VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8  (Read 24787 times)

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« on: January 17, 2007, 08:00:27 am »


Has anyone managed to compile and build these on the latest Vector? I've had a go at all of them but I haven't had much success. None of them work as yet.

It's no big deal for me because I've got both icewm and fvwm (which is probably my favourite) to work, but all the same I'd like to know what's going wrong.

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2007, 09:54:57 am »

You don't need to compile fluxbox - there is a fluxbox package for VL5.8 alredy in the repository. Install it, create a $HOME/.fluxbox directory and then reboot X and there should be a dropdown (left side) of the KDM login manager screen where fluxbox will appear as an option.

I don't recommend blackbox as it has not been developed for about 3 years now. fluxbox as you many know, is a fork of blackbox and does the same and more for little cost in extra resources.

I compiled openbox quite easily on my 5.8 machine, works fine. I did not make a package however, so I can't send you one or I would.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

Freeman

  • Tester
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Choice to the user!
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2007, 10:13:15 am »

Lagagnon, if we know there is an error in the Fluxbox package (creating the home dir) don't we need to repackage it? So other users won't have this inconvenience when installing Fluxbox from the repo?
If we know where the problem is, why not fix it? Just a thought..
Logged
It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2007, 10:40:31 am »

Freeman: true enough, but please remember this is a volunteer effort and folks here do that work out of the goodness of their hearts and need to find time amongst all the other things in their lives!  ;) . Also, Fluxbox is not an essential component of the VL distribution or it would have been done by now.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

Freeman

  • Tester
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Choice to the user!
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2007, 01:06:40 pm »

You're right. Such things may not be expected by volunteers. My apologizes...
Logged
It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2007, 02:16:05 pm »

Thanks for the replies above. Anyway I've got openbox working now and I'm posting from it, so that's a good outcome.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2007, 02:18:36 pm by Colonel Panic »
Logged

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2007, 02:58:52 am »

You don't need to compile fluxbox - there is a fluxbox package for VL5.8 alredy in the repository. Install it, create a $HOME/.fluxbox directory and then reboot X and there should be a dropdown (left side) of the KDM login manager screen where fluxbox will appear as an option.

I don't recommend blackbox as it has not been developed for about 3 years now. fluxbox as you many know, is a fork of blackbox and does the same and more for little cost in extra resources.

I compiled openbox quite easily on my 5.8 machine, works fine. I did not make a package however, so I can't send you one or I would.

Thanks for the advice, which I've taken and I'm now running and posting from fluxbox. It's a very good window manager IMO, with tabbed windows for ease of dragging around the desktop.
Logged

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2007, 05:31:10 am »


I should have added that as with fluxbox you need to make a directory (.openbox) underneath your $HOME directory.
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2007, 12:23:48 pm »

You're right. Such things may not be expected by volunteers. My apologizes...

What is the error in question, exactly?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2007, 04:07:55 am »


I think the problem was that it didn't have a subdirectory to which it should put its config files, so it crashed. You need to put one there beneath the $HOME directory in order for it to work.

Apologies if I'm wrong about this.
Logged

Freeman

  • Tester
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Choice to the user!
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2007, 05:01:56 am »

This is the part that isn't included in the package, according to lagagnon:

Code: [Select]
create a $HOME/.fluxbox directory
If the .fluxbox directory will automagically be created in the home dir, everything will work as expected.
Logged
It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2007, 10:10:09 am »


Thanks, you're right.

I couldn't get Blackbox to compile, but there's a cutdown version called hackedbox which will and had a recent version (2007) which is available from this site;

http://scrudgeware.org/projects/Hackedbox
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2007, 09:28:47 pm »

This is the part that isn't included in the package, according to lagagnon:

Code: [Select]
create a $HOME/.fluxbox directory
If the .fluxbox directory will automagically be created in the home dir, everything will work as expected.

Then we have a few choices for how to handle that. The easiest one, IMO, is adding a .fluxbox directory to /etc/skel.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2007, 03:07:02 am »


Why not have .fluxbox under /root? I'm not arguing, just ignorant frankly.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Fluxbox, Blackbox and Openbox on Vector 5.8
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2007, 06:15:53 am »

This is the part that isn't included in the package, according to lagagnon:

Code: [Select]
create a $HOME/.fluxbox directory
If the .fluxbox directory will automagically be created in the home dir, everything will work as expected.

Then we have a few choices for how to handle that. The easiest one, IMO, is adding a .fluxbox directory to /etc/skel.

this will work for users created after the package is installed and it should be added to the package, but it doesnt take care of existing users.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4