VectorLinux
September 16, 2014, 01:08:13 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8  (Read 22935 times)
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #45 on: May 14, 2007, 07:59:11 am »

Thanks, I'll try that one when I get home. From memory though, xv doesn't compile from source under Xorg; it needs XFree86. Isn't it also non-free software?

Here's the pic anyway;

« Last Edit: May 15, 2007, 01:17:00 am by Colonel Panic » Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #46 on: May 14, 2007, 10:28:11 am »

Nice one.
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #47 on: May 14, 2007, 12:04:25 pm »

From memory though, xv doesn't compile from source under Xorg; it needs XFree86.n Isn't it also non-free software?

xv works under Xorg. I don't know about compiling it under Xorg, but why bother when a Slackware package works fine? I used xv for years but I haven't installed it under VL 5.8 because other programs do what xv does and do it better.

xv is not free software. It does not cost anything for personal use, but there are licensing restrictions that didn't matter to me as a home user. I am not a "free software" ideologue.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #48 on: May 15, 2007, 01:20:25 am »


Fair enough, I thought you had to pay for XV for "personal use" as well? I'm not doctrinaire about software having to be free either, as long as it's not ridiculously expensive like Windows Vista.
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #49 on: May 15, 2007, 01:29:51 am »

25 USD. Not at all dreadfully expensive. Of course I prefer to use 'free software' myself, and usually I work something out that I can. But Xv is in fact a really nice program, and you can have the source after all.
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #50 on: May 15, 2007, 08:28:36 pm »

I thought you had to pay for XV for "personal use" as well? I'm not doctrinaire about software having to be free either, as long as it's not ridiculously expensive like Windows Vista.

You don't HAVE to pay for personal use. Here's what it says at http://www.trilon.com/xv/pricing.html :
"xv is shareware for personal use only.

"You may use xv for your own amusement, and if you find it nifty, useful, generally cool, or of some value to you, your registration fee would be greatly appreciated. $25 is the standard registration fee, though of course, larger amounts are quite welcome."

That's a pretty low-key beg, and it seems to be up to you to judge whether xv is useful enough or nifty enough to you to be worth $25. Registration is required if you use xv in the course of your work.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #51 on: October 26, 2008, 10:01:11 am »

Fair enough, I'll look into it soon. Thanks for the info.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #52 on: October 26, 2008, 12:34:52 pm »

If you're running 5.9 nowadays an xv package is in the repository.  It's there for 6.0 as well Smiley
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #53 on: October 27, 2008, 01:27:51 am »

No, I only have 5.8 at the moment though I'm considering getting 5.9 or 6.0 in the near future. Thanks for lettling me know anyway.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!