat.

sorry for the potential hijack of the thread.
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2007, 01:16:38 pm »


I didn't really understand what a user skeleton was, and putting it under /root works on my own system.

Are you logging in as root all the time? That's generally considered unsafe.

The user skeleton (located in /etc/skel) is the template from which default user preferences are first instantiated. If you look in /etc/skel, you'll notice that most of these begin with . (and are hidden unless you use ls -a or configure your file manager to see hidden dot files).
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2007, 10:51:12 am »


Thanks for the advice above.

I've recently downloaded the Artwiz fonts package (which are specific to the Artwiz style used in Fluxbox and Openbox) but I'm having trouble installing them so that they will show up when I use Artwiz. Is there any easy way of doing this?
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2007, 12:34:56 am »


Thanks for the advice above.

I've recently downloaded the Artwiz fonts package (which are specific to the Artwiz style used in Fluxbox and Openbox) but I'm having trouble installing them so that they will show up when I use Artwiz. Is there any easy way of doing this?

First you have to find somewhere to put them. I would make a directory like /usr/X11/lib/X11/fonts/artwiz. Then, in xorg.conf, where you see all the other lines that have FontPath in them, add one more that sez FontPath "/usr/X11/lib/X11/fonts/artwiz/:unscaled". The :unscaled qualifier is important because blown-up fixed fonts make it look like someone drew on your screen with mascara.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2007, 04:50:33 am »


Thanks for the advice, I'll try that. :)
Logged

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Installing Blackbox in Vector 5.8
« Reply #28 on: May 02, 2007, 04:59:54 am »


This will probably be only of interest to people with old computers (128 MB of RAM or less), but I have been able to install Blackbox (albeit an earlier version of it, 0.65), in Vector. The full filename is blackbox-0.65.0-i386-1.tgz, and I got it from the Slackware website for Slack 10.2.

Still haven't tackled those fonts yet, but I intend to soon.
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Installing Blackbox in Vector 5.8
« Reply #29 on: May 02, 2007, 06:09:43 pm »


This will probably be only of interest to people with old computers (128 MB of RAM or less), but I have been able to install Blackbox (albeit an earlier version of it, 0.65), in Vector. The full filename is blackbox-0.65.0-i386-1.tgz, and I got it from the Slackware website for Slack 10.2.

Still haven't tackled those fonts yet, but I intend to soon.


I dunno. Blackbox is kind of humdrum compared to its sundry forks...
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4